We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnson and Wales/ Charlotte”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were woken up at 2 am to banging on door and loud voices.Given a cookie not warm and with walnults that im allergic too print on package very small. Charged extra fes for parking after we got there upon arrivaland clerks not very helpful when i explained what had happened.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice experience in downtown Charlotte. Walking distance to nightlife, restaurants, etc. Room and public areas were very nice and clean. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. For the price I feel like breakfast and parking should be included, but I guess that's not how its done in the big city of Charlotte, NC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank heatha4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Small but comfortable lobby with a conference table and a conference room with additional seating. Small room with two computers and a printer is quite convenient. The restaurant staff is always friendly and helpful as are the front desk staff. The rooms are consistent with the DoubleTree brand and is comfortable and roomy. The hotel is near the new baseball stadium and other conveniences such as a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank mattpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for staying here with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff attention is very good. It is my preferred hotel for business in Charlotte as it is located in a central location and near Downtown Charlotte. The restaurant is good but the menu is very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rodolfo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your DoubleTree experience. We appreciate that we are your preferred business travel hotel. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel staff, service and cleanliness WAS EXCELLENT...... I was able to check in early. Everyone was pleaseant and the location was nice.... I would always stay at this hotel everytime I visit Charlotte

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 364antonettec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Your comments about your stay made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

One night at great hotel, staff was friendly and room clean and slept really good. Wish I could have stayed longer. We conveniently had dinner at the restaurant located inside the hotel, my meal was ok. Breakfast bar was much better. We ate our in breakfast in our room in bed. Hotel located conveniently off the highway very easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cassandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is really nice. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean. It's in a great location for going to the NC Music Factory (though you can't walk there and a ride costs fourteen dollars each way.) BUT... My wife and I were unable to get a good night's sleep because we were awakened several times by slamming doors. At first I thought it was a troublesome guest or some kids. I went out to the hall to figure it out and it turns out that EVERY door slams shut very loudly. I guess the soundproofing is not very good either because every door slam sounded like it was coming from OUR door it was so loud (even if it was from way down the hall.) I'm not a super-light sleeper and I expect to hear some noises at hotels, but this was way louder than anything I've experienced before and I didn't get to sleep. Another (minor) complaint is that everything costs extra here. Want Wi-Fi? That's nine dollars extra. Need to park your car? That'll be fourteen bucks (even though the parking garage is only 50% full). Maybe this is standard for Charlotte hotels, but it's not what I'm used to and I've stayed in a lot of cities. The only other place I've ever been charged for parking where I was staying was in Honolulu. I could live with the pricing issue, it's just a little annoying. But I won't return because of the sound issue. I need to be able to sleep at night and the loud doors up and down the hallways prevent that from happening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £100 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing