We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-earned ratings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
296 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Well-earned ratings”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews by TA's contributors and found that this hotel was worth the good reviews it has gotten. If you want easy access to an interstate, this fits the bill. Our room was clean, bed & pillows were comfortable and the staff was friendly & welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was adequate, had the hot dishes (eggs, sausage, oatmeal) as well as pastries, cold cereals, fruits. The complimentary happy-hour food & drinks were much appreciated & enjoyed. The only thing I missed that we usually get in other chain-hotels, was not having a safe in the room. But since we stayed only 1 night in Charlotte, it did not matter much this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floRDMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    96
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
108
95
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and a few girlfriends were in Charlotte for the dirty girl mud run. This hotel was close to where our run was so we decided to stay there. Everyone was friendly, rooms were clean, we got breakfast and dinner and TWO free cocktails. It is close to restaurants, a few bars and overall a very convenient location. Also had an indoor pool which was plus. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There's are many reasons that I just booked by third stay in 4 months at this hotel. I frequently road trip from FL to DC. So, the first thing I want is a place that has quick access on and off I-95 and close to other amenities (restaurants, etc.). Drury Inn Charlotte University Place more than fit the bill here. There are two restaurants right across the street from the hotel. But, it didn't matter. In addition to a great continental breakfast bar, Drury Inn Charlotte University Place offers guests a Happy Hour dinner buffet in the evenings. The fact that I could go get a hot dog, salad, fries, and a beer without opening my wallet was another bonus. Second, I was looking for a reasonable rate since I'm typically only stopping to sleep for the night. While this hotel is not the cheapest, it's pretty darn close and well worth the extra $$ than to take a gamble on some of the other "best value" options. Finally, I'm a stickler for customer service. And the Drury Inn staff did not disappoint. Twice, I arrived after hours after a long drive and on both occasions, the desk clerk was courteous and professional.

I just booked my third stay at this hotel a few minutes ago. When I find a sure thing, I stick with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadawg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for the NHRA Nationals this past weekend for 3 days & 2 nights. The hotel is up to date on everything, very clean & employees are very nice. I was very surprised when my husband & I received 2 free drinks on Saturday during Happy Hour! Also, they do a movie night with free popcorn & soda from 7-10pm.

Room Tip: This hotel is also Pet friendly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed there the beginning of September 2013. They have a great welcome to the hotel happy hour. Free drinks, free food, nice people. The rooms are a little small but very comfortable. The bed was very nice-no backache in the morning. The weekend we were there they had a large group of motorcyclists arrive. This could have become a rowdy situation. The staff handled the group very well and if you didn't see the bikes in the parking lot you would have never known the were there. As two old people we were very greatfull.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked this hotel, as others had done because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The front desk staff, Florence and Cimone were very nice. The room was rather small. The bed were very HARD and uncomfortable. The walls were thin. We were able to hear the family getting ready in the wee hours of the morning for their departure.
The kids and my mother in law enjoyed the fresh popcorn and soda upon arrival. The breakfast was okay. I would have preferred a wider variety of fresh fruit. My kids enjoyed the waffles.
I was surprised about the staff and other patrons smoking at the front entrance. I did not enjoy breathing in the secondhand smoke multiple times during our brief stay.
A patron had asked me to open the door for her because she forgot her key. I did not open the door, as I had no idea if she was a patron or not. It was almost midnight. A staff member did open the door for her. I do not know what the hotel policy is for patrons opening the door for those the other patrons do not know personally. I think this issue should be addressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize that your recent stay with us was not perfect. We value honest feedback as it allows us to continuously monitor our services. I am sorry that you were not comfortable with our mattresses; we are planning to have all new bedding with our renovation which is slated for the first part of 2014. And thank you for your suggestions involving our breakfast offerings as we are always looking for our guest comments regarding our food. We will address your experience regarding the smoking near the doors and the hotel access with our team. We do keep our exterior doors secured, other than the front door, all day and require a key for entry.

During any stay, please contact us immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation, as our goal is to correct situations while you are present. I would like to speak with you regarding your stay as we strive to be the best at what we do. If you would be so kind as to call the hotel and ask for me, that would be great.

Doug Uzelac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Went to this property because of the reviews on tripadvisor . Although the amenities mentioned were there,they were just average. The full breakfast was just ok nothing special . The dinner was a carb fiesta one step below a Stoney's . The rooms were just ok passable . The a/c was way too loud. You could hear noise in the next room as well outside my second floor window where last night I was lulled to sleep by a constantly barking dog attached to a chain smoker.Also the room itself needs a makeover as it is too 80's. Also the wi-fi did not work well in my room,kept going in and out. It was good in the lobby.

On the plus side my check-in was fast and very very efficient .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I apologize that your recent stay with us was not completely pleasing. During any stay, please contact us immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation, as our goal is to correct situations while you are present. I am happy to report that we are scheduled for a property renovation at the beginning of next year which will give us a fresh new look. Additionally, we are always looking at our food offerings, and your comments are welcome. I would like to speak with you regarding your stay as we strive to be the best at what we do. If you would be so kind as to call the hotel and ask for me, that would be great.

Doug Uzelac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#56 of 178 in Charlotte
513 reviews
Sleep Inn University Place
#80 of 178 in Charlotte
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Address: 415 W W T Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262-3343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Charlotte Drury Inn & Suites is located in the University City neighborhood, south of University of North Carolina and University Research Park. Our hotel is less than two miles from IKEA, and shopping and restaurants are walking distance! Your stay includes free hot breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages - every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing