We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls maybe but not a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
Ranked #106 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The staff isn't concerned at all. Tell them that the toilet is broken and they apologize.
They fixed the elevator while I was there and I was waiting for it for 10 minutes until I figured I may as well take the stairs. When I arrived downstairs they were working on it but that is the only elevator and there are 3 or 4 flights, how difficult would it have been to post a sign...
I wil spare you the details of lack of toilet paper or bowl that was broken evidently way before I came. I tried to fix it and the chain was broken, I had to pull the trigger by hand. I think it means the bowl wasn't clean before me since it couldn't have been working. The chain was stuck and broken. Great housekeepers they got.
Avoid at all cost unless you don't know the difference between staying in walls and having a nice stay in a hotel.
Forgot to mention the guy at the reception that shakes your hand as you would expect it to be friendly until you figure out the is unprofessional. Try to tell him the internet isn't working and he will reply " I don't know where the modem is". I was told they didn't tell him where it was. HArd to reset a router that way.... Maybe they don't trust him? But you should? No safe in room either...

Room Tip: You are better off at a comfort Inn if you are going budget. They are not even at that rate, they sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jopin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hello,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback.

I am extremely sorry that you did not have a good stay. We are going through renovations as you definitely noticed and will be through the end of March. Not that it makes up for it, but because of the renovations the hotel/staff is a bit hectic right now.

Regardless, I am again very sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay.

I would love to ask for you to come back and stay with us post renovations. I think that you will see a completely transformed hotel and a more focused staff, in addition to staying in a completely remodeled and modernized room!

Please let me know if you would like to take me up on this, because I know we can do better!

Sincerely,

Sara McMillan
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
p. 704-598-9863 x 402
f. 704-596-9963
sara.mcmillan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

This hotel is horrible. Stay away please.Save your money and time this place is a dead zone. You cant get cellular service here at all. It was terrible I had a speech to do for my roomates wedding and could not be reached because of the lack of cellular service. Might i also add they are going through renovations. Its defening noisy and doesnt stop hammering and banging until 6pm. THere are construction workers walking around and they make you feel uncormfatable by xraying your body. So ladies and small girls should stay away. I have been happier to leave a hotel than now. I hope nobody makes a mistake of staying here like i did.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saramcmill, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Hello Lauren,

I am extremely sorry that you did not have a good stay. We are going through renovations as you definitely noticed and will be through the end of March. We did publish an alert on all booking sites that we are under construction, so we can prepare anyone wanting to stay with us.

Regardless, I am again very sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay.

I would love to ask for you to come back and stay with us post renovations for a complimentary night. I think that you will see a completely transformed hotel from a noise/construction standpoint, in addition to completely remodeled and modernized rooms!

Please let me know if you would like to take me up on this, because I know we can do better!

Sincerely,

Sara McMillan
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites
8812 University East Drive
Charlotte, NC 28213
p. 704-598-9863 x 402
f. 704-596-9963
sara.mcmillan@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I had to travel to Charlotte to visit schools and stay overnight. I planned to stay at candle wood because I was familiar with the brand and liked it. I got excellent service with quick check in and check out. Room was just as I expected with great linens, including towels. I picked up a steak dinner to go and got back to my room, where I found a steak knife :). I will be traveling back tom charlotte periodically and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed in early November while we went to the Dirt Track World Championship. The room and bathroom were spacious, well equiped with bowls, utensils, pans etc. but we didnt use any of that for our short stay. I was looking for a trash can in the kitchenette at one point and found it underneath the kitchen sink,,,,but the bag already had numerous unused condoms and wrappers along with fishnet stockings in it.....seems someone only used the room for a few hours and the cleaning staff didnt think to change the trash....

The rest of the room was very clean, and clear of extracurricular evidence as we would expect. We had already been there half of the stay so we didnt ask for another room since we had already slept there etc. and planned to leave at 430 am the next day.

It was close to good restaurants, fast food and Charlotte Motor Speedway. Despite our "surprise" we are thinking of booking it again for our next trip there for the conveinance of the large fridge and mircrowave. The corridors were quiet at night which was a welcome change as most hotels get noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boggsduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel was great. It is in great shape, however I noticed a display board in the lobby that showed their plan for refurbish. The photos looked amazing! Just hope they don't raise the price! I love staying in candlewoods across the country but I live on an expense account 8 months out of the year and I am hoping this location doesn't put themselves in a position to have to be over $80/night in November.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I travel quite often with Priceline.com . This is my first stay in your hotel. I typically stay in 3-Star+ hotels but this time decided to try a 2-Star.
1. I was impressed beginning with the font desk. The hotel desk Chris and Gayle were very friendly courteous and professional.
2. The hotel was quiet and clean. The room was very nice and clean as well. I loved the fact that you had a dishwasher and range top. I was able to leave the room clean and somewhat back to it's originlal order.
3. The bed was very comfortable.
4. Had I stayed there blind-folded I would have guessed it was a 3-start+ hotel.
5. Upon check out Monday morning I found the front desk personnel to be very friendly and professional. I hope to visit with your hotel again soon!
6. Thank you for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wadesborohoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Staff is very friendly, amenities are as close as you can get to being at home... pots and pans, dishwasher, free laundry anything you could possibly need. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back if we are in this area again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMELA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MainStay Suites Charlotte
#113 of 180 in Charlotte
104 reviews
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University

Address: 8812 University East Dr, Charlotte, NC 28213-4169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Charlotte-University Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the CD/DVD/VCR player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work out in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenient store. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. Earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay. Pets Are Welcome with a fee of $50 for the first night, $10 for each additional night, not to exceed $150 per month. Current shot documentation is required. A pet policy must be signed at check in. Housekeeping is provided every 7 days. The Front Desk is open from 7am-11pm with staff available 24 hours a day. The Candlewood Suites is located just 3 miles from I-85 in a quiet area. We are conveniently close to UNCC, The Charlotte Motor Speedway, Research Park, Wells Fargo CIC, Concord Mills Mall, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, The NASCAR Hall of Fame, Bobcats Arena, and the Bank of America Panthers Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University Hotel Charlotte
Candlewood Charlotte
Charlotte Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing