We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, close to Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, close to Convention Center”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were attending a conference at the convention center. We decided to attend too late to book one of the reserved rooms in hotels adjacent to the convention center. Lucky for us. The Double Tree was MUCH more reasonably priced, and while it was a bit further away, it was a doable walk. We rented bikes from a station right across the street from the hotel and docked them at the convention center. Friendly service, clean rooms, and close to restaurants, a grocery story, and a CVS.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MiamiNative755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). So glad you were able to enjoy the bikes the city has out. Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    293
    126
    49
    17
See reviews for
210
178
60
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I enjoyed the DoubleTree and the feeling as if everything was clean and safe. These are my top two concerns on travel. I would really like a slightly better kitchen though. The food was barely okay and unfortunately the area had only 4 other food choices. Suggest you make a foodiecall. Local Charlotte food delivery service made everything work!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Staff was wonderful especially restaurant. Food was really delicious. The hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly! We will definitely be back. We enjoyed our visit and would recommend this hotel for a family getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The cookie I got upon arrival was delicious and warm. The bed was so comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud. It was nice to have HBO. Close to the Music Factory. Beautiful rooms. I had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We just wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us! We're so glad you were able to experience our warm Homewood hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What more can you ask for? From the friendly staff to the comfortable and clean room, there's nothing I can complain about! Though the location isn't in the heart of uptown, it's still walkable...and if you don't want to walk, they have a car service that will take you to nearby locations. Overall a good place to stay in Charlotte.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are happy to hear you found the DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte to your liking. We look forward to serving your travel needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINSTON SALEM
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Pros excellent service. Hotel decor is very nice and modern. Location is great! Overall value is excellent! Cons Parking in the garage is pretty far.no valet option. The room was very tiny for my family of 4. Pool was closed. Breakfast was 15 $.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATEVA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I found the experience at the hotel to be as much or more than I expected. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and co-workers. I plan on staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind revierw. Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing