We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'ok'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn University Place
Ranked #80 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'ok'”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here this past weekend while visiting my son - I could not get the usual hotel I like to stay in. The room was 'clean' with the exception of one bug that resembled a roach -- wasn't too happy about that. The room smelled good but the hallways smelled like smoke :(. There were a lot of Mustangs there for a car show and in the morning the engines starting up in the parking lot were very loud. Also the people above us were very noisy...stomping their feet very early in the morning. We never got down to breakfast because we chose to sleep in. The front desk help were all very nice and always said Hello and talked with us. Bath towels were on the small side.

For the most part for the price it was ok. I will definitely try to go the hotel I prefer first, but this is an OK second choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte, I am really sorry about the noise and the bug in your room. We contract Dodson Pest control to preform montly pest inspections. It is rare that you would find this in a room and I will bring it to there attention. There was a 50th Mustang anniversary last weekend. Sorry for the engine noise, some of them were too loud.
Please let me know if there is anything I can be of assistance with in the future.
Sincerely,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    63
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
55
52
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Linville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel when we were in Charlotte for the NHRA Drag Races this weekend. Also staying were families of fastpitch softball players, competition cheerleaders, and drag racing crews. Even with the large number of guests, the hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. You could tell there were a number of young people in the hotel by the sound of feet running down the hallway but it completely quieted down at an early hour. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the rooms were clean and fresh smelling. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon Pence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us for the NHRA Races! I really appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on future trips to Charlotte!
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very nice breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, fruit ... we ate there each morning as did many other guests. Very convenient location; Shoney's right next door; comfortable bed/pillows; bath towels were small; guest room doors on our floor (ground) tended to loudly slam shut. Pet friendly at $25/stay but note there is very little grass to exercise pets.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMP-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte!
I really appreciate you sharing your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed our free hot breakfast. I am working with our maintenance staff to adjust the door springs so they don't shut as hard. Thank you for mentioning 1st floor, I'll have them readjust those doors. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I came to Charlotte,N.C. to go to NASCAR HALL OF FAME. We were very fortunate to find this motel.The staff/front desk were excellent.The price for the room was very reasonable,the breakfast was amazing,a great variety to choose from.My room was very clean,the only thing that wasn't up to my standards, was the mattress.Lumpy,very uncomfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are positioned between the speedway and the Nascar Hall of Fame in a great location for race fans to stay. I am sorry the bed was not comfortable. It is great to hear you enjoyed our free hot breakfast.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

There were some positives to this place. Front desk was very friendly upon check-in/out. Got room for a decent price. Our room on the 5th floor was very clean. Hotel hall smelled a little smoky, but our non- smoking room was ok after opening the window. Had the most comfortable beds! TV was nice and had a fridge and microwave. The free breakfast had a nice size selection and tasted good. Good area- near lots of stores and restaurants. Free Wi-Fi worked really well.

But, even though the bed was comfy, did not get to sleep very late. First off, the hotel's room doors are some of the loudest slamming doors I have ever heard. Luckily that quit after a while and the slamming did not happen late into the night. Early morning there are other sounds.... Our room faced the street AND a Bojangles. (Although I asked for a quiet room- which probably would have been the back of the building.) At 7 am I was awakened for good by the drive thru window speaker at the said Bojangles. I was on the fifth floor, so I can only imagine how loud that speaker was on lower floors. Also, could hear actually hear next door guest shaving. Could hear him hitting the razor on the sink every time he rinsed it. So, those few noises are my only complaint. Some people can maybe sleep through it, as my husband did, unlike me. Not trying to be nit-picky. Just letting you know its not the quietest of locations. I think its near a medical center also, cause i kept hearing sirens early. (That's not hotels fault of course)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building instead of having to hear biscuit orders at 7 am. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soeastmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charlotte. We really appreciate your review!
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and our delicious free hot breakfast.
I am sorry you were awoken by the Bojangles drive through speaker. I am going to share your review with them today and I hope they will at least turn it down during there breakfast service. I will also work with our Maintenace staff to inspect and adjust the door springs so they do not slam shut. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had an excellent experience staying at this hotel. I will come again. The food was excellent tasting and the service out of this world. The laundry room was clean and the machines were priced good. The machines worked perfectly.

Room Tip: Smoke-free rooms are the best to get because of the quality and scent of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and I really appreciate your review!
We recently added the guest laundry facility and it is good to hear it helped during your visit.
I am glad you had an excellent experience and we hope to see you soon.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a room here for 2 nights. I didn't stay the first night but one of my friends did. I went over in the morning. Then continental breakfast was nice. The next night I stayed over and the bed was not to my liking, the bed as so worn out that I didn't have support it made noise with every move you made. The bathroom shower did not have a lot of pressure and the slide away bathroom door was so a far in the wall I had to use something to get it out. The shower door was huge and when you opened it, it took up most of the bathroom. The place wasn't horrible, but if you're looking for a good night sleep this isn't the place to go. Even my friends agrees the next time were in Charlotte, we'll be staying somewhere else

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charlotte. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our free hot morning breakfast. I appologize you did not find the mattress comfortable. We have Serta Mattresses and they are a medium firmness. We have recently rotated all of them at the begining of the year. I did share your review with our executive housekeeper and we will keep an eye out for mattresses that may need replacing.
I appreciate your reveiw and please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.
Thank you,
Sam Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Hampton Inn University Place
#57 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn University Place

Property: Sleep Inn University Place
Address: 8525 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28262-3420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
Sleep Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing