We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
Ranked #91 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I will never stay at this place again. Right from the start we had problems. Before even getting into our room we crossed paths with what looked like a dead person in the hallway, ended up just being drunk and passed out on the floor. After walking into the room, their was a pair of somebodies dirty underwear left from the maids on the ground, and some trash left on the table. Was supposed to be a non-smoking room, and it reeked of ciggarettes. Stains all over skirting on bed, carpet, and walls. Room felt damp and humid. Carpet looked liked it had never been cleaned since they built the place. When checking out, waited for 5-10 minutes before simply being given a receipt, lady and front desk was gone doing who knows what. Worst hotel ever, do not go here, plenty of other places right around the block.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fakebuttcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    124
    113
    87
    72
See reviews for
146
116
72
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I have to admit from the outside I was very impressed. Then once we went inside it showed more like a budget hotel. We just stopped through for 1 night during a long road trip. The first room they gave us wasn't cleaned so we had to drag all our stuff back to the front to get a new room...this seemed to confuse the front desk person and we had to explain that there was half eaten food and sheets thrown everywhere and yes we were sure it wasn't maid up.

We had a single and it was very small. It reminded me of a cruise ship room. It was basically 4 walls and a bed and the walls were all mirrors. Classy. The room was damp and mold smelling, but the a/c kept it cold. The TV was on the older side and was high up over the closet so it basically strained your neck looking up at it. The place was simple and had everything you can imagine to eat/drink/shop close by. I was also surprised that it only took about 10 minutes to be in the heart of downtown. Granted this was a holiday and the downtown traffic was at a shocking low.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank per4mance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed for a short business trip and had a comfortable stay. Everything worked well in the clean room but the rooms are pretty small. I would get cabin fever if I stayed more than a couple of days. Friendly staff. The breakfast was adequate with cereals, waffles and pastries available. An unruly mob formed when the coffee ran out for a few minutes. Plenty of parking area. Not much walking distance dining but there is a "Showmar's" restaurant next door. Apparently a lot of overnight truckers stay here judging by the number of trailerless trucks in the lot. Good value.

Room Tip: Try the Chili's or the Bikini bar 3/4 mi. away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I felt very safe and comfortable staying at Microtel Inn. It was very pleasant and quiet. Everyone was freindly and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable. I would recommend Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place to anyone.

Room Tip: Just click on to what you desire in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2010

That's it. Said it all. Pictures of fruit for breakfast--I even asked. Nope. Carpets were shampooed--they were actually wet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbutterfly1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Check-in was average. There was only 1 clerk so we had to wait til she finished with the previous guests before she checked us in but there was a guest who apparently had a problem with her check-in and came up a few minutes after us. The clerk tried to help both of us at the same time. Check-out on the other hand was disappointing. The same clerk, was cleaning the breakfast area AND on her cell phone, therefore, forcing another guest and I to wait at least 10 minutes before we were checked out. All I wanted was my receipt!!

The room needed to be updated. The carpet was dirty with stains, I made sure I kept my shoes on at all times because of this. The bathroom had cracked wallpaper and flooring. The water pressure was low. The room is was small and didn't have a microwave although every other Microtel I've stayed in had on in the room. The sheets and bedding were clean but I didn't like the fact that the 1990s comforter had a whole in it.

The hotel is located around other hotels as well as down the street from Wal-Mart, many fast food restaurants and my favorite, IKEA! It's in a busy part of the city.

I liked the lcoation of the hotel the best. I didn't like the condition of the room. This is based on the other 20 or so Microtels that I've had the pleasure of staying in.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luminouz_flame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My family and I recently traveled to Charlotte from NJ for a college graduation. Sadly, we booked the Microtel Inn on Sugar Creek Road. After making a fast exit, a relative lead us to your hotel. What a difference!! Your hotel was clean and very welcoming.

We were greeted by front desk employee Shanda and she was a true professional. We were lucky enough to get rooms with no reservation and she went out of her way to get us settled down after a long day of travel.

I would like to express our gratitude to this exceptional employee who is a true asset to your staff. My family would not hesitate to book rooms at your establishment for our next family visit to Charlotte

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Place
Hampton Inn University Place
#57 of 178 in Charlotte
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte-North/University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
Address: 132 McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing