We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Ranked #48 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I was not impressed. It was an overall ok experience, but I expected more for the money paid. No breakfast and no free parking. BE CAREFUL! Front desk staff said breakfast was included, but it is not. Also, they say parking is "validated" but they charge $15.00 every time you leave. Also, be aware the toilets are not built for men. We had a few issues and apparently plungers are scarce. personally, I will not stay here again. But, it was an overall good vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear M K,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel was very nice. The suite was spacious and quiet. The only drawback is that the sink area has little to no room to lay any items whist getting ready in the morning/evening.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

  I travel the USA every week and always stay at the Holiday Inn City Center when I am staying in Charlotte.  The hospitallity starts at the front door where Dan and Dennis greet you with a smile and a warm hello. They always seem to remember me even when it's been three or four weeks since they have seen me. Remember, these front door guys work for tips. NY Nick, JJ, Liz, Anna and Carolyn are the best. They treat me like family and are always their to meet my requests with a positive attitude and a friendly smile. I call them the AAAAA Plus Team.Also Juan and his helper put out a nice breakfast and evening reception in the concierge lounge.I highly recommend this hotel.Note to travelers: Some hotel chains actually reward their employees with cash and other rewards if you mention the employees names during your review. So if you have had a good experience please take the time to notice the employees names and give them the props they deserve.

Room Tip: Street side rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dteam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The staff here were great. Through a planning snafu, I was in need of a room and the town was filling up fast. The front desk folks were completely professional and went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I'm hooked.

Room Tip: The suites are cool, but I didn't have a door between rooms in mine.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in the center city area of Charlotte for the St. Patty's Day celebrations and my experience was definitely first class. Upon arrival the lobby area was very busy but the Front Desk staff acknowledged me and quickly assisted me with check in. Anna was very thorough with explaining about the hotel and what charges would be held on my credit card. All the staff were professional, friendly and made me feel welcomed to Charlotte. We were told the room was newly renovated and I was amazed at how nicely the rooms were decorated. It was one of the nicest Holiday Inn's I have ever stayed in. We had lunch in Caffe Siena located in the hotel and the soup and sandwich were just what I needed before heading out to partake of "green" beers that afternoon. Kudos to this hotel and I highly recommend staying here if you visit Charlotte.

Room Tip: Book a concierge level room for a newly renovated one. The lounge is closed on weekends but worth th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolKid86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I travel nearly every week, and I usually stay at IHG hotels. So when I tell you the service here was some of the best, that is saying a lot. The front counter staff was prompt, attentive and made me believe they were concerned about my satisfaction with everything about the hotel.

My room was very clean and decorated very well. The European-style bowl sink and the iHome by the side of the bed were great touches to make my room feel like home.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown, with great restaurants and nighlife within short walking distance.

If I find any fun clubs or great places to dine, I'll be sure to post a review.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATW-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

All the members on the staff here I meet truly care about about what they do, how they do it and who they do it for...their guests!!! This is certainly a cut above the rest with a great location, service, food and atmosphere. Everyone seems to go beyond what's required to make their guest feel welcome with a warm greeting and a smile, followed by exceptional service. This hotel is consistent and persistent with their high standards of quality. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £93 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing