We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything perfect except no king bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
Ranked #62 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
boca raton
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Everything perfect except no king bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for the second time March 6-8. This stay was in the new building 11 with inside corridors. We had a one-bedroom suite which was in perfect condition. Spotless, in every area, bedroom, kitchen, living area. Fully equipped and everything in working order. Breakfast area and lobby clean and inviting, with breakfast options plentiful. Staff was always pleasant, helpful and professional.
Only drawback is no king sized beds. Other than that the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notanewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South. We appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the great staff we have here. We do have some rooms with Kings beds, however, they are in our Bi-Level Suites. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    83
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
74
49
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Marriott's call center is awful. The first time i called to make a simple reservation the system was down. After 15 minutes of asking me every detail of my life, i gave up. The second time, they did not get the reservation right at all - I wanted a first floor, two bedroom suite Instead, i got a very worn out loft with a pull down bed up three flights of stairs. A very nice woman, Kimberly, helped us to change rooms into the "new building". Ask for the new building. The old one is worn out.
ALL MARRIOTT FRANCHISE OWNERS SHOULD BE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE CALL CENTER. One more screw up, and this good Marriott rewards member is moving on to another chain.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so sorry for the trouble you had with the Marriott Reservation Center. We will make a point to address this to them as this is very concerning to us. We typically don't have any trouble with them so we were surprised to hear this. However, we were happy to hear our associate Kimberly was able to assist you. Marriott values your loyalty very much. We want to hear from you so that we can address any problems. We appreciate your review and hope that this isolated experience won't affect our relationship with you. You are a valued guest. Thank you for staying with Marriott.

Sincerely,
Melissa St. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a family get together at the Residence Inn last year.It was an awesome stay. The rooms were clean and the free breakfast was great. The staff was outstanding and nice. The stay was so fantastic that I just booked another reservation for our family outing this year. Tina the reservationist was and is so pleasant. It is like having a friend you never met. She remembered me and not in a bad way and that says a lot about the people that work there. I was very impressed. Elevator broke was the only down part of the trip. Carowinds is near by and easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Von M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We were so happy to hear that you and your family were returning back to the Residence Inn Charlotte South. We make it a point to remember our guests since without them we wouldn't exist. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to your return this summer.

Warmest wishes,
Tina Crossland
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NC
Level Contributor
241 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has 2 sections - the older style with outdoor entrances to the rooms ( and stairs if you are on the 2nd floor), and a newer building with one entrance, hallways, and elevators. The first can be a problem in inclement weather, or if your room is on the 2nd floor and you have lots of luggage. We find the 2nd to be noisier, with less soundproofing. A bonus that we enjoy in the old building is an actual working fireplace on the loft suites....nice when we are there for the holidays.

Staff is very friendly and both breakfast and managers' reception is above average and well kept. Housekeeping is responsive and our room was quite clean.

Make sure you are clear in your reservation about the type and location of the room you desire, and you will have an excellent stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiegirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn Charlotte South. We appreciate your perspective and you are correct that there are pros and cons to our interior and exterior buildings. If you enjoy a working fireplace, the original buildings would suit you better. We have working fireplaces in most of the suites in the original buildings and gas fireplaces in the Two Bedroom suites which are located in Building 11 (our newer building). We have something for everyone here at the Residence Inn Charlotte South. We hope to see you return again in the near future.

Best regards,
Residence Inn Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Residence in on Westpark Drive in Charlotte for four nights. The room was clean, the staff was awesome and we will definitely make this our hotel of choice from now on. We received so much for a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICharlotteSouth, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Jan 3rd. We were happy to hear that you and your fiancé felt at home at the Residence Inn Charlotte South. That's what makes the Residence Inn unique and special. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Residence Inn Charlotte South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stopped overnight on the way thru Charlotte while traveling to family further north for the Holidays. All of the staff at the Hotel are very hospitable, welcoming, & genuinely warm. The (2) one bedroom suites we had were perfect for our family, and they got us right next to one another. Rooms are spacious, clean and nicely appointed. Thank you for the excellent stay, will recommend to all traveling thru Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanierndos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The price was reasonable, the location was good, the breakfasts were excellent and the staff was extremely helpful. The only problem was that our room was next to the pool and basketball court, and we retire to bed early so the noise bothered us. If we had known we would have asked for a room away from that area rather nice amenity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhomerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Executive Park
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte I-77 South
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charlotte Executive Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charlotte - Tyvola Rd. - Executive Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Charlotte Executive Park
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood
Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood
#46 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
Address: 5816 Westpark Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217-3556
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#60 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Rd provides spacious suites, convenient amenities and excellent service at a great value! We are within walking distance to Charlotte Light Rail, providing easy access to Uptown Charlotte, and only minutes away from attractions like Carowinds Theme Park, Bank of America Stadium and many Corpoate offices in Charlotte. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free high speed internet and weekly manager's receptions at our pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte South At i-77/Tyvola Road Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing