We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Although the city was overloaded with guest for the CIAA, the staff at this Hampton Inn was extremely accommodating. We were even allowed to check in earlier than the normal check in time. The room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank ChandraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

This Hampton Inn really is elegant; it looks and largely feels like a near-luxury hotel. Rooms are very well lit, as usual at Hampton, but furnished with prettier items; bathrooms are larger and with fancier fixtures. So in terms of room, definitely excellent. Complimentary breakfast is also more elaborate than usual, with a very nice seating area, and in good weather the option to eat outdoors on a lovely patio.

However: Parking is difficult to the point of being annoying. The approach to the 15-minute check-in parking shares a narrowish driveway with the Palm restaurant and if cars are waiting for valet service at the Palm you cannot easily get into the Hampton's 15-minute zone. .And when that fills up you can't get through anyway. Overnight parking is scarce too. We were unable to find a space at either of the two lots nearest the hotel after we checked in in late afternoon. The young desk clerk said things were especially crowded because it was Valentine's Day weekend and that spaces would open ope after dinner. They did not. When we came back from our own evening activities at about 10, there still was no parking at the lots and we ended up parking near a restaurant at an outlying part of the self-consciously upscale Phillips Place shopping/residential complex in which the Hampton is located.

Bottom line: A lovely hotel that seemingly doesn't really want to be a Hampton Inn. (Interestingly, it has a 24-hour cancellation policy according to the aforementioned desk clerk, almost unheard of for a Hampton or a Hilton in a non-resort location--though he did waive it for us). It is, sadly, not at all convenient if you are planning to spend most of your time in or near Uptown, but it is fine if you are concentrating on a shopping trip or social visit to Phillips Place and South Park. And no matter what the purpose of the visit to Charlotte, parking is an issue. I think if Hampton wants to be fancy, it needs to provide convenient drop-off valet parking and/or a smoother traffic flow. It did have a bellman on duty when we got there but he was already busy with another arrival and given the difficulty of parking even short-term, it really seemed to be giving mixed messages about how guests are treated upon arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayhosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

and the people are always so friendly! They remember me each time i stay there.
I look forward to staying there again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_chick6797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

This was our second stay at the Hampton Inn South Park. We love this hotel. The lobby is very stylish. The owner is a fabulous designer. She has a great eye for details. The piano in the lobby is nice touch. The rooms are also luxurious. I love the TV in the mirror in the bath. The complimentary breakfast was easy and tasty. We drove to The Speciality Shops on The Green for dinner (Toscana). It is still excellent. I will always stay at the Hampton Inn in South Park when visiting Charlotte.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful overall. Moved our room without hesitation when initial location was too close to elevator bank and therefore loud. Manager on duty made sure that we were satisfied with this change and was sincere. Rooms were clean and spacious. Complimentary breakfast was good, and serving/cooking staff went out of their way to be generally helpful and to keep food well stocked. Did not use pool or spa as they were closed for the season, but they looked welcoming, as did outdoor seating areas off breakfast/great room. Did not take advantage of the free partnership with local health club, but that seemed a very good deal. Exercise room on the premises is rudimentary but functional (one stairmaster, treadmill and stationary bike each). We did not pay for the room as it was covered for business, but I saw the rate and it was $130/night, which i think is quite reasonable for what we got.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
Thank Hep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Hampton Inn at South Park for a business trip and found it to be the nicest Hampton in which we have ever stayed. It was very clean, comfortable, great free continental breakfast, free Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the afternoon, and the customer service and hospitality were superb! We would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFlemingGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Absolutely the best!

Is in an upscale mixed use retail/condo/apartment area. Many restaurant choices within complex, all an easy walk. Also a multiplex on premises.

Decor is lush, feels like a very nice full service hotel instead of a Hampton

Rooms are amazing! Great beds, comfortable chairs, flat screen TVs

Bathroom has one of those mirrors with a built in TV!

Stay here if you are in Southpark

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeaubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park

Address: 6700 Phillips Place Ct, Charlotte, NC 28210-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £112 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the premiere area of SouthPark, our 124 room hotel stands as the focal point of a beautiful European style boutique village. Blending contemporary tones with classic elegance and southern hospitality, we strive to make your stay a truly exceptional experience. Our venue is committed to serving you and your guests in every way possible, a level of customer service that we refer to as our SouthPark Tradition of Excellence. This level of service and personableness is unmatched, and defines who we are as a hotel. Whether you are looking at reception space for your big day, or a comfortable and relaxing environment for your visit to Charlotte, our hotel can accommodate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - South Park Hotel Charlotte
Hampton Inn South Park
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing