We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its 2014 and they still charge for wifi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Harrodsburg, United States
1 review
“Its 2014 and they still charge for wifi!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was very nice and the service was excellent. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. They are a little too proud of being 100% smoke free. Considering that their guest are not 100% smoke free, they should provide a better alternative designated smoking area. A bench outside the door going to the parking garage seemed a little demeaning and it also inadvertently put the smokers in the path of the non-smokers. Then there’s the charge for Wi-Fi. I found that to be a bit of a surprise. And the cost of that service is very much disproportionate to the cost of providing it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Depending on your date of stay, our new smoking oasis may not have been completed. You now have the option of the smoking area at the garage entrance or the more comfortable smoking oasis next to the parking deck. With regard to Wifi charges, with the increased use of wireless devices, many of our guests use multiple devices (i.e. laptop, tablet, phone) which all utilize bandwidth. Also, executing large downloads, uses more bandwidth. In order to maintain a high quality and fast internet connection for our guests, we spend tens of thousands of dollars each year to improve our internet infrastructure. In order to maintain this high standard, we must charge our guests a nominal fee for use of our internet connection. Once again, thank you for your review and for your business. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have further questions or if I may be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    289
    125
    49
    17
See reviews for
205
174
59
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a great hotel - clean and in a perfect location for access to the interstate. The staff was great and the only issue that I had was a non-working iron. I called the front desk and asked for a new iron and had one delivered to my room in no time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were woken up at 2 am to banging on door and loud voices.Given a cookie not warm and with walnults that im allergic too print on package very small. Charged extra fes for parking after we got there upon arrivaland clerks not very helpful when i explained what had happened.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice experience in downtown Charlotte. Walking distance to nightlife, restaurants, etc. Room and public areas were very nice and clean. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. For the price I feel like breakfast and parking should be included, but I guess that's not how its done in the big city of Charlotte, NC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank heatha4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Small but comfortable lobby with a conference table and a conference room with additional seating. Small room with two computers and a printer is quite convenient. The restaurant staff is always friendly and helpful as are the front desk staff. The rooms are consistent with the DoubleTree brand and is comfortable and roomy. The hotel is near the new baseball stadium and other conveniences such as a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank mattpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for staying here with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff attention is very good. It is my preferred hotel for business in Charlotte as it is located in a central location and near Downtown Charlotte. The restaurant is good but the menu is very limited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your DoubleTree experience. We appreciate that we are your preferred business travel hotel. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel staff, service and cleanliness WAS EXCELLENT...... I was able to check in early. Everyone was pleaseant and the location was nice.... I would always stay at this hotel everytime I visit Charlotte

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 364antonettec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Your comments about your stay made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing