We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sidewalk outside was cleaner...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Ranked #50 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I recently stayed at this location as I needed a pet-friendly hotel, and I had high hopes for it given so many positive reviews. The common areas were well-maintained, and the entrance to the hotel was warm and inviting, and the staff were friendly, but my room was a different story.

Let me just say that if you like to burn clothes after wearing them, or you love the smell of wet dog first thing in the morning, this is the hotel for you. For $100+ per night, you can enjoy this and more while being sung to sleep and awoken throughout the night by the songs of man's best friend. This La Quinta offers:

• Feces- and urine-stained carpet from (presumably) previous animals' visits...during our thankfully brief stay I was too tired to notice (we arrived at midnight), and I walked around the room barefoot for several minutes until my wife entered the room and promptly pointed out the floor's deplorable state. A gentle wipe of the floor with toilet paper came up brown. Even the beds had brown stains on the top blanket, and not old stains, either - these were freshly made, considering how easily some of the stains wiped off. We all decided to leave our shoes on the entire night and sleep in our clothes, which we promptly washed the next day.

• Bathrooms that appear as they were last cleaned just before the Coca-Cola 600. The toilet paper roll had not been replaced (over 75% of the roll was missing), the toilet seat was filthy, the counter had not been cleaned, and both the bathroom fan vent and the shower curtain were covered in mold and/or mildew.

• Elevators from hell. Again, more mold/mildew growing up the walls and the door, and in the ceiling grate covering the light. My favorite part about the elevators was that the doors were misaligned so that the rider could see the walls going by outside the car through one side of the doorframe. It definitely contributed to the warm, fuzzy feeling that the elevator had been well-built and maintained with safety and health in mind.

• Hallways were in need of some TLC. Light fixtures knocked sideways and popping off the walls, and severely worn carpet were the major warning signs that I should have noticed before ever reaching our room. The best part of the common areas had to be the door at the back of the hotel that was "locked 24 hours for guest safety" that could easily be pulled open by anyone with the strength of a six-year old (broken latch).

The only reasons I did not request a new room or go to a different hotel were a) it was past midnight and we were exhausted after having brought our luggage in, and b) given the state of the room, the hallways, and the elevators, and hearing all the dogs barking throughout the hotel, I had the distinct impression that another room would not be much better.

TL;DR: unless you feel in need of a good challenge to your immune system or your state of cleanliness, avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank curiouslychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Decent enough: Spacious room, friendly staff, fair value, good option when traveling with pets. Service is a bit spotty as front desk seems understaffed (one person only). Served its purpose as a straight forward stop over with pets enroute to FL.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank thomasj630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is nice and quiet. Rooms are clean and staff very very friendly. The hours for breakfast should be a little bit later, at least on the weekends. Never got to enjoy the breakfast. However I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Yajaira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very excellent hotel in Charlotte, close to I-77 and Carowinds. We stayed there 2 nights. Rooms are very nice and big, large pool in a shadow are of the hotel. The only bad thing about this hotel was, that there are many pets. Maybe not so many hotels in Charlotte, that accept pets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank 764robertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel was your average hotel. It is pet friendly with NO pet fees. We were traveling south with our 2 yorkies and needed a room for the night. The room was clean. The front desk staff was extremely courteous. I would stay here again. It is conveniently located just outside of downtown Charlotte. It was very easy to find.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Tcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located for the Charlotte airport, and they have a complimentary shuttle for guests. Rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast is free and not great but is not bad, facility is well kept overall. But, really, which sets this hotel in a different category is its staff. From the front desk clerk, to management, to the airport van driver, everybody is welcoming and friendly, everybody have a sincere smile on their faces. It is not very usual to find such an pleasant atmosphere at any hotel lately. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aquino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed one night as a lay over until Our connecting flight. Was OK but certainly not a long stay hotel for us.

The allowance of pets into any hotel to me is not acceptable. If you have pets then get someone to care for them or do like me and design build a dog feeder and water dispenser.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikecathy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#85 of 182 in Charlotte
228 reviews
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South

Address: 4900 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South Hotel Charlotte
La Quinta Inn And Suites Charlotte Airport South
La Quinta Charlotte
Charlotte La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing