We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Trendy Boutique Hotel & Great Location and Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Trendy Boutique Hotel & Great Location and Value!”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and have just good things to say about my experience there. The hotel is conveniently situated downtown/uptown and is walking distance to food, shops and the Time Warner Cable Arena is just a block away from the hotel.

I was warmly greeted by the friendly hotel staff and checked in with no problems. The staff was also very friendly and quite helpful when I called the day before my arrival when I called to inquire about transporation from the airport. They do not have a hotel shuttle, but they arranged a car to pick me up and take me back to the airport for a fee. No car was needed since there were multiple dining optons just outside the doors of the hotel. FYI parking is $20/day. I was also able to arrange a late checkout.

Lobby area is trendy, modern and chic. Cool music is playing in the lobby and there are several places to lounge, meet or relax. There is a pool table, bar and meeting room on the lobby level. There is no hotel restaurant, but the hotel is attached to an outdoor walking mall that has several dining options. At least one restaurant will deliver to the hotel. There is a area by the lobby where you can purchase snacks and beverages.

Rooms - I stayed on the 15th floor and had a view of the area. The room was quite clean, comfortable and the decor is very modern and trendy which matches the remaider of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and there is a small refridgerator in the room along with the usual amenities. High speed internet is available along with to hook up videos to the TV. No Ipod dock though.
I was able to work comfortably from my room and it was not noisy as I read in one post.

I combined business with pleasure and attended a concert at the Time Warner Cable arena during my stay. It was a short walk from the hotel in heels and I would recommend this location if you plan to go to Charlotte to attend an event at the arena.

Bar - Full bar in the evenings beginning around 5 PM durinbg the week. I am not certain about the hours on the weekends. Great bar and the music cranks up in the evenings. Nice place to hang out and I can forsee the hotel attracing a nice afterwork crowd for happy hour.

Overall, a pleasant experience and I would recommend this hotel as well as visit again. I would also try another Aloft in a different city. This was my first Aloft experience. It was a great value as well-booked through Priceline.

No photos this trip, sorry. It was a business trip, so I did not take the camera.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    193
    138
    75
    53
See reviews for
72
175
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

What a great boutique hotel! Aloft is a new concept in hotels by the W. The hotel lobby is not on the ground floor, so after parking in the garage below, we took and elevator up to check-in. Upon entering the lobby, there is a nice scent throughout and hip music playing. The people at check-in couldn't have been any nicer. I grabbed a milk out of their grab-and-go styled food and drink area and they just added it to our bill. The rooms are very nicely laid out, great use of space. The design is contemporary and clean. They even use Bliss spa products! We hung out at the lobby bar that evening and had a great time. They even have an indoor pool with fantastic views. This is now my favorite hotel in Charlotte!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliadn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I got an unreal deal on this hotel through Priceline so I was pretty much willing to deal with a lot. When we arrived, I couldn't believe how hip and neat this hotel was. The hotel is in a great location with a lot going on around it. It was loud outside at night but we couldn't hear anything in our room. And we were just steps away from any kind of food, drink and entertainment we could want. The room had a great view and very streamlined feel to it. The bed was so comfortable- we got a great night's sleep. The only complaint I have is the parking situation. Be prepared to pay $20 a night for the garage.
Overall we really enjoyed our experience and will look for this chain in future cities.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Location: 5 stars
Epi center in uptown charlotte.

Service: very good
The management team are excellent.

Rooms: 3 stars, comfortable, clean, trendy and modern: BUT NOISY
1. King bed is COMFORTABLE. Good night sleep. Very excellent
2. AC: powerful and effective
3. Amenties: Excellent: bottle water every day, iron, coffee maker, empty fridge
4. It is VERY NOISY.... here is why: there is no way on earth to shut down the AC unit. There is an off position but that will not shut down the FAN. And the FAN is very noisy. All my co-workers complained about the same exact thing.
5. there is no break for the business traveller: The music is playing in the lobby and even in the elevator.

Breakfast: there are some snacks you can buy. but there is no hot or buffer breakfast offered.

Value: It is good

This hotel can do few things to improve itself:

1) Lower music in lobby.
2) More importantly, allow for complete shut down of the AC units so guests can actually sleep after a long day of work. (this is the most important one)
3) Better isolation from the outside noise

Overall, I recommend this hotel and definitely I recommend it over the Holiday Inn

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, N.C.,USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My son booked us overnight, Saturday September 12, 2009 at the Aloft. Reminded me of Copenhagen, Denmark. Very modern! Staying here was a treat. The staff was very nice! My family went to Carolina Panthers game but I waited at the hotel. Staff was very friendly! Definitely in the heart of everything.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catlover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Stayed 3 nights for a Sunday football game. Would stay again if ever back in Charlotte.

Pros: clean, modern, located adjacent to great Charlotte entertainment & nightlife complex (Epicentre), nice center city location, well appointed guest rooms
, free internet access
Cons: a little tough to find (not well marked from the street), self parking instructions not clear (park underground in the Epicentre complex), housekeeping was inconvenient on both of the full days we stayed (day #1 left at 9:00 a.m., came back at 3:30 p.m. and still not done. Day #2 left at 11:00 a.m. , came back at 5:00 p.m. and still not done. We told the maid to forget it when she knocked 15 minutes later.

I have seen two other negative comments made by people on this site, and I understand both. One pertained to the outside noise levels. Definitely ask for the side opposite the Epicentre if this is an issue (although street noise can be easily heard on this side, even from our 15th floor room - I am sure they could' ve had a better design plan or way of insulating against outside noise). The other issue was of the need to take two separate elevators to get to your room from the self park garage and/or the street. Due to tripadvisor, we were aware of this but considered it a minor inconvenience as we have been to other hotels with similar elevator arrangements in the past.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricmiclab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Difficult to manage parking, drunk guests in the elevators, and endless amounts of noise (even on the quiet side of the hotel) make this a very questionable stay if you do not have any business in the EpiCentre area (leisure or otherwise). Even on a Thursday night from the 15th floor, there was endless amounts of traffic drone, street-noise, and general drunk and disorderly conduct audible from the room in to the early morning hours. In addition, the noises of people walking by the common hallway, and closing their doors was very apparent.

The good however, gives the entire Aloft concept some hope. Intelligently designed rooms, free internet, cordless phones, and a modern approach to the bathroom and shower, in addition to a 42" flat screen TV with desk mounted HDMI, VGA, and composite video-in (some hotels lock these extra inputs out) make it clear that Aloft has catered to the contemporary traveler. A safe big enough for a laptop, coffee and tea facilities and an empty refrigerator round out the amenities nicely. I found the self-service cafe items to be reasonably priced, and the wraps tasted relatively fresh, considering I made a purchase at 11am.

Finally, as a new test I perform in all hotels with internet access, speedtest.net reported a remarkable 9.9 Mbps down, and 7.9 Mbps up transfer speed. Exceptional considering it is complementary.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apl175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#37 of 178 in Charlotte
1,882 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Property: Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Address: 210 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing