We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Place
Ranked #60 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean & convenient”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our second stay at this Hampton so clearly we like it. It's very clean both inside and out, we felt quite safe and the location is convenient for our needs. Additionally, it's far less expensive than staying in Uptown Charlotte, a huge benefit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sassy28461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    135
    70
    47
    26
See reviews for
170
103
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

where do I start the stay was horrible from the time we arrived. the check in staff was rude and very loud when inquired regarding amenities. next day when asked for some extra shampoo/ conditioner staff raised his voice at my friend and me.i am never staying at any HI hotels ever. smelly rooms and bathrooms with mold.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kiran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T G, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the experience you encountered with our staff. I can assure you this is not typical and your concerns will be addressed. Concerning the hotel, I would like you to know that we will be undergoing renovations over the next few months including guest rooms and the lobby area.

I do hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Charlotte area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Convenient to Charlotte drag strip and food venues. Staff was very nice and room nice. Would be a good place to stay if attending other functions in the area ie. NASCAR. Usually stay here the two times I come to attend Drag Racing Venues in this area. This is a nice area compared to other drag strips I have attended in other places.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ritagU6590DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After speaking with the manager I eas assured that changes would be made to the hotel. i felt pretty good about it and told him that I would be booking there the next time I visit Charlotte. The conversation we had made me feel better about the hotel overall.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel offered us a great stay! The staff was friendly and helpful, the check in and out process was extremely easy, and the location was perfect! Will stay here again! It was the perfect place for our concert at the Verizon Wireless Theater.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

hotel met or exceeds all expectations from location to amenities to complementary breakfast served daily. Staff friendly, helpful and willing to spend time answering questions in great detail and went out of their way to provide a friendly, welcoming experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston salem, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My sister and I came to Charlotte for the Jason Aldean concert, Everything at the hotel was a great experience. The room was very clean. We ask for more towels & they had no problem with giving us more. The complimentary breakfast was great & the coffe was delious. I would recommend all my family & friens to stay at the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#76 of 178 in Charlotte
220 reviews
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Place

Property: Hampton Inn University Place
Address: 8419 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28262-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#45 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#58 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive accommodation with special low price for Petty students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
University Place Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing