We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racist against white customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Racist against white customers”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is racist against its white customers. We were made to leave with no warning over a made up noise complaint. A woman with a surgical mask that turned out to be a hotel employee repeatedly knocked on our door at 4 am. Upon answering the door she said nothing turned and walked off. After returning to sleep 2 police officers woke us up and told us we had to leave the premises. We packed up and called a cab. After a few minutes the police officers returned because the night manager complained that we were loitering while waiting on a cab. I have stayed here for many years it will not happen again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrenmz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    224
    77
    32
    32
See reviews for
175
156
62
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed one night at the Hyatt Place airport. It's location is close to the airport in a corporate park (a car is required to to get anywhere besides the airport). Check-in was easy and my assigned room was clean and tidy. If you've stayed at a Hyatt Place before you know what to expect: a bedroom area and living room area separated by a partial wall with a desk and wet bar area. A special note to those who haven't stayed at a Hyatt Place before: the toilet/shower part of the bathroom is closed off from the vanity; guests of size may have to step into the shower to close the door. One word of caution for guests approaching from the south, there is another Hyatt Place within a 1/4 mile of this one that you will see first, be sure to double-check the address.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptyes700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed her for a girl's getaway weekend with my friends, great hotel, great price! our room was spacious with two double beds and a pull out bed. Mini frig and microwave. Clean bathroom, great water pressure (I always look for that when I stay in rooms). Breakfast was hot and delicious each morning, I really enjoyed the English muffins. I would definitely stay here again when I'm back in the Charlotte area!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparklingTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great place for quick overnight stay. Convenient trip to CLT (airport) and very nice complimentary breakfast. Arrived late and left very early in the morning so did not get to take advantage of anything in the surrounding area. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was my first time at a Hyatt, and I was very pleased. I actually was given this room by the airlines because they canceled my flight, and I was stuck in Charlotte overnight so I do not know what the nightly price was. The rooms were spacious; they had a living room to relax and a small-office work area. The showers were powerful, and the beds were clean and comfortable. I actually joined the Hyatt rewards because of this place and probably will check into the rooms at Hyatts in my future stays. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottH040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend in Charlotte and stayed here for 3 nights. We enjoyed the spacious room and the tasty breakfast in the mornings. I found myself on the couch more than I've been in a long time (I'm a bi-vocational youth pastor so I'm always on the go) and just flipping through the channels.
My only complaint, and it's not really a complaint as much as just a slight "first world problem" annoyance, is that the walls seem to be super thin. We could hear the couple next to us... and I'll leave it at that. Also, the bathroom echoed like a cave, which makes using the restroom a little, ahem, interesting.
Other than that, no complaints at all, and it was quiet overall (minus the thin walls). Comfy beds, nice facility, and in a good central location to malls, shopping centers, pubs, and attractions. Also, a great value for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeardedPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for a night while traveling through Charlotte airport. Easy pickup at the airport, quick and friendly check in, and a clean room. We we warned that the only remaining room was near an elevator, but we never heard it during the night.

The place has a nice small bar (manned by the front desk staff), which offers light food options. It also has a deli case with salads, sandwiches, and desserts.

Overall it was much more than I expected from an airport hotel that offers service mainly to those awaiting morning flights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cracklinob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
#28 of 178 in Charlotte
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road

Property: Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Address: 2950 Oak Lake Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7718 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just west of uptown Charlotte and four miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport, the Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road hotel is centrally located to popular area attractions including the Charlotte Motor Speedway, Bank of America Stadium, the Carowinds Amusement Park and the Billy Graham Library. Ideal for business travelers, couples looking for a getaway, and busy families, Hyatt Place features a selected range of services aimed at providing casual hospitality in a well-designed, high-tech and contemporary environment. Our free high speed wireless internet allows you to stay connected in the comfort of your room, or utilize our business center for any other printing or computing needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte
Charlotte Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing