We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party hotel... not great for long term business travel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Ranked #77 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Party hotel... not great for long term business travel.”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Charlotte is a beautiful city and the Aloft Hotel at the EpiCentre puts you right where the action is. That can be a good or a bad thing. The EpiCentre is an adult entertainment complex which means the weekends are filled with loud drunk people vomiting in the elevators and running through the hallways. Take my advice and request a room higher up and facing away from the bars. During the week the hotel can be peaceful. The rooms at the Aloft are small but nice and trendy. They are badly designed sound wise though and you can hear everything happening in the halls and in the rooms next to you. The front desk staff is extremely friendly, but the cleaning staff is often flippant about their jobs and will randomly miss rooms for no reason. After specifically talking to the head of cleaning about getting my room cleaned every day they STILL missed my room several times. When they did clean it was very poorly done... basically just making the bed and changing the towels. The BIGGEST design flaw of this hotel though is that the lobby starts on the fifth floor and you have to take an elevator to the lobby and then get off and take another elevator to your room. The first elevator to the lobby is shared with the entire complex so especially on the nights that there were street festivals (there were two the month I was there) it will take you hours to get up just to the lobby (there are no stair options from the first floor). Parking can also be hard to get into when there are festivals. But I think if you are going to go for two days this hotel can be fine. Just choose another option if you are going to stay long term. My feeling is that this is a newer hotel in every way and that in a few years it will be the fantastic hotel it deserves to be.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank speksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Dear Speksy,

Please accept my sincere apology for the challenges you encountered as a long-term guest at our hotel. I am delighted to read that our Aloha talent was extremely friendly; I'm very proud of the men and women who serve our guests. As a hotel that''s literally in the "middle of it all", we have both the benefit of a fabulous Uptown location, but admittedly have some challenges from time to time with the volume of people that come through the EpiCentre. I agree that for one or two nights you will not likely find a better place if you desire to stay in a vibrant, "happening", location. Hopefully you will give another opportunity of serving you soon.

Best regards,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    198
    146
    76
    54
See reviews for
77
182
46
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I stayed at Aloft Uptown Charlotte from the 19th May till 2nd June 2010 and it was FANTATSTIC. A friend and I were visiting from Scotland in part to attend the NASCAR All Star Race and the Coca Cola 600.

We arrived at the hotel which was only a short drive from the airport around 5:30pm and were welcomed warmly by reception staff. Check in was the quickest I have experienced at any hotel almost as if they were expecting us to walk through the door at that minute.

We were allocated a room on the 11th floor which had great views and fantastic amenities. The room came with 2 queen beds – very comfortable with great pillows, a large flat screen wall mounted TV with access to 60+ television channels complete with pay per view access to many new releases. It also had a nifty gadget attached to it which allowed you to hook your iPod up to the TV and play music through it (they supply the cables if you do not have one).

The bathroom was lovely with a huge shower and full length mirrors – in fact the room generally had great mirrors and lighting something that is usually always lacking in hotels.

Everything had been thought of at Aloft – the bar area was lovely, there was a small shop area always stocked with fresh fruits, cereals, salads, coffees and several different breakfast foods each morning. The staff were so helpful, so friendly and always seemed to remember you from the last time they had spoken to you.

The location of the hotel is fabulous for exploring the city and enjoying its great night life. Aloft is situated within the Epicentre complex which houses some great restaurants and bars such as NASCAR driver Dale Earnhardt Jr’s Whisky River.

Aloft was a great example of Southern Hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Dear fussy_hotel_goer,

Thank you for sharing your experience at aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Our talent works hard to create raving fans and it is always a pleasure to read about times when we've succeeded. Hopefully we'll have an opportunity of serving you again soon!

Best regards,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Staff was helpful as we had to call for the location. Unable to locate signage for "Aloft."
Also made excellent restraurant suggestions.
Room was modern and adequate, did not contain drawer space. Used shelfs, closet and suitcase for storage. There was a vault in the room, which was convenient and easy to use.
Location was wonderful, for the purpose of the trip. Convenient to everything in uptown Charlotte.
One unusual feature was the lack of ice on each floor. We visited the lobby for a ziplock bag of ice. The second unusual feature was the size of pillows, half the size of a regular pillow.
Quiet, clean and well managed hotel. Wonderful location for our purpose.
No street level sign for the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepemflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Hello Keepemflyin,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay in May. I'm glad that you found our location to be convenient; Uptown Charlotte has a lot to offer travelers. I apologize if the lack of "typical" storage in the rooms posed an inconvenience to you; though the aloft was designed with "loft-like" features, some of the offerings are a bit atypical compared to other hotels. We are in the process of determining what additional storage units, if any, we can add to the rooms to address this concern. In an effort to make the arrival process a bit easier we are now sending an "arrival" map along with hotel reservation confirmations. If you're using a navigational system our street address places you nearly a block from the front door; we're still trying to determine how to address that. Thanks again for your comments. I hope to have an opportunity of serving you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Room is nice enough... but loud. Incessant pounding of a drum from a band performing in the shopping / bar mall adjacent to the hotel make the rooms impossible to work in. If you are a business traveler and need to sit in your room and work for a bit, this is not the place.

Desk staff is indifferent about service. House keeping does a great job on the room... go figure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear Bengally,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in May. I am sorry to hear that the combination of noise from the EpiCentre and an indifferent front desk staff detracted from what otherwise could have been an enjoyable experience. Admittedly, the vibrance of our Uptown location does present it's own challenge at times; the very activity that draws a great number of travelers to the aloft can also be a bit loud at times. As half of our hotel rooms face away from the EpiCentre, I suggest contacting the hotel prior to arrival and mentioning your desire to be placed in a room opposite the entertainment center. While it may be difficult at times to accommodate every request, we have been fortunate to do so on most occassions. I hope an opportunity presents itself for you to return and experience a level of service that you have come to expect from aloft!
Kind regards,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I went out for my birthday and wanted to go to the Epicentre so I decided to stay at the Aloft. The hotel is the perfect location and everything you want to do is probably in the Epicentre. It''s not far from Panthers Stadium & a couple blocks from Bobcats too ...anways, the staff is so friendly they were giving me all the information I needed and the best places to go! I had awesome birthday and they even got me a brithday card and I had no idea!!! Great place, great location and great staff!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabumgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimaloft, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear Sarabumgarner,
Thank you for writing about your great experience at aloft. I am proud of our Talent that arranged for a birthday treat for you. Our goal is to create Raving Fans; and it sounds as though we succeeded with you. Hopefully we'll have an opportunity of serving you again soon.
Happy Birthday!

Regards,
Jim Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staunton, va
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Great hotel -- very busy atmosphere -- not a typical hotel - very modern, but VERY comfortable! Friendly staff - comfortable beds, pillows - it was a great experience -- I highly recommend this hotel~ !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciinderellaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I will say the rooms are pricey but you are clearly paying for location. Right across the street from the Time-Warner arena and lots of good restaurants. The rooms were clean and the front desk was friendly. They have an indoor pool, but we didn't get a chance to check it out. They also have a cool bar area. You have to pay to park (in the parking deck) and then take the elevator to the 5th floor to get to the hotel. Also, our window looked directly out to Whisky River nightclub. They like to play their music loud...all night...so be prepared. If you are looking for a hip place to stay though, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAgymtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
2,033 reviews
First Ward
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Uptown
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Property: Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
Address: 210 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing