We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn University Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn University Place
Ranked #71 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Nice Place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

It was a nice and a clean experience. The breakfast was better than average. The front desk was nice and polite. The location of the hotel was very good. Pretty much everything was nearby. The quality of the bed was nice that gave a good sleeping experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjoy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I appreciate that you took the time to write this review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found us convienient to all of the great restaurants this area has to offer. We hope to see you on your next trip to charlotte and please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Happy Holidays!
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    62
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
55
51
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just stopped for the one night on the way through to Asheville and were happy with our stay. The room was clean. The pool was fun and the check in staff were nice.

It was located not far from restaurants that we drove to. There was nothing particularly special about this hotel but as it is a chain hotel designed for a short stay we weren't expecting anything amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I am sorry there was a noisey group of kids during your stay. We do our best to monitor the hallways to limit this problem but somtimes they get past us. I appreciate your review and hope you will consider staying with us again.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rooms were alright and the service at the desk was WONDERFUL, but the teenagers running up and down the halls was a BIG negative. Slept okay other than them laughing and giggling and going from room to room. Walls are a bit thin, so every door slam sounded like it was right in your ear.

Room Tip: Ice machines are on every other floor. 1,3 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalashine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I am sorry that kids were noisey and running up and down the halls. We do our best to track them down and talk to the parents to get them to quiet down. Thank you for mentioning our front desk staff. We do our best to hire, train and maintain the best talent in this industry. I am lucky to have such an outgoing and friendly staff.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went to a concert in Charlotte and chose the Sleep Inn because of the closeness of the Amptheater. We parked our car and went to check in,there were 3 guys sitting on a bench in front of the hotel with a case of Budwiser sitting there getting drunk, NOT A GOOD FIRST IMPRESSION.......Checked into room,the rooms are older and could use updateing.. Staff was nice and helpful. the free breakfest was good and the best part of the stay......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte for a Concert! I appreciate your review. I am sorry you did not have a great first impression. I am surprised about your comment on our rooms being older as we just completed renovations updating everything less then 2 years ago. I hope you enjoyed your stay and please let me know if there is anything I can help with in the future.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean. The price was nice and the location was excellent for our main purpose: Charlotte Raceway. This hotel was a wonderful deal, and we will certainly stay here again, next time we need to go to Charlotte Motor Speedway!

Room Tip: We stayed in a smoking room by choice and were surprised to discover that the smell did not linger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jred578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in town for a race! I really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Charlotte!
Sincerely,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

As with any hotel things can change from stay to stay. Over the past two years I have spent at least 10 nights here. When something was amiss I found the staff response to be good. I have always been treated well. I hope I am booked here in the future. Actually I will be back here in the next few days.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I really appreciate your review. We look forward to seeing you on future trips and please let me know if I can ever be of any assistance.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

For the price it was very nice. Very clean. And the staff was very helpful.the beds were comfortable. And. The continental breakfast was great. Seemed to have been updated recently.we accidentally checked we wanted to have a smoking room.they switched our rooms around even though this was our mistake. They helped us find car service to the concert we were going to attend. Very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I really appreciate your review and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you so much!
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Sleep Inn University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Hampton Inn University Place
#49 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn University Place

Property: Sleep Inn University Place
Address: 8525 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sleep Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
Sleep Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing