We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cheap price”
Review of Greenleafe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenleafe Inn
Ranked #146 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is cheap but if you can afford it spend a few extra bucks and not sleep beside the noisy highway in a smelly room that is around 150 square feet. This hotel is fine in a pinch but don't be lured by its rock bottom price if you plan to spend more than a few sleeping hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagmohan Singh ... S, Director of Sales at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

There are few of our competitors getting these reviews posted.We opened the hotel in just 2012 and competing with the hotels who have been here and not doing well.They are jealous of our success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We came to Charlotte for the DNC and stayed here 6 nights. I expected to pay inflated prices, but this was really over the top opportunisim by owner of a very run-down motel. The rooms are tiny and in very poor condition (gaps in the grouting in the bathroom, a towel rail that fell off the first time we used it, dirty carpet, damaged door jamb and dodgy lock, noisy air-conditioning. It is quite a way out from the uptown area and while there is a local bus, the service is very poor at night so we ended up having to catch a taxi a few times.
Only redeeming features - free wifi, ethusiastic staff eager to please.
If you have a car and are only there for a night, and paid normal rates, then possibly ok. Just know that it is rundown despite the website saying it has been recently redecorated/updated.

Room Tip: If you are staying, ask for a room at the back, further away from the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagmohan Singh ... S, General Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

When there was a problem we attended to it promptly, but feel sorry you were not happy with your stay.We would do anything to make more improvements to make our guests comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Room was nice enough. Smelled a bit like there might have been some smoking going on in the room at some point in the past, but our noses adjusted to the smell soon enough and it wasn't obvious. When we left around 8:45am, the office sign said "open" but no one was there and the door was locked. We had to call the security guard to get everything taken care of.Free wifi, which was nice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank FloridaBeachSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagmohan Singh ... S, Guest Relations Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We try our best to keep away the smokers from non smoking rooms.However sometimes they come outside to smoke close to the airconditioners and the smoke smell goes inside the rooms.The lobby sign says open if its open but there are times the front desk manager goes for a natures call.We would ensure to offer better service and would fix these lapses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The room was great for the price. Very clean and safe. The staff were all very helpful and kind. I was not arriving until 2 AM and the staff waited up for me to check me in. It is located just a few miles from uptown (not walking distance). It was a nice, quiet room and I would stay here again if I were in the Charlotte area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagmohan Singh ... S, Director of Sales at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your response.We always try to keep our guests comfortable.Its because of our valuable guests we are in business.Come again and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you like more bugs(fruit flies & flying ants) flying around your room than outside... staying here. Weird but nice staff. I sprayed the room & sheets down with lysol & slept in all my clothes to feel somewhat safe. Its a place to stay & thats what I needed b/c Im in between relocating for a job but it was bery below my standards... not b/c of size but b/c of all the bugs (probably due to a 1-1.5" opening under the door... which i stuff w/their blanket), the microwave did not work, and the small refridg had dead fruit flies in it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

This property has been recently remodeled and taken care of at all levels.We checked the room in question and there was no trace of any insects at all.We feel sorry about your observations and would always try to make this hotel more comfortable.Your review has been very helpful to us by making our working team here to be more vigilant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very tiny rooms. Good price. It isn't fancy but it is a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andsantucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagmohan Singh ... S, Owner at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you, and we would do more to make our guests comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were in Charlotte for a weekend workshop. We stayed at the Greenleafe Inn two nights, Friday and Saturday. We spent very little time in the room. That was good as the room was compact, read small, albeit well equipped (small frig, microwave, coffee maker, TV, hair dryer, double bed, two chairs). Notably missing: Telephone and clock radio. Clock radio available on request. Telephone not.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and knew the area. Service was non-existent. No clean towels Saturday or Sunday. Would have been OK if we had known in advance, but we didn't, so tossed used towels and washcloths on the floor. Not good. But, hey, the bed was comfortable, thermostat worked, and we really only needed a place to sleep.

For $44/night booked through Hotwire, it served its purpose.

Warning: XL folks will not be comfortable in the room we had.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warmfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagmohan Singh ... S, General Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We would improve more and see our guests comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Rodeway Inn Charlotte \ Downtown
#135 of 178 in Charlotte
20 reviews
East Forest
Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Continental Inn
#115 of 178 in Charlotte
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#131 of 178 in Charlotte
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenleafe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenleafe Inn

Address: 5820 Monroe Rd, Charlotte, NC 28212-6100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £45 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenleafe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GreenLeafe Inn is open now after extensive renovations and under a new management.This would be a great place to stay for a brief or extended stay.The property is being managed by a husband and wife team and opened on 16th Dec:2011 to public.All King and Queen Size rooms have been newly decorated with very comfortable furniture and linens. All rooms are equipped with TV, Frig, micro ovens, coffee makers and hair dryers. The Greenleafe is located just four and half miles from uptown and the largest Malls.The best of restaurants and pop mom eating places are close by.We look forward to see and make your stay comfortable.Thank you, Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greenleafe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenleafe Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing