We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our first time staying at the Chapel Hill University Inn. We visit Chapel Hill regularly, usually for the day, but decided to stay overnight this time. Glad we did. We travel frequently and stay in many, many hotels. This was by far one of the cleanest hotels I stayed in in years! The staff was friendly checking in and out. Glad we decided to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgram2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are glad you decided to stay too! Yes, our housekeeping staff takes pride in providing very clean rooms! And we also love to provide friendly service and affordable rates to guests visiting Chapel Hill! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Chapel Hill University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

I drove from Maryland to Chapel Hill to watch a UNC Basketball game. Hotel is on the older side but extremely nice!! Lobby was very clean and organized, rooms were exceptional!! For a smoking room it sure smelled FRESH!! I would recomend to anyone looking for a weekend getaway. I will be staying here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJoeC0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks so much for the great review! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! Our goal is always to provide a memorable experience for our guests! We hope to see you next time you come to town to cheer on the Tar Heels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location and price and that they offer a free shuttle service from the hotel each hour. In the morning (8:00 am) we were told that the shuttle runs on the hour until 8:00 pm. We used the shuttle to go to a conference on campus and decided we wanted to stay downtown that evening for dinner but first wanted to drop some items off at our hotel so as to not have to carry them. At 2:30 we called for pick-up at 3:00 and no one showed. We called again and were told we'd have to wait until 4:00 now and there was no apology for forgetting our pick-up. Shuttle arrives at 4:20 and the driver tells us he usually isn't the shuttle driver but works maintenance and can't answer our questions. He tells us the next shuttle that can take us downtown from the hotel is at 6:00 (they don't run at 5:00 for some reason). HOURS have been wasted already at this point so we ask him where the closest bus stop to the hotel is, and he shows us but he doesn't know the bus schedule. We ask the man at the front desk of the hotel why the shuttle doesn't run at 5:00 and instead of answering, he tells the last shuttle for today was 4:00 so there wouldn't be any more shuttle service today. We tell him we were never picked up at 3:00 and that we were told by two other staff members that the shuttles run until 8:00. He repeats himself and tells us we can take a cab. So then we ask about the bus stop outside the hotel that the shuttle driver/maintenance man mentioned, and the front desk guy tells us to use the computer to look it up. I get on the computer to see there are at least two dozen bus routes with many several destinations. So, I ask the front desk guy which is the bus outside the hotel? He says "Chapel Hill Transit" which we already knew, and I say "Yes, but which route?" And he again tells us to look it up. After spending 25 minutes on the computer trying to find which route is the one next to our hotel (where neither if the two front desk staff offered to help while they watched us) we find out we missed the last one by THREE minutes. If the staff knew what was actually going on in and around their hotel, we wouldn't have had to pay for a cab. Unbelievably disrespectful and unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had a reservation for three nights in October. My flight was delayed so I called the hotel and informed them that I would not make it to town the first night and only need two nights. The front desk said this would not be a problem. The next day when I arrived to Raleigh, I called the hotel to review my reservation and check in time just to make sure everything was ok. The front desk asked my name and told me my room would be ready for check-in soon. However, once I got to the hotel my reservation had been cancelled and there were no rooms available. The front office staff placed the blame on Expedia and a call center, even though I had called the front desk to confirm my reservation twice before arriving to the hotel. The manager offered to help me find a room at a nearby hotel. In fact, she assured me that I would happier at another hotel. She turned out to be right. We stayed at the new Springhill Suites (Chapel Hill-Durham) for a similar rate. We had clean, modern rooms, a great location and helpful staff. Next time we are in the area we will stay at the Springhill Suites again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelVal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the location for a procedure at UNC hospital. Coming from Fayetteville we had a little drive and were looking for somewhere reasonable and nice. When looking at the apperance of the establishment our first thought was it's pretty old and do we really want to stay. Well that old saying go can't judge a book by its cover is an understatement. With us being Tarheel fans this was like heaven. The lobby is full of Carolina and other ACC teams which let's you know this is a sports themed hotel. Which is I've never seen anything of that sorts. Although the directions kind of led us on a journey, when we spoke to the concierge for further assistance they were more than gracious with help. I do believe his name was Mark. He walked us step by step to leading us to our destination.
The rooms there are all outside entrances but the inside is what counted. There's abundant space with the king room we had requested. They have a shuttle service there to and from the campus and the hospital which is very convenient for our stay. Not to mention it was FREE! Along with the shuttle service they have a restaurant in the lobby as well. Which just topped the visit even better. They have thid biscuit called the chicken cheddar biscuit that you will have to try. It has been on thr famous t.v show Man v.s Food. Between the concierge the price and the overall experience, I think we have found our hotel when we come to Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_B1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Manager at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback! We do offer affordable rates for anyone visiting UNC Hospitals and we are only 4 miles from the medical center! We are glad to hear that our front desk team was helpful, you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service and had a great experience staying with us! And yes...the Chicken n' Cheddar Biscuit from Time-Out is delicious! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Chapel Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had reserved two adjoining rooms in September for our November stay, upon arrival the second room reservation was lost and we were told they needed the confirmation number. When we called from the room with the confirmation number the clerk hung up on us.

We had trouble locating the hotel, AAA lists the mailing address not the actual address. When we called to get direction they were unclear and we had to call a second time. When we finally arrived the clerk stated, "Oh, you were the ones that called for directions. Did you find us?"

This is the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. They call it a suite. There is a bed and sofa but the "double" bed is not a double it is barely larger than a twin. Also the "Handicap Accessible" room has no ramp, only stairs.

The fridge, which cost extra, has no freezer door and the bars that hold drinks in the door are absent along with the crisper tray at the bottom. The microwave, also extra, has a misaligned door (afraid of microwave leakage) and is dirty.

We had trouble taking our Service Dogs out to do their business as other tenants dogs roam without leashes. When we called the office they stated that they knew of the dogs in question and they belonged to one of their "long term tenants." I guess if you are a "long term tenant" the leash laws don't apply to you.

The street noise can be heard over the air conditioner and television in the room along with the people roaming the parking lot from the on site bar.

This is our first stay and our last. We were scheduled to stay five days but checking out after the first night. Sleeping in the car at a Walmart parking lot would be more appealing and restful. We are appalled at the lack of caring by the staff here. Desk clerk was not at all friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Look Elsewhere!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Manager at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We take all of the reviews of our guests very seriously and thank you for your insight. We do apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our handicap accessible room which you booked does have one double bed and a pull out sofa bed. Our suites are much larger and offer a king size bed and pull out sofa bed. The refrigerator and microwave in these room types are complimentary. We will look into the issues you experienced and put actions in place to resolve them. Our goal is to provide guests with clean rooms, budget-friendly prices and excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had an easy check in. Friendly and welcoming staff. Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. Price was right. It was great. We went to see the colleges nearby. It was in the middle of the 2 so it was close to both.

Room Tip: College tour for next year. Great atmoshere. A+
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheContessaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#14 of 18 in Chapel Hill
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £47 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing