We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you need to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Ranked #51 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I agree with the review titled "NOISE". I could hear people partying and carrying on several rooms away well into the overnight hours. This was a problem for me as I drove six hours to attend a two-day course.

Rooms are average in appearance and not well-appointed, parking is extremely inconvenient and expensive, and the hotel itself is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeysedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear janeysedge,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the noise created by other guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

The room was clean and everyone was so kind and helpful including the front desk staff, valet and concierge! They gave us a great price and state employees and I would go back! It is within walking distance of many things including Bank of America Stadium, NASCAR museum and you can see the Time Warner Arena. It is that close!

Room Tip: King room did not have a refrigeration but had plenty of space. Walking distance to Bank of America...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Excellent service at this Hotel. They went out of their way to get us a “special request” conference room without any notice. Excellent place and I would highly recommend. The check in process was quick and convenient. The lobby area and all rooms were clean and neat. The entire staff seemed as if they really was glad to have me as a guest in their hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have been a guest at this hotel several times and have really been pleased. It's a nice place with a wonderful staff that are always pleasant and very helpful when needed. I look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City never disappoints. I have stayed several times over the years and keep coming back. Everyone is friendly and willing to help. The hotel is convenient to many dining establishments and corporations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csbarnes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I was surprised with this Holiday Inn - it was extremely nice - definitely more like a higher end hotel! The staff there are some of the nicest people I have met while traveling! They go out of their way to help you in any way possible.
This was my 2nd stay here & I requested this hotel for an upcoming 3rd visit! You are in the center of the city! (hence the Center City in the title LOL) The only thing I would change is I wish I had a mini-fridge in the room.
You have a spectacular view from the roof - you're right across the street from the Time Warner Cable Arena (the rooms are surprisingly quiet though) - there is a movie theater on the next corner but it is not your normal theater....they have big comfy LazyBoy type chairs & serve wine & food :)
I will definitely be back several times!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I always stay at the HI City Center when I work in Charlotte. The staff displays courtesy and a friendly attitude. They all seem to have a can do spirit. I would like to recommend the following for award. Nick, Roberta, JJ, Liz, Anna, Carmen, Troy, Dan, Dennis, Jerry and Mark.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside are warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dteam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
First Ward
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £88 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing