We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely difficult to find, but great once you do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Ranked #81 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Extremely difficult to find, but great once you do!”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Note to future travelers - the street address on the hotel's website is actually the address for the Epicenter - NOT the hotel. After nine hours in the car I spent a lot of additional wasted time trying to find the hotel. Even once I called the hotel to get the actual location - on College south of 4th it was still impossible to find as you can't see the sign until you pass the hotel. The reception indicated that this was a very common issue, which begs the question -- what not fixed it so that your guests don't show up pissed off?
Aside from that annoyance, the hotel itself is nice and boutique-y. Appreciated the free wireless connction as well. Great, walkable location in downtown Charlotte.

Room Tip: Hotel lobby on 5th floor, north facing best view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesrion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    197
    146
    76
    54
See reviews for
76
181
46
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

It definitely tries to be trendy, but it doesn't quite make it. The decor looks like they tried the industrial minimalist look, it didn't work and they slapped a bunch of stripes on everything from the carpeting to the windows.

The room it self was okay. The beds were not very comfortable and the AC unit was loud. The cleaning staff failed to see that someone mistook the safe for a fridge and we found leftover Chinese in there. We were fine with the place until the 6 am Sunday morning fire alarm. To get all the way outside from 15 flights down and not find any hotel staff to tell you where to go, what was happening, or give some sort of "all clear" was unacceptable. People were standing on the sidewalk in the cold for a long time waiting for the one functioning elevator to take you back to the lobby because any stairwell doors locked behind you (not that you could find your way around the block anyway).

The only reason I didn't rate it lower was because the price was reasonable for the location, but the $350/night rate that is posted in the room would be a huge waste of money.

Room Tip: They tell you there is a loud and a quiet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Pd28,
Please accept my apology for the challenges you experienced at the hotel, due to both some internal oversights, and the fire alarm. While thankful that the fire system works as effectively as it does, I understand the frustration of being awakened at that time on a Sunday morning.The areas of concern will be taken seriously and I hope a future visit results in a more enjoyable experience.
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conn.
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

There are three items that are key to a stay in a hotel; quiet, good HVAC and a good night's sleep. This hotel failed on all three. The rooms with an "odd" number face a very busy street with busses going by all night, the HVAC was broken (temperature would not go below 75) and the maintenance department failed to fix or return as promised, and the bed is nowhere near Starwood quality, merely a matress on a platform, no box springs. Likewise the two, only two, elevators are slow, there is no service elevator and you can spend several trips with garbage, dirty laundry and lots of lengthy discussions without any regard to the hotel's customers. Some may also like the mini-mart eating facilities (I knew that when I reserved) but it is not a selling point. Placing sarongs in the hallway may try to, but fail to cover the old and ugly halways. The set-up of the rooms are also strange in that the sink area is fully visibly when the door to the hallway and when you sit at the desk, it is difficult to see the wall mounted TV. There are also no drawers for your clothing.

On the positive side the staff is super-friendly as any I have encountered, the location is fantastic, and the fitness center had very nice equipment (although the major piece was broken).

This is a nice place for some college kids living out of a suitcase but for business travel, this is just not the chain for that purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear gt_a_lf,
Thank you for your frank feedback. I am glad to hear of the friendly service you encountered at our hotel. The comments relative to the issues you encountered are disheartening, but give us solid details towards where we can place our effort. Being in the center of a major city like Charlotte can be incredibly enjoyable; but the noise at times can be frustrating. I apologize, on behalf of the talent, for the challenges you encountered.
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

First time staying at an Aloft hotel. Good points: visually appealing lobby and common areas, accessible snacks/sandwiches, neat bar. Rooms are spare but appealing - very high ceilings add to the feeling of spaciousness. Bed is comfortable, big flat screen TV, good work area with easy plug-ins for personal electronics, fast wi-fi service, accessible electricity (no crawling under the desk needed to plug in your electronics). There is a great selection of restaurants within 2 minutes' walk.

Bad points: Noisy elevator up to the lobby on the 5th floor. Are they piping in "industrial" noise to the elevator to accentuate the remodeled/loft space feel of the hotel? Noisy wall air conditioning unit makes it difficult to sleep and blows right onto the bed. Covers are too short if you are a tall person (I'm 6'1"). Iron didn't work. Most annoying, i never got my wake-up call. Luckily the noisy air conditioning and short blankets kept me waking up all night long, so when i woke up on my own 15 minutes after my scheduled wake-up call I didn't miss my business breakfast.

In balance - the room wasn't cheap enough for this to be a good deal vs. a full service hotel; there are many near by.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear timminn,
Thank you for your feedback. We are proud of the room layouts, though much different from many of the hotels in our area; the designers made the "IT" wiring functional and easy to get to. Regarding the "noisy elevator"; this resulted from some components that have since been replaced creating a much quieter ride to and from the EpiCentre. Unfortunately you only missed the quiet ride by a few days. We hope to see you back soon!
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I arrived at mid-night after a long meeting. The traffic was so heavy around the hotel the valet told me to go around the block and come back (a 15 minute process.) When I finally get up to registration they inform me they "overbooked" and don't have the room I reserved and gave my credit card to hold. Very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CptLouisRenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear CptLouis,
Please accept my sincere apology for relocating you to a different hotel upon arriving late one evening. I understand the challenges that this late change can cause. Hopefully we'll have another opportunity of welcoming you to Aloft to experience all that we have to offer.
Best regards,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Not a hotel for service since you get your food at a deli int he lobby and the only employee present at night is the receptionist. But I prefer no service to bad service and this why I liked the Aloft (staid there 4 times). The reception staff is usually happy and helpful, check-in efficient, swimming pool small but decent (indoor, for laps). The rooms are very simple, the bed takes all the spacebut is very comfortable, internet is free and works well, great when you have to travel with 2 laptops and 2 smartphones!
Finally the location is perfect if you do business in the city center. I went back, I'll go back! Book it early, it is always full.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Curous F,
Thank you for your wonderful comments! You nailed it...we are a unique concept in a sea of "typical" hotels. Call it minimalist or sparce, but you have found that Aloft provides everything you need and not much that you don't. We are very thankful for your continued patronage! I'm glad you figued out that you need to book pretty early if you're going to "live life aloft".
I hope to see you soon,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The location for this hotel is very good - downtown and walking distance to most offices. That's about all I can say that is positive. The negatives: there wasn't a place for the cab to pull over to unload; the elevator from the street to the lobby were very slow and noisy; the keycard machine didn't work requiring someone to walk you to your room EVERY TIME; the machine which was suppose to be fixed "qucikly" was still not fixed 12 hours later at check-out; the room is almost baren - it feels like you're sleeping in an abandoned office; the beds are practically on the floor and not comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Charlie,
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you found the hotel to be lacking in decor and the elevators to be inconvenient. The concept is unique when comared to the typical hotel and though most of our guests rave about it, admittedly some aren't as enthralled. The difficulty in cab access results from our bustling location, which once inside and settled, is one of our features. I apologize for the challenges with the key access during your stay; the equipment has since been replaced and this inconvenience has been remedied. I hope you'll consider another visit in the future.
Best regrds,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Ward
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#45 of 178 in Charlotte
2,009 reviews
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Property: Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Address: 210 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing