We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Omni Charlotte Hotel(Charlotte)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ivey's Hotel(Charlotte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
198
205
161
80
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
205
161
80
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet sidewxyz bartrendy hotelvalet parkingepi centerparking deckrooms are modernbars and restaurantsawesome locationmovie theaterhigher floorvalet serviceself parkbank of america stadiumdowntown areagreat customer serviceconvention center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2009

OK, the hotel itself is great. Matter of fact, this is my third Aloft property I've stayed at (Aloha everyone!). Someone needed to do a better job at deciding where to put these hotels however. Let me mention the larger issues with this property as it's not the brand/concept itself. These are the same issues that most reviewers have already noted.

Elevators. Yes, you share the same elevator that goes from the two underground parking levels to floors 1 to 4 of the Epicenter, then to floor 5 (which is where the Aloft lobby is). One of the two elevators were out of service from Tuesday afternoon until Thursday evening. Every time I wanted to leave the hotel, it took 10 to 15 minutes to catch an elevator. I'm not lazy, but 5 tall flights of stairs in 85% heat and 80% humidity is not my idea of a good time. Everyone waiting for the elevators were complaining, rightfully so. What a wonderful surprise to see the second elevator was working when I returned ... and only had to wait 30 seconds for a car.

Noise from OUTSIDE the hotel. Tuesday night was fine, but last night (Wednesday) it went on and on and on. boom da da boom da da boom ... enough that I could lightly feel the reverberation of the music in my hotel room on the 8th floor. I eventually called down and got a room change at 1am to the other side of the building (facing the street). It was amazing how much quieter it was. This evening however (Thursday) there are two bands playing in the EPICENTER complex, and I can even hear the music from my room bouncing off the office buildings downtown. As others noted, if you like the party atmosphere with 20-something young adults hanging around all over in their finest party attire, this would be the spot for you. If you're here to conduct business the next morning, perhaps not so much.

Air Conditioner noise, yeah I agree it awful, especially for a new building ... but ... it was the least of my worries.

I was going to stay here until Monday, but decided to check out Friday morning instead. If it's this crazy on Wednesday and Thursday night, I can't imagine what it would be like, come Friday/Saturday.

Different places for different folks... if you're here for business (traditional business, 9 to 5), then this might not be for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BestValueHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

06/19/2009
DO NOT GO BY THE BAD REVIEWS! Checked in today, the room was ready EARLY! Haley checked us in and she was friendly, personable, and knowledgeable about the area and the resturants we were interested in. Offering suggestions and details that ended with us picking Mert's, which was about a block and a half away...(good eating by the way). The lobby is colorful and clean. Like nothing we have ever seen. I took alot of beautiful pictures. They have a pool that has awesome City views too! We went to our room on the 11th floor on the Epicentre side, which boasted awesome Charlotte/city views! The room is trendy, clean, modern, and comfortable. The beds are nice and there is a 42" Plama TV mounted on the wall. Okay, sure there is no ice machine or vending machines (as some complain) but there is ice in the lobby and a refridgerator in the room (you don't need anything else!) Bring some drinks and you'll be fine, plus there are some things in the lobby if you want, like ben and jerry's ice cream! We played pool on a really nice red pool table in the lobby and there is also glass chess set in the very nice sitting area. The Charlotte Aloft is very convienient and located to several restaurants, a CVS drug store, and a movie theater. I would be more than happy to stay at Aloft again.

Stayed: June 2009
2  Thank Supercorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I stayed at this hotel during the weekend of NASCAR Speed week and Memorial Day weekend, so the area was full of activities and street and traffic noise. The hotel itself makes an attempt to give uptown Charlotte a glimps of boutique-chic hotel living, but falls short. First there is no room service, the 24-hour cafe area had very slim pickings, soggy salads, rotten fruit, and the staff was EXTREMELY unprofessional, unhelpful, and rude management. I am a traveling professional artist and have stayed in many hotels around the country. And for the rate they are charging for this "boutique-chic" hotel, you're better off going somewhere else where you'll not only get a comfortable room, but you'll also get the costumer service you deserve!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank light_traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

While the hotel and room itself was very trendy and clean, noise was my biggest complaint. It took me a night to get used to the air conditioner which, as some travelers pointed out earlier, is surprisingly very loud, especially for a new hotel, and kept me up for a couple of hours. I arrived on Monday and will be leaving tomorrow. I hadn't experienced any noise issues with the club downstairs until tonight. I'm on the 11th floor and it is pretty noisy. I have a very early flight tomorrow, so I'm hoping I'll be able to get some sleep tonight. Apparently the club revs up starting on Thursdays. Other than tonight, it's been pretty quiet with the exception of the air conditioner.

The hotel is definitely located in a great location that is within close walking distance to a lot of entertainment. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to party and isn't a light sleeper; otherwise, you won't get a wink due to the air conditioner, unless you turn it off using the switch located near the floor, but the room may get too stuffy at some point. I would also recommend it to anyone staying between Monday and Wednesday if you don't want to experience noise issues from the club.

If you will have a problem with any of those noise areas, definitely find other lodging.

Regarding the staff, they were friendly, but not as knowledgeable as they should be. However, I was called back right away after the Clerk found the answer to my question, so that's not a big issue for me.

There's no information about the city in the room, so you'll either have to go to the local Visitor's Info Center or use one of the Internet stations in the lobby if you don't have your own laptop.

There's also no room service. The hotel does offer a small area where you can pick up things like sandwiches, a small variety of desserts, and/or drinks. However, I didn't find lack of room service an issue since there are tons of places to eat in the Epicentre and within easy walking distance of the hotel.

If I ever came to Charlotte again, I'd pick another hotel nearby or close to the city before I stayed here. The room was beautiful, but the noise was too distracting for me.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snazzy-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Checked in late Friday night on a very busy weekend -- Graduation and NASCAR Speed Street. Our first room had two queen size beds and was very spacious. It was also marked as a handicapped room and had a lovely shower without glass doors. Unfortunately we discovered fecal matter sprayed around the toilet (toilet was clean) attempted to clean it with shower and a towel but had no bleach so when housekeeping didn’t clean/disinfect it (twice) -- (left a note) -- we asked to be moved to another room. I Tried to give our housekeeper a chance to rectify the situation. But Scott, at the front desk, figured that they probably didn’t understand the note. He very apologetic and promised to contact the manager. Our stay was for 4 nights and when asked what they could do since they couldn’t offer us a meal (no restaurant) we asked for one night complimentary. There was a message on our home answering machine after we checked out and flew home that we would receive a 50% discount on our first night’s stay for the inconvenience.
During our stay housekeeping also were not consistent in replacing coffee packets, washcloths, or bath mat, and crumbs did not get cleaned off the table in the room. In hindsight, we should have contacted the manager immediately (I was trying to be nice to the housekeeper) and we should have asked to move to a different floor with a different housekeeper!
I won’t be returning or recommending it.
Other hotels offer 100% guarantee – if not 100% satisfied room is complimentary – and I will be booking those from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texas2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews