We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites University - Research Park
Ranked #72 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
New Windsor, Maryland
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel, been to the area multiple times and this hotel by far exceeds the other hotels in this area. Great location, great customer service, and great breakfast selection. Definitely would recommend this hotel to family and friends in the future

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! Comfort Suites University Area works hard to build loyalty of frequent travels like you. We monitor feedback of our reviews and constantly try to improve. We look forward to having you as out guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    43
    15
    7
    13
See reviews for
58
31
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking for a hotel for one night while we were in town, and this place was reasonably priced. We had a nice room, but the toilet made noise several times during the night. We also were awakened by some inconsiderate guests at 4 am. I don't blame the hotel, but I did lower the rating for 3 reasons. First, the signage is not good. It is not easy to find where to enter. Second, the person at the check in desk was one of the most inconsiderate people I have met coming into a hotel. It might have been a bad day, but folks that are in positions of customer service need to be friendly. She wasn't. Finally, the breakfast here was not great. It may sound particular, but they didn't have skim milk, and the only bread they offered was white bread and one type of bagel. The eggs were OK, but did taste like they were from a package. Most of the issues could be addressed.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators. It tends to be loud, and even though this was a suite, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Comfort Suites University Area apologizes for not being top notch during your stay. We have reviewed your comments and will address the issues to insure that future guests will have a better experience. We hope that you will consider giving us a second chance to make a good impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We got this from Priceline. It was hard to spot from the road. Honestly, the hotel is back a ways, and the sign is so small we blew right by it and had to turn around. Check in was fine. Parking is a little tight. My only complaint here was the sheets. I hate it when they put the wrong size sheets on the bed. This one was the fitted sheet and it popped off in the middle of the night exposing the mattress while I was trying to sleep. I hate that. The maid can't really think she wants to sleep like that herself, can she? The breakfast is nice enough. Clean. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeleemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We apologize for the signage. As you may have noticed, there are similar signs for all of the businesses along our street. These were installed by the DOT during the construction of the Lynx Blue Line Extension, which will run close to the hotel. As soon as we are able, permanent, more visible signage will be installed. As you can imagine, we want to be easy to find.

As for the sheets, we'll make sure and review with our housekeepers so that this oversight does not continue. We hope that you will consider Comfort Suites University Area during your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very beautiful hotel Newley renovated looks brand new and very clean that is very imp for me staff is very friendly location and access very good is off I 85 off IKEA and university price is reasonable compare to what hotel has to offer and amenity I recommend to stay at this hotel

Room Tip: All suites are very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verygoodstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer such kind words! Comfort Suites University Area is so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The new "Your Suite Success" guest room décor is designed to enhance our travelers' comfort. Our staff is driven to providing a friendly and inviting environment. Our location just off I85 at exit 43 is close to everywhere you want to be. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We booked two separate stays for a college orientation. The first night we checked into a 2 queen room. When we got to the hotel a bunch of people were hanging out near the entrance and smoking. Once I walked in and waited at the desk, I realized one of those people was the girl who was supposed to be checking people in at the counter. After a while she realized I was waiting on her and ran inside and apologized. Aside from that delay and some other rowdy guests I thought the hotel was very nice. (New) it was clean, the rooms are a good size and it was in a good location for what we needed.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jnsbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Please accept our apology that our staff member was not at the front desk. We will review procedure to insure that this does not continue. Comfort Suites University Area prides itself on providing quality service to our guests. We hope to see you during your next visit to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a beautiful, luxurious place to stay. The suite was beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, bath, etc. We especially enjoyed the hot breakfast - the best that we have ever had in any hotel or motel. We were impressed with the selection of foods available - both hot and cold. The staff member, Maria, who was in charge of the breakfast was tops! She kept the foods supplied at all times. The hot foods were always hot and plentiful. Maria is really a great employee for Comfort Suites!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Comfort Suites University Area is so glad that our staff helped make your stay enjoyable. We take pride in making our guests feel at home. Our complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes such tasty items as scrambled eggs, breakfast meat, sausage gravy and biscuits. Also available are assorted cereals, whole fruits, pastries, yogurt and more. Come stay with us again when you travel to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a 2star hotel?! It felt like 4 star/4 diamond. Immaculate, spacious, more than enough towels & cups in the room, Hbo movie channels. It's near downtown and attractions. Bkfst a.m. Best stay I've had in a year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pillsandpotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort Suites U, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites University - Research Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! The staff of Comfort Suites University Area is so glad that our hard work is paying off. Our housekeeping staff does their best to provide a clean, comfortable environment. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet is provided to give our guests a great start to their day. We invite you to be our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#76 of 178 in Charlotte
216 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Hampton Inn University Place
#55 of 178 in Charlotte
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University - Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University - Research Park

Property: Comfort Suites University - Research Park
Address: 7735 University City Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28213-8119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites University - Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University - Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Area Hotel Charlotte
Comfort Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing