We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special meal, as always”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 2,351 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Across from SouthPark Mall
Description: Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very special meal, as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have dined at this restaurant twice, and both times I have had an awesome dining experience. Wait staff is very attentive with an excellent wine selection. Definitely will return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    33
    22
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not much for your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I found this restaurant to be very expensive for serving steaks that are less than good. Mine was tough,not cooked to how I asked for it,and staff could care less. I finally left to go some where else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WEL29229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Much to do about nothing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Okay, you have a big expense account. Ruth's Chris is the place to go if you like steak and potatoes. There is something to be said for simplicity; but not at exorbitant prices and snooty country waiters.

Its a great steak --- but its just a great piece of meat. The asparagus were overcooked, potatoes --- well they were just potatoes.

Its a big ticket that really is just over the top. I can think of much better places to show off for clients that evidence flair, savoir faire and really great food for the same price or less.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FilsProdigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Drop the butter!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I would give 5 stars, except a filet swimming in butter just ain't right! Sorta defeats the taste of a good steak.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaajfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal at Ruth's Chris in Charlotte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Ruth's Chris in Uptown Charlotte this past weekend. We began with cocktails in the bar and a delicious tuna appetizer. Followed by dinner in the dining room which consisted of lobster and a trio of petit filets, with a couple of side dishes. This meal was everything we were expecting and more. The service was attentive without being overbearing. The wine recommendation was spot on with our meal selections. We will definitely return, maybe for cocktails on the outdoor patio when the weather is a bit warmer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pantherfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing