We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable updated---nice for a large group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Ranked #63 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed two nights at the Renaissance Charlotte Suites in February for a school related athletic event. It is laid out like an Embassy Suites and I think I had read that it used to be an Embassy Suites. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. The furnishings appear new and the beds are comfortable. We ordered room service twice which was good (but not great) and it arrived promptly both times. I would have preferred if the breakfast buffet had been included in the price of the room like an Embassy Suites but it was adequate and certainly less crowded than the typical Embassy Suites breakfast. We were with a large group and someone in our party had secured a room to use as a hospitality suite which was a great place to store food and for the children too meet. Our beds were comfortable...they hadn't been made up by the time we returned to our room at 1pm so I went to the front desk and asked if we could have housekeeping there by 4 and the room was made up with fresh towels and sheets when returned again. The bathroom was nice and spacious...room for two which is important to me when traveling with small children. There was a tub/shower combination. In several hotels I have stayed in recently, there has just been a shower which makes it much more difficult when traveling with small children.
The only negative came at the end of the trip. When I arrived there were no bellhops available to help us with our luggage and I asked the front desk to secure a luggage cart for me. I was given the luggage cart without a problem. When it was time to leave, I went down to get a luggage cart and they wouldn't let me have it. They insisted that a bellhop had to bring it to my room and help me with my luggage. I had not kept cash on hand to tip the bellhop (as they had not provided this service at check in) and felt uncomfortable having him perform this service without a tip. They did come to the room promptly but I felt uncomfortable not tipping and I think the bellhop was disappointed as well. I got the feeling that the front desk was just trying to drum up business for the bellhops which only work certain times. Overall, though, it is a fine hotel and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

This hotel is in a business park not too far from the airport. There is nothing within walking distance so you will not be walking to a restaurant or a convenience store.

There are closer airport hotels but this isn't too far. Walking in you would swear that you are in the lobby of an Embassy Suites - an old beat up Embassy Suites. It has that atrium, internal walkways, one elevator so you walk a long way to the other side set up. The rooms are the same canned ES style. It's not bad - but it's not a great set up either. The room was tired. The furniture looked like it was ready to be replaced. The bathtub had no stopper.

The funny thing is that the staff were excellent. I was quite surprised that the hotel was as tired as it is given the quality of the front desk.

Overall it was a place to sleep for one night. The rooms were clean. I wouldn't refuse to stay here again. But I'd be more likely to return if they spent a little cash renovating.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This hotel was well kept up and the rooms were gorgeous. We were in a one bedroom suite and were pleasantly surprised by Aveda bath products, comfortable bed, and the cleanliness of everything. They offer a free shuttle to the airport which was the icing on the cake. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in Charlotte.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance before an early morning flight. I selected the hotel because of the price and proximity to the airport. We were pleasantly surprised by all of the extras that this hotel offered. Check in was a breeze, and Sarah at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel had complimentary apple cider in the lobby which was a perfect treat on the snowy night. The lobby was tastefully decorated and had a nice bar area. Our room was great-- on the eighth floor-- and was much bigger than I was expecting. It was two connecting rooms. The first room had a couch, flat screen TV and kitchenette. The second room had a king bed, desk area and another flat screen TV. The bathroom amenities were Aveda products. Everything in the room was very clean and felt new. We checked out the pool area and gym and everything seemed nice. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I stayed three nights for a business trip. The hotel is upscale in atmosphere with professional staff. My suite was extremely comfortable with a convenient layout of the rooms. The breakfast buffet has a good variety, but the quality of the food is just so-so. I found lots of good restaurants near the South Park Mall, just a short drive away, and the hotel is convenient to the airport and major highways.

The biggest complaint was that the public areas were very cold. I visited during an unusually cold spell in Charlotte, and the central tower arrangement of the hotel meant that cold air was sucked in through the front doors and stayed in the lobby, bar and restaurant areas. I had to bundle up - literally - every time I went downstairs. The business center was an ice box. Several guests complained, but it was still unheated the entire time I was there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeronprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Great hotel with very friendly front desk agents. They also act as a concierge and have driving directions and menus at hand. That was very convenient because they were able to point us to an excellent mall and dinning area called South Park.

I was very impressed with the room. For only $99 I felt like I was staying in very upscale hotel on a bargain price! The living room was very well furnished with a comfortable sofa and oversized desk and nice flat screen TV. There is also a small mini-bar area with microwave and refrigerator. Excellent location near the airport, but not too far from downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruz4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Generally a good property with a helpful staff...location is near the airport but not close to any real services (restaurants, shopping, etc). Seems like this was once an Embassy Suites given the room configuration. Furniture in the room should be updated...some of it was worn. Otherwise a pretty solid hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Eagle Lake
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel

Address: 2800 Coliseum Centre Dr, Charlotte, NC 28217-2394
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#24 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £80 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing