We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
Ranked #91 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

While this Residence Inn is not as updated as most it was very nice. The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated. All front desk personnel as well as those working the breakfast bar were very nice and accomodating. The room was very quiet except for occasionally hearing someone run water above us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad we met your expectations during your September stay at the Residence Inn Charlotte South and that the Staff was helpful. We will be undergoing renovations next year and hope that when you pass through Charlotte, you'll stay with us again. Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Charlotte South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I usually don't write reviews but I experienced terrible customer service. We checked in late about 11pm and the room we reserved was not exactly what we asked for so we called the front desk to see if we could change rooms. The reception told us she would have security check the rooms available and give us a call back. 40 minutes later no call so we called to get the status the same receptionist stated the security was still checking the rooms. Another 40 minutes later no call so we called back and there was a different receptionist who had no clue of the situation. Traveling with a 12 and 6 old I was furious! Security never even checked the rooms!!! We eventually moved to a better room but in the mist of the late night and waiting around for nearly an hour and a half my 6 year old left her tablet that was never found in the previous room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Your satisfaction is extremely important to us. We strive to be excellent in all we do and the service you received was unacceptable. Please call us to that we can rectify the situation.

Sincerely,
Lashonda Cannie
Assistant General Manager
704-527-8110

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was travelling on business and this marriot property is located at a very good location: access to good restaurants, bus station and train station.
Room was large and clean. The kitchenette available was also extremely useful. Privacy is well maintained and service was also great. Since our company had special rates, the charges were also very low per night.
Breakfast spread was good and also, they had special meals for Indians :)
Three days a week they served evening snacks and drinks.
Staff also deserve special mention. Area near Tyvola station is a fine place to shop and dine.

Room Tip: Select a room in ground level and next to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudeepkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. We've put aside some Indian food for you :-)

Best wishes,
Residence Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My stay there was comfortable, the staff is very friendly and close enough to whatever amenities you need. Really enjoyed staying here, stayed between work assignments. Like a temporary home. Plus dog friendly and they have ample parking. Would recommend to any visiting family or friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willowby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Deat Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us while in between work assignments. You know you always have a home away from home at the Residence Inn Charlotte South!

Sincerely,
Residence Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Being a frequent Marriott guest, we choose Residence Inns when we can and we spent two nights and found the hotel quite comfortable. Unlike the newer highrise Residence Inn hotels, this property may be a little old but it has some character. Our room was large and clean. We did cook and the appliances were in working order. The cost to stay here was quite acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Charlotte South and taking the time to review our hotel! We may be an older Residence Inn but we do have character and soul :-) We're glad to hear everything was in working order and that you felt our pricing was appropriate. We hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Residence Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I am so pleased that I found and stayed at this hotel. Had my husband, in-laws & daughter in the two bedroom suite for the weekend during our family reunion/business trip. We were moved from the first room that we checked into because the A/C wasn't working. It was a newer room with updated fixtures and appliances. The room we were moved to was a little dated but was clean and well maintained. the A/C worked wonderfully but the fireplace was inoperable. Overall it was a great place to relax after a busy day out. The pool, hot-tub, basket ball court and barbecue grill area really made this feel more like a resort than a hotel. Finally the daily complimentary breakfast buffet was a wonderful bonus allowing us to start our day out recharged. We'll definitely be staying here when we visit Charlotte next.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South. We appreciate your feedback greatly. We're very sorry that the A/C unit wasn't in working order in the first room you were placed in but glad we were able to remedy that for you quickly. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. That means a lot to us. Thank you! We look forward to your future return.

Sincerely,
Residence Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The property was a little older but we were pleasantly surprised for the price. We went with the Carowinds ticket package. You can't beat the location and price ! It was nice to have a fireplace, (full size appliances) refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker and kitchen sink. Fully equipped kitchen with dishes, glassware, etc. We asked for a more private room because of all of the families- we wanted to sleep in. The staff was very accommodating & friendly. The complimentary hot breakfast was good. The pool was small but nice. They also had outdoor grills.
For the price, you can't beat it !!!

Room Tip: We wanted a fireplace room with a balcony but away from most families. They put us up upstairs...did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for takaing the time to review the Residence Inn Charlotte South! We were glad to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and the cost of the Carowinds Package you purchased with us. Please come back again with your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Eagle Lake
Residence Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood
#48 of 180 in Charlotte
345 reviews
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#68 of 180 in Charlotte
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road

Address: 5816 Westpark Dr, Charlotte, NC 28217-3556
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#60 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £76 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Rd provides spacious suites, convenient amenities and excellent service at a great value! We are within walking distance to Charlotte Light Rail, providing easy access to Uptown Charlotte, and only minutes away from attractions like Carowinds Theme Park, Bank of America Stadium and many Corpoate offices in Charlotte. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free high speed internet and weekly manager's receptions at our pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte South At i-77/Tyvola Road Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing