We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value & location in Chapel Hill.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value & location in Chapel Hill.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the University Inn on a recent overnight trip to Chapel Hill. I used to live in Chapel Hill so I was familiar with the hotel but had never been inside. Overall, I was pleased with my stay and feel it is an excellent value. The location of the hotel provides numerous restaurant options at Eastgate shopping center across the street (Starbucks, Brueggers Bagels, The Loop, Boston Market, Trader Joe's) and easy access to all downtown attractions with their complimentary hourly shuttle (Shuttles run on the hour and it is a ~10 min ride to Franklin St or to the hospital if you are in town for medical reasons). Also, if you wind up taking CH's free bus system around town, the hotel is right off the F line.

Room-wise, my room (# 246) was spacious, very clean, and smelled fresh. The linens were crisp and looked newly updated. The shower had good water flow and plenty of hot water. The furniture was in good shape with little wear & tear. As far as basic comforts, I was very pleased with the room.

As some reviewers mentioned, there is currently construction on the 1st floor due to a recent flood event from abnormally heavy rains, but it didn't bother me. The staff told me the construction is scheduled to be completed by mid-September and the upside is that after it wraps up, the 1st floor rooms will all be newly renovated.

Add in complimentary gourmet coffee in the lobby and what looked to be a nice lounging pool, and you have a pleasant stay. Plus the price is hard to beat. I have found the University Inn's rates to be very competitive and better than other nearby hotels that are actually further away from downtown and that do not have the transportation options.

If you are looking for a good value for a comfortable stay in Chapel Hill, I would recommend the University Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason_878787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    112
    74
    51
    27
See reviews for
184
66
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

My son recently started college at UNC Chapel Hill. So for the next four years, I will be visiting him there as often as he lets me :-) After some online research, I found that Chapel Hill University Inn was the most affordable option close to the university. It is an easy 9 min drive. The hotel is located across from a TraderJoes and just down from a gigantic mall with everything you could want including Nordstrom, Banana Republic, and Macy's. At the hotel, there is a sports bar/restaurant that will deliver to your room, a small outdoor pool, and a selection of UNC items you can purchase. The rooms are small but clean and certainly sufficient. The style of the Inn is actually like a motel. I will stay there each time I go visit my son.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I booked this hotel because it was close to Durham as well as Southern Seasons and Trader Joes--walking distance to both--nice shopping very close by and not far from UNC and Duke. The front desk was always busy when I went through the lobby but they found the time to help me out or answer my questions. They were very attentive and very pleasant, they never made me feel rushed. Wasn't sure if we would get a room with 2 doubles beds our first night because they were all booked when I made the reservation. Ended up we did, they made a note on our reservation and followed through on their promise. Nice rooms both times I stayed there that week and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madalex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have spent 4-5 nights there at different times, in the past 60 days. Rooms are roomy, nice and clean. The service is personable and great. This is the best place, for the price, we have ever stayed, anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Chapel Hill University Inn is a great place to stay. The staff first of all is very courteous and helpful. They try to accommodate all of your needs. The King room in the Football section where we have stayed since 2011 when my son first attended UNC has been wonderful every time. During orientation they provide all kinds of snacks and drinks which I have never experienced at any other hotel. They have a great restaurant called Timeout which serves very good food. You can order the food and take it back to the room if you prefer or eat in the restaurant. They also have a great pool and workout facility. The hotel is currently doing some re-decorating so i'm sure it will be even nicer than it is now.

They also have a great discount plan called Carolina Parent Plus Program. if you're looking for a great place to stay. THIS IS THE PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSAP1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here for a night after getting late into town-the room was clean and ready and the bed was very comfortable.

Shared amenities are average and the bathrooms need some updating but a great value for the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercergk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel has made tremendous strides since the flood. While the lower rooms are still being repaired the upper rooms are fine. Ours did have comfortable bed, microwave, fridge. High school reunion was based there and we had fun with music and friends. Food needs improvement but there are many great restaurants close by. Pool is back to normal. Price was a bargain. Location ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room on back side away from highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug6501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
232 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Property: Chapel Hill University Inn
Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing