We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel in the world?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Ranked #22 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best hotel in the world?”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Could Drury Inn at University Place in Charlotte be the best hotel in the world?
Maybe. It's the only establishment I've ever been in around the world where the sanitation grade is 100% (certified by the state) and has remained so. The staff are uniformly helpful even when sorting out problems. They remembered our names and our preferences. They were just nice southern people.
We've stayed at some of the flashier, expensive, big name hotels around the world but this place is one of our favourites.
Excellent value. No wonder they win so many awards!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    95
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
108
94
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level Contributor
175 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for a night during a two week tour of the south eastern states. We picked it after reading Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The 5:30 kick back with complimentary food and drinks in the lobby was so good that we ended up not needing to go out to eat. There was also free popcorn and soft drinks served until 10:30 so we saved yet more on snacks later in the evening - a big positive when on a budget.
Our room was comfortable and the pool welcome in the hot weather.
This chain is definitely great value for money and I already have another booked for later in our tour.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Was in town for a single night, checked in and was greeted by a VERY friendly and courteous person at the front desk. Check in was quick and easy. Room was exactly as expected, clean, and a comfortable temperature.

I didn't visit the free food buffet that evening so can't comment on that. But there is a great selection of restaurants right across the street and I had a nice meal later that evening (a plus if you are a traveller like me that needs to grab a decent dinner at 10PM). Didn't use the pool but it looked to be well kept. Was only in the lobby for a few minutes but everything seemed good.

Free WiFi worked right away. I was in the furthest room opposite end of the building from the front desk, and no signal problems at all. Good internet speed. WiFi is important as I depend on internet access for business, and it was useful. Also, AT&T 3G signal was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHeadIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Based on the positive reviews, we had high expectations about the hotel. It was nice to have free internet, telephone calls, breakfast, and hospitality hour. However, the 2 room suite was very small for our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children). The rooms were also out-dated. We also had problems with the TV not working in the bedroom. In my opinion, the freebies offered by the hotel in no way compensate for the small and sub-standard rooms.
Upon arrival, the staff appeared to be very friendly and accommodating but when we had a problem/request, I was very disappointed in the manner in which it was handled by the manager. We were advised on two separate occassions by the front desk staff that we would be moved to more comfortable (bigger) room only later to have a problem having what was originally told to us honored by the manager. As a result, we choose to move to another hotel because the difficulty that we encountered in having the hotel honor a request that they had already agreed. Despite the manager later agreeing to honor the request, the damage was already done. As mentioned, the freebies at this hotel are a nice perk but they were not worth the hassle or the uncomfortable room, so beware!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb_Bamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I just returned from a stay here with my boyfriend, we were in town for a wedding the Drury was great! Even at the wedding people were talking about how good the hotel was. Everyday from 5:30-7:00 they have a hosted bar and snack food (hot dogs, nachos, etc.). Upon arrival we received a card for 3 free alcoholic drinks during the happy hour deal. They also have free popcorn and sodas from 3PM-10PM and free breakfast which had waffles, french toast, sausage, eggs, juice, bagels, yogurt and probably more I'm forgetting. The staff was super nice, I called and they gave me directions from the airport and also when we asked for dining recommendations they gave us a coupon for a nearby restaurant. We were part of a group deal so we paid $80/night which was amazing considering we had 3 free meals. AND they also have free WiFi. The rooms are a little dated but that doesn't really matter to me. The rooms do have flatscreens, free HBO, microwaves and mini-fridges. I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlynn1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms and good location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joharahdancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Sc
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Pleasant staff, typical breakfast and convenient to IKEA. They do offer 3 free draft beers per person each evening from 5:30 to 7:00. The property could use some updating. For the price paid, I have stayed in much newer and more contemporary lodging. Don't book through Web sites if you want cheapest price. Man who checked in before me got the room for $25.00 a night less with Govt. employee & AAA discount .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that open to Atrium for most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Sleep Inn University Place
#82 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#58 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Address: 415 W W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Charlotte Drury Inn & Suites is located in the University City neighborhood, south of University of North Carolina and University Research Park. Our hotel is less than two miles from IKEA, and shopping and restaurants are walking distance! Your stay includes free hot breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages - every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing