We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds
Ranked #119 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
2  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I drove to Charlotte from Atlanta for a charity benefit which we were hosting at a local establishment. We travel frequently to many far-flung places and to date, this is by far the worst hotel at which we have ever had the displeasure of staying.

First, upon arrival, we noticed that our door was left wide open (presumably by the cleaning staff?). However, it didn't look like much, if any, cleaning had taken place. The bed was made and two meager towels were in the bathroom. But behind the nightstands we found a ridiculous amount of cigarette ashes, food and candy-wrappers from previous guests. When I opened the desk drawer in search of stationery or a pen, I discovered, to my revulsion, a slew of a childrens' dirty socks and underwear stashed in the drawer!

But wait, there's more! All of Friday night, we on the ground floor were kept awake by the herd of elephants renting the room(s) above ours. (At least, I can only assume it was a herd of elephants; that's what it sounded like.) A herd of elephants that partied loudly all night, loud music, loud "conversation" and more. Being exhausted from a long day at work and an equally long drive to Charlotte, this was especially frustrating as we really needed our rest.

Saturday, we woke up in the morning and immediately began our work related to the charity benefit for which we were in town. The maid asked us if we needed anything, and we asked for two clean towels, giving her our dirty ones. She told us that they were all washing right now and she'd bring them back to us once they were finished. She never did.

Saturday night, we returned to the room around 12:30 following a long, hard day of non-stop work. At roughly 1:00, our exhausted sleep was interrupted by the people in the room(s) above us once again, only they were not partying this time. The couple was having a full-on screaming match that went on until at least 4:00 a.m. Items were being thrown, doors were being slammed, hysterical screaming and crying and threats and cursing - all a full volume. For hours.

In any event, the hotel did absolutely NOTHING to rectify any of the above situations. The loud party continued unabated Friday night, and the screaming match kept escalating in ferocity and volume (again, with no abatement) on Saturday night.

This, added to the disgusting condition of our room, makes this Days Inn the very worst hotel or motel we have ever had the misfortune to experience. For a hotel in this price range, it was certainly a huge waste of money. I strongly recommend that nobody ever stay there. We certainly will not make that mistake again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 148kathleens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Kathleen S,

Thank you for taking time on providing feedback for your stay. Please accept our sincere apologizes for the inconvenient and unpleasant experience. We believe in providing best possible guest services, however in this case we felt short. Once again please accept our apologizes for unpleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel was nice to stay in. It was conveniently located around some restaurants and the train going down town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Joelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Joelyn G,

Thank you for taking time to review us. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the convenient train services located a block down the road. We hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
3  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have stayed here for many years. It is extremely convenient and a great jump off point. Close to light rail. The QT store across the street is new and a HUGE benefit to this location. Cleanliness and price are average and represent a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Arthur Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Arthur Q,

Thank you for taking time to review us. We hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#118 of 183 in Charlotte
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
#104 of 183 in Charlotte
249 reviews
Montclaire South
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds

Address: 118 E Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Charlotte/woodlawn Near Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn
Days Inn Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing