We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Location”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is often called the University location because of its proximity to UNCC. Also near the NASCAR speedway, IKEA and a bunch of other stuff. Speesway area is full of shopping and restaurants - Great location. Hotel area is very busy and surroundings a little dated, but given the high hotel traffic volume, that is not surprising. Rooms very nice, and the breakfast is great, only surpassed by the evening 'kickback'. Sufficient that if you don't feel like going out to eat, you can call this dinner. Heavy hors d'oeuvres (really good!), light food. Well done, so much so that it gets really busy during the kickback period. Staff is great and ready to jump at the slightest request.

Room Tip: Higher floors and side away from pool quieter as it is not unusual for a lot of families to be stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadm1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    96
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
108
95
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel and came home covered in bed bug bites. I called the hotel and spoke with management. They said they would have an 'independent' exterminator come out to inspect the room I stayed in. What a surprise (not) when they had their legal department call me to inform me that they do not have bedbugs. They basically told me I got them at another hotel/plane/train etc. As I came home from directly the trip and did not go elsewhere, that is impossible. I did get a Dr. confirmation of the bedbugs and had to undergo the awful treatment. Too much CYA IMO. They handled it poorly. Please do your research - as any reputable exterminator will tell you, bedbugs are EXTREMELY difficult to detect - frequently the only way you know you have them is because you were bitten. The check-in staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonya_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Bed bugs are a concern, not only for the hotel industry, but for hospitals, dorms, retail stores, movie theatres and other establishments. We continually review our procedures and the most recent recommendations by experts on these types of issues. Precautions include a national contract with an outside exterminating company who conducts regular inspections and by our internal staff. Our team is educated on the latest information, what to search for and how to immediately treat any pest problem once discovered. If bed bugs are reported to us, we immediately take the room out of service and call in a professional exterminator to check the room and treat it if necessary.

In your case, we did have that outside exterminating company inspect the rooms and no evidence of bed bugs have been found. We understand that you spoke with someone from our insurance company who verified the report from the exterminator and a copy of that report has been sent to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is a great hotel that I highly recommend. Our church's children's chrisitan education department recently visited and toured the Charlotte area. It was centrally located for all our needs. Restaurants were within walking distance as well as retail shopping. The staff was very professional, courteous and helpful. A big plus was that the hotel provides breakfast, as well as an evening hot bar which was very tasty to the adults and the kids. The indoor and outdoor pools were well used by our youth. The hotel was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.

I love the Drury Inn & Suites in North Charlotte. If ever in the area, I will definitely stayed at Drury Inn.

Room Tip: Excellent overall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingskid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and the hospitality offered at this Drury Inn is second to none. Downright amazing. I arrived at the hotel 3.5 hours before check in time and was a little worried about how I was going to waste my time until 3pm. I was warmly greeted at the front desk by the manager (couldn't see her name tag) and Tangie. I was all prepared to go into a long explanation that went something like "I know I'm really early, but see, I was dropped off here by my daughter who is headed to a concert, so I don't even have a car to go explore the city and I was wondering if....." But all I had to say was "I know I'm really early" and Tangie said "we have a room ready for you Ma'am", with a smile on her face. She then explained to me that there were free sodas and popcorn until 10pm, free snacks and hot food at 5:30pm and free breakfast starting at 7am. Once I got to my room, I noticed that while the room itself wasn't modern and sleek, it was very clean and free from wear and tear. The television was a flat panel, HDTV and there is a desk with a comfortable chair and free wifi and these things aren't standard in every hotel chain...even some of the big ones. The bed was stocked with pillows and was tested (cat nap) and deemed very comfortable. The bathroom and vanity area were spotless and fully stocked with the necessities. Under the television cabinet was a microwave and a fridge....and next to the television was a coffee maker (hallelujah!) with plenty of fixin's. Oh, and the best part is, there is a thermostat on the wall...so no fussing with the typcial - room is too hot and now it's too cold - that you get when you have to adjust the air conditioning unit itself. The "5:30 Kick Back" was a meal in itself complete with baked potatoes, salad, hot dogs with chili, chicken strips, a nacho bar, carrots and celery sticks, coffee, soda, chips and pretzels. There was also beer and wine available (free with tickets recieved at check in). While I was eating, the same manager from earlier (forgot to look for name tag and I am so disappointed because she was wonderful) asked how my day was and if I was finding everything okay. I am still in this hotel as I write this review....but I couldn't wait to post. I have stayed in nicer looking hotels, but none have been cleaner or more welcoming. This is truly southern hospitality at its finest and I commend the staff of Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North for my exceptional experience and for earning my return business every time I'm in the Charlotte area from here on out.

Room Tip: Room 432 is up high and at the end of the hall...its very quiet and I slept well, even in the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplesummer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I love love LOVE the Drury Inn's. This is the second Drury we have stayed at in Charlotte, and I love this place. The North Charlotte Drury is not as nice and clean and fabulous as the Northlake Charlotte Drury, but still worth the money. The two double bed rooms are not as nice as the King room that we stayed in the last time, but the all around experience was just as good. I have to say the North facility is a little dingier, not as clean and the rooms not as big, but the staff was more friendly and polite at the North facility. The drinks and meals (hot dogs, nacho bar, salads for dinner; sausage, eggs, french toast, cereal, yogurt, donuts, danishes, waffles, biscuits and gravy, etc. for breakfast) are amazing and delicious and actually leave you feeling as though you overate. The assistant manager takes the time to come say hello to every guest, welcome them to the hotel, ask about their stay, encourage them to seek the front desk for anything they need, etc. The $115 for the room is not excessive considering you're getting two free meals and drinks and the rooms are great! The only downside was the excessive water on the floor from about 30 kids going in and out of the pool nonstop and then walking around the hotel dripping wet. Can't blame the hotel for that since the kids showed absolutely no responsibility about cleaning up after themselves, leaving towels and water EVERYWHERE, but again, it was the only downside to our stay. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The AC is temp controlled on the wall and makes the room temp stay consistent and we LOVE that! Quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed a Friday night at this hotel while traveling through the Charlotte area. I chose this hotel based on the convenient location, competitive price, and because of tripadvisor.com reviews.

The hotel was easy enough to find, being just off I-85 exit 45A. Traffic on I-85 was very heavy, so it was a welcome relief to find the hotel so easily accessible. Upon arrival, there was ample free parking in front of the hotel entrance. I was greeted by a friendly cheerful young lady, and promptly checked-in. She informed me about the “Kickback” going on in the hotel lobby during the evening, which was free hot food including hot dogs, baked potatoes, nacho bar and other items. There was also a soda drink dispenser for free drinks and a popcorn machine. She also gave me a card that could be used for 3 free drinks from the hotel bar.

There were several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, including a TGI Fridays in the same parking lot as the hotel. After the free “Kickback” in the hotel lobby, we didn’t need another meal.

The room was typical hotel size, smaller than expected, but still ok. We had a double bed room, but I was surprised that the beds were standard size and not queens. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The entire room was clean. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom. I liked how the sink & vanity area were separated from the toilet shower area. That made it simple when multiple people need to shower and get ready. There was free wireless internet available in the room, and a computer & printer available in the lobby area. There was only one elevator, and it was always busy. While we were there, a bus full of baseball players checked in. They were noisy in the hallway as they wanted to hang out in the hallway instead of their own rooms. I had a long day of driving and was ready for an early night. Just as I laid down to go to sleep, the phone rang. It was the front desk of the hotel asking me how my stay was going. I told them that the hotel was fine, but that the noise in the hallway was annoying. She said she would take care of it. A few minutes later everything was quiet for the rest of the night.

The free breakfast was great, and included fresh scrambled eggs & biscuits, along with many other typical breakfast items. As we were eating, the hotel manager came around to chat with us about our stay. He was friendly, and came back around to pick up our empty plates.

Check-out was simple and fast, as I had basically already been checked-out with a receipt slid under my door early that morning. There was a drop box in the lobby and in the parking lot for the door card keys.

I’ve stayed at many hotels up and down the east coast, and I would rank this one right at the top of the list. The friendliness of the staff, along with the perks the hotel offers, make this a welcome surprise. I’m sure I’ll stay here on my next trip through the Charlotte area, and if the same experience continues, then I’ll be staying here on every trip.

Room Tip: Double Beds are Standard size instead of Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3gw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

When we arrived at this Drury, the assistant general manager of the hotel was at the check-in desk assisting a customer with a lost phone. She quickly & happily checked us into our room, welcoming us not only to the hotel but to the city & state. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The typical Drury amenities, including popcorn & soft drinks available starting at 3 PM were all in place. The free kickback food/drinks were also standard Drury fare, as was breakfast the following morning. This Drury also had a very nice lobby area & glass-enclosed elevator, more in line with the high-end Drury hotels. All around we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#56 of 178 in Charlotte
513 reviews
Sleep Inn University Place
#81 of 178 in Charlotte
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Address: 415 W W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Charlotte Drury Inn & Suites is located in the University City neighborhood, south of University of North Carolina and University Research Park. Our hotel is less than two miles from IKEA, and shopping and restaurants are walking distance! Your stay includes free hot breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages - every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing