We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The garbage cans are ridiculously small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Yes, an odd complaint. But when a large coffee cup fills the garbage it starts to wear on you. That and the fact that they supply hardly any soaps, electrical outlets are nowhere convenient, and very little other creature comforts makes this place fine to stay at if you are looking for a budget hotel. But it you enjoy some of the additional hotel room benefits I would stay away.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank JPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Chapel Hill University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here by mistake: I misremembered the name of the lovely Carolina Inn where I spent a few days a while ago. It's not totally dreadful: the rooms are reasonably clean. But the bed was uncomfortable, and it's really nowhere near the University of North Carolina - miles from it. It's really a glorified motel. I got there after a long day and was very disappointed. It needs complete refurbishment: the fittings are ancient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are sorry that you accidentally stayed at our hotel and the room did not meet your needs. The hotel you wanted is a 4 diamond hotel located directly on campus. We are not 4 diamond, so I can see how we could not meet your expectations and the 4 diamond luxuries you were used to experiencing. Our hotel is only 2 miles from UNC campus and 2 miles from downtown Franklin Street. Our hotel architectural style is because our Inn was the 60th Holiday Inn built in the Americas. Most guests like the vintage style and being able to park very close to their guest room. We offer clean rooms and an affordable option for those not needing a 4 diamond hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nothing special at all here, just a old motel complex with scratched and worn furniture and a smell of ancient cigarette smoke in the non smoking room. I've prepaid for two nights, but might stay only two.

At least it was not expensive. Good location.

My eleven year old daughter says it's not nearly as nice as the much cheaper Red Roof Inn next to the interstate that we stayed in two days ago.

This former Holiday Inn has not aged well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We apologize that the guest room did not meet your expectations. Please know that in February 2014 we renovated and upgraded half of the hotel rooms. The new "Deluxe" rooms offer new furniture, refrigerators/microwaves and more! Next time you're in town please try a "Deluxe" room! We are happy that our location was convenient for you and we always offer affordable rates and a full-service hotel experience for travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was my first time visiting Chapel Hill and it was well worth it! I will definitely stay at this hotel again. Excellent price and very convenient to anywhere you want to go around town. My buddy and I were in town for the UNC-Clemson game from Nebraska and we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it! Great service, excellent hospitality, great food, amazing price! Hope to be back next season for the Carolina-Duke game and if not that one then another one! But I will definitely be staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trob2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Convenient location. It is an older property, but there was a huge flood in the summer of 2013 and many rooms got new and updated decor. Rooms that weren't affected I understand have been getting updated too. The staff have always been Great and any challenges I've faced with a particular room were solved. I travel to the area frequently for business and essentially have a choice of lodging in a 60m radius. This is my choice.

Room Tip: Some rooms aren't as business friendly as others...If you are on business and need work area mak...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks for your comments! And you are correct, we did need to re-store some rooms after the flood. And we are very excited to offer even more newly renovated rooms!!! By mid- February 2014 our upgraded/ updated rooms should be complete!! New furniture! New flat screen TV''s! Refrigerators and Microwaves! New Bedding and more! We hope you try one of our Upgraded rooms the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our first time staying at the Chapel Hill University Inn. We visit Chapel Hill regularly, usually for the day, but decided to stay overnight this time. Glad we did. We travel frequently and stay in many, many hotels. This was by far one of the cleanest hotels I stayed in in years! The staff was friendly checking in and out. Glad we decided to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgram2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are glad you decided to stay too! Yes, our housekeeping staff takes pride in providing very clean rooms! And we also love to provide friendly service and affordable rates to guests visiting Chapel Hill! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I drove from Maryland to Chapel Hill to watch a UNC Basketball game. Hotel is on the older side but extremely nice!! Lobby was very clean and organized, rooms were exceptional!! For a smoking room it sure smelled FRESH!! I would recomend to anyone looking for a weekend getaway. I will be staying here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJoeC0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapelHillUnivInn, Director of Sales at Chapel Hill University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks so much for the great review! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! Our goal is always to provide a memorable experience for our guests! We hope to see you next time you come to town to cheer on the Tar Heels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
238 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
460 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £47 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing