We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Remodeled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Place
Ranked #56 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Newly Remodeled”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Enjoyable stay. In town for 2 nights during the January snow event. The room was cozy, met my needs and was very clean. Plenty of restaurants are in the area. The morning breakfast was good and hit the spot. Traffic was not bad to and from the airport. I definitely would stay here again when I'm in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PITAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    137
    70
    48
    27
See reviews for
173
104
33
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taylors
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A good stay, clean room, comfortable bed. No issues. Breakfast was worse than other Hampton Inns, with nothing hot except waffles and Jimmy Dean type sandwiches to heat up in microwave. They did have fruit. Parking lot dirty and unwelcoming.

I would stay here again for a simple basic comfortable place to sleep. Not worth the price however if I had to pay out of my own pocket. Was overall a bit disappointed compared to last time I stayed at a much better Hampton Inn in another state.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T G, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your follow up regarding your stay. I am glad that our rooms met your expectations. I apologize that the breakfast was not to your standards. We are currently changing over to the refreshing breakfast program that is being implemented for all Hampton Inns unfortunately we have not completed the process but do expect to in the near future. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to host you again should you return to the Charlotte area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A most pleasant stay with great staff. Located in an excellent portion of the Charlotte/Concord area close to the Lowes Motor Speedway. What more can I say, highly recommend. I am trying to come up with more to satisfy this review, but they insist on a minimum of 200 characters. So here it is!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 513hmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a typical Hampton -- nothing extraordinary and nothing bad. The hotel is clean, except for the entrance area in the parking lot which is littered with cigarette butts from everyone smoking and throwing their butt ends in the driveways. Lastly, what every happened to the hot breakfasts that Hampton once served? Many, including this one, have changed from serving cooked eggs (even if they were ordinary scrambled eggs) and not having hot breakfast sandwiches which are stale.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T G, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Charlotte University. I will definitely share your comments with my staff as we are always looking for ways to ensure that our product is at its best. Regarding the breakfast, we are in the process of upgrading our selections to include hot items and hope to have this completed within the next month. Thank you again and we hope that you will consider us should you return to the Charlotte area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel staff was extremely polite, courteous, and helpful. We checked in very quickly and our room was immaculately clean. The staff was quick to provide additional towels and meet our needs. The complimentary breakfast had many choices and was good quality food. I would absolutely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It's been a long time since we stayed at a Hampton Inn, and the hubby and I were pleasantly surprised by this one. The lobby was fresh and bright. Our room was clean, modern, and the bathroom was spotless. The front office manager (Thomas J. Wright) was awesome! He greeted us by name each time he saw us and really made us feel appreciated and welcomed. The 24 hour complimentary hot beverage station was a nice perk. In addition, there was a free breakfast bar located in the lobby. The choices were limited, but fruit, yogurt, bagels, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches, milk, coffee and juice were available. So, you should be able to find something to satisfy you. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charlotte, NC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JoLUVS2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great breakfast and very clean rooms; friendly staff. There was a mix-up with the type of room that we requested and the staff worked very hard to make it right. The location is very convenient to restaurants and other businesses.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#77 of 178 in Charlotte
222 reviews
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Place

Property: Hampton Inn University Place
Address: 8419 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28262-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#45 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#58 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive accommodation with special low price for Petty students. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
University Place Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing