We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a cold shower?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park
Ranked #3 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2008

The biggest problem with this hotel is that they do not have HOT WATER. Every morning I was forced to take a 2 minute shower because that was as much as I could stand of the cold water.

I spoke with management and their reply was that they have ONE hot water heater AT THE OTHER END OF THE HOTEL. Their advice was to let the water run for 5-10 mins (1. Tried it, didn't work & 2. Charlotte is supposed to be on water restriction b/c of the drought - good to know they are doing their part!) or ask for a room on the opposite end of the hotel. As if new guests are supposed to know to ask to be on the side of the water heater.

Other than that, the stay was tolerable. Yes, they are renovating, which means boxes strewn throughout the floors, but the staff was nice. However, the cold showers were unbearable and despite the renovations, they have no plans to correct it. Even shelters provide hot water for showers. I'm an adult and I was miserable, I would hate for a kid to have to put up with that. Stay away, especially if there are kids involved.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TripNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2008

This was the nicest Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. The rooms and beds were clean and beautiful. Free internet. Okay breakfast, but very friendly staff. Surrounded by wonderful restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in late Jan. We found the hotel under renovation and of course wasn't thrilled. I'm sure the staff had been having a tough time with jack hammering going on daily. I asked for a room away from the elevator and of course, our room was right by the elevator. I asked if there was another room available and was given one on the 2nd floor right above the jack hammering. So there was no rest for the weary with such noise. We journeyed across to the mall till 5 PM. to make sure the work would be done for the day. I was very disappointed with the reservationist that gave us the room as she didn't mention the work below our floor. I spoke to the manager later in the day and he didn't charge us for the room which was very nice. We generally stay there when in Charlotte but I think I'll check out the Marriott next time in the Queen city, simply because of the lady that gave us the room. She could have been a little nicer and mentioned the work force below our room.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Was looking for a close place to stay while attending the Lowes Motor Speedway. This hotel is centrally located to all the shopping, restaurants,and the speedway. It was a great place to relax after a long day at the track. The hotel staff was very helpful and the beautiful surroundings were just awesome. The room couldn't have been any more perfect. The oversized down comforter on the bed made me feel like a princess and the jacuzzi tub was seperated from the main bathroom, which was great. Thankyou Hampton Inn, we will definetely return !

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NascarFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Upscale Hampton Property which has been maintained well (Elevator first inspection was in 1998). Housekeeping for my room on the third floor was good in the bathroom but not so good as far as the beds. Checked in late and one bed linens had some hair (was used before) and the other had a bunch of dark lint which looked like someone's clothes. Since was late just brushed off anything we could and slept. Hung tag on bathroom door indicating linen change as well as leaving a tip did not result in a bed change. The next day I informed the front desk and they handled it - I also for added measure left the few dollars tip with a note to please change the linens. I was on a corner room that you may want to avoid at any hotel in general - there were a few ants every day of my stay on the desk and in the bath but they were not a problem. Breakfast, linens, bathroom are the same design and quality as other Hamptons. I had a standard room but the suites here are a little more expensive but have a kitchenette etc. They had a 30" or so Dell LCD TV's installed in the armoire with external speakers mounted on the side which looked good but this affected the side viewing (when you sit on the couch or desk chair. This hotel is located in a upscale shopping area. Ate late at a Ruby Tuesday located about 1/2 mile down the road. If you are without a vehicle there are some restaurants but they are a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gogto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Upscale hotel in an upscale part of town without an upscale price! Very clean and elegant. This is the nicest Hampton Inn I've ever been in. Boutiques and nice restaurants e.g. PF Changs just outside your door.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smartwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding weekend. We had a fabulous time and could not have been more impressed with the Hampton Inn! The location is excellent - surrounded by upscale dining and shopping and minutes from downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful, assisting us with transportation and recommendations for restaurants.

Most importantly, we loved our room (King Bed with Garden Tub) and thought that it was a GREAT value for the cost per night.

The included breakfast was good and the overall facility was well maintained and clean. We will definitely be back whenever we're in Charlotte!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chase4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#85 of 180 in Charlotte
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park

Address: 6700 Phillips Place Ct, Charlotte, NC 28210-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#1 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £109 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the premiere area of SouthPark, our 124 room hotel stands as the focal point of a beautiful European style boutique village. Blending contemporary tones with classic elegance and southern hospitality, we strive to make your stay a truly exceptional experience. Our venue is committed to serving you and your guests in every way possible, a level of customer service that we refer to as our SouthPark Tradition of Excellence. This level of service and personableness is unmatched, and defines who we are as a hotel. Whether you are looking at reception space for your big day, or a comfortable and relaxing environment for your visit to Charlotte, our hotel can accommodate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - South Park Hotel Charlotte
Hampton Inn South Park
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing