We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne
Ranked #51 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is not up to Marriott standards. Usually when I stay in anything with the Marriott name associated with it I have high expectations - in this case, it was more like a Super 8. Lobby is nice, rooms are small and not too great. Will avoid it if I stay again - there's a Springhill Suites much nicer right down the road. People were nice though...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. I am pleased to hear your comment "people were nice" as we strive to provide excellent customer service to each guest. We really do care about our guests and it shows. As far as room size we do offer upgraded rooms up to 700 square feet for an additional cost. Please contact me at Chad.Baker@Marriott.com with any particulars so I can make this right. Safe Travels.

Chad Baker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights for weekend visit. Third stay at this property b/c it's located close to family. Good value & service. This hotel is always busy, often with large groups, so lobby area can be chaotic at times. Our room was good size/w comfortable king bed, large desk & chair + upholstered couch & small table. Nice-size, very clean indoor pool & spa. Only negative was inability of lobby Bistro Cafe to handle morning breakfast rush. The Bistro is a nice idea, especially for Starbucks coffee, an afternoon snack, light dinner or glass of wine. But when we attempted to order breakfast, we were told it would take "at least 20 minutes" to prepare 2 orders of french toast - even though there was only one order ahead of ours. This is the second time in two visits that this has happened, so I suspect the Bistro kitchen is too small to handle the demand. We left in search of a "breakfast" restaurant. Unfortunately, on a sunny Saturday morning, all nearby restaurants were jammed, with 30+ minute queues. But next time, we'll consider staying at a hotel that offfers a breakfast buffet or full-service menu - or rise earlier!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne was a perfect hotel for my 2 weeks working in Ballantyne. The staff was great - friendly and inviting. The woman manning the Starbucks was excellent and full of energy early in the morning. And she made a good latte. My room was always made up nicely and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Used the workout center once for the treadmill, but didn't have a chance to use the pool or hot tub. This hotel was super convenient to both my office and local eateries, groceries and pharmacies if needed. I couldn't have asked for more during the trip.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor away from the elevators. Quiet and easy access to the side doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Love everything about this hotel! EXCELLENT!! Very clean!! Rooms were roomy and comfortable! Daytime breakfast staff were amazing!! Food and portions at breakfast were top notch and worth the price! Nice indoor pool. Lots of great restaurants in the area and convenient to the highway. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colt G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and everyone. I love reading everyone's thoughts regarding their stay and taking this information back to the team. We love reading the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed for one week and everyday was as good as the next. The room was clean, the lobby inviting, and the staff was amazing. Front desk and bistro staff were welcoming and greeted me with a smile at all times. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colt G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at our hotel. I take great pride in reading all the reviews off trip advisor and love sharing them with my team. We love to know where we are succeeding and where we need to improve. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel was conveniently located and clean. The staff was helpful, The computers in the business area were easy to use. My wife and I had an excellent time. i would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel fit the bill perfectly for my business trip to the Ballantyne Corporate Park. It was a stone's throw from my work location, proximal to many dining options and other amenities. The staff was courteous and attentive and my accommodations were comfortable and well-maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colt G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you Will H for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. I believe we are in a great location for business as well as leisure travelers. The Ballantyne area is great for everyone, and we are surrounded by some of Charlotte's best restaurants and shopping. We look forward to seeing you again
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
0.3 mi away
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
#45 of 180 in Charlotte
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte/Ballantyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
11.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne

Address: 15635 Don Lochman Ln, 15660 John J Delaney Dr, Charlotte, NC 28277-4413
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#34 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#41 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £85 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Ballantyne is conveniently located in the heart of Ballantyne, at the intersection of John J. Delaney Drive and Johnston Road. With access to unparalleled amenities, the hotel is nearby a variety of restaurants, shopping, golf and spa. We are proud to offer 90 well appointed guest rooms and suites that have been designed with your comfort in mind. The pillow-top beds offer a restful night's sleep, and all guest rooms have refrigerators and 32" LCD Televisions. The Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Ballantyne now features the brand’s new Refreshing Business lobby concept, designed to give travelers the flexibility to work and socialize however they choose while on the road. A signature element of the new lobby is the exclusive GoBoard® technology, a 52-inch LCD touch screen packed with local information, maps, weather, and news, business and sports headlines. Dining has been completely redesigned with The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.; offering casual, flexible seating; easier access to food and higher quality, healthier menu options for breakfast and light evening fare, including snacks, wine and beer so guests can unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Courtyard
Charlotte Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing