We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Charlotte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Charlotte Hotel
Ranked #81 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We went to Charlotte for a little getaway, and decided on Sheraton becuase I got a company rate and I like staying with Starwood. The staff was wonderful, the young man that checked me in was very personable and seemed to actually enjoy his job. I'm sorry I can't rememebr the name but I am terrible at names, but he was tall with brown hair. The room was OK, we were in the back of the building overlooking the gravel roof of part of the building but it wasn't a huge deal since we wouldn't even be in the room much. Room service the next morning was nice, we had used the door hanger order form the night before so we could sleep until it was brought up, and it was brought on time and tasted great! My only complaint was the parking, I am sure there is a reason for charging $20, but it seemed a bit much for self-parking on the lot right next to the hotel. If the hotel would have been in the middle of downtown or had a parking garage I could see charging for it, but for it to just be the lot the hotel sits on, $20 is a bit pricey. I only really interacted with a few staff members but they all seemed to care about the guests and they were working hard to create a nice stay for guests despite the renovations. Did not get a chance to enjoy the pool but it looked very nice and had little tents on desk that I'm sure many visitors enjoy. All in all nice trip, but I would look at staying somewhere closer downtown if I went back again, especially if I am going to pay $20 parking anyways.

Room Tip: I would avoid the back rooms that overlook parking lot if room view matters. We did not care but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krissy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette B, Director of Frotn Office Operations at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,


Yvette Bullock
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    66
    75
    41
    39
See reviews for
28
44
6
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This is my first time staying at the Sheraton (I'm actually still here), and I'm not impressed. Upon arrival, the gentleman at check in was not very friendly. He just checked us in and gave use our room number and key. He did not explain amenities, tell us where the pool is or anything. When we got to our room, only 4 channels worked. They all said no signal. This morning we decided to make coffee. Starbucks! Yum! Unfortunately, it expired in 2013. We called down to the front desk for replacement coffee, and we are still waiting 30 minutes later. Also, once the sunlight came in this morning we noticed that the blanket on the bed is dirty and stained which makes me question the cleanliness of the entire room. I don't. I guess I expected more from the Sheraton hotel. Unfortunately, we are booked for 2 nights or we would be out of here. There are too many other hotels in this area to settle for the Sheraton. Don't stay here. Btw.... Done with this review, and still waiting for that coffee.... Maybe I'll get before this afternoon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LETISHA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette B, Director of Front Office Operations at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I would love to speak with you further about your experience. Can you please reach out to me at 704.626.3649 or at yvette.bullock@sheratoncharlottehotel.com. I look forward to connecting with you soon. Thanks and have an awesome day!

Warm regards,



Yvette Bullock
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte hotels

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great stay. It wasn't far from Uptown and the Airport. Parking was free. The service was great! The lobby was gorgeous. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was amazing! It was a great Host Hotel for the AKA Boule. I enjoyed my stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sherita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette B, Director of Front Office Operations at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,


Yvette Bullock
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arriving at the Shereton was awesome, my friend and I were greeted by the front desk Wayne. He was smiling and gave us some great places to go. Apparently they are under some construciton so there is a lot of noise and busy elevators. The pool was closed one day and no one actually knew when is was going to be opened again. Room service took over an hour to get a salad and cheese platter. One day I sat at the bar, it was around 1pm but there was only one server. After giving me water she left for 15 minutes and I never saw her again so I left.
The worst part was the shuttle service. I am here for medical reasons and I need to be at my appointments in the morning. I was aware of the free shuttle from 6am-9pm and made sure my appointments were around the time of the shuttle. I guess the shuttle only works on weekdays so they offered me the town car, after driving the whole 1.2 miles away he charged me $15. So the next day I made sure to get the shuttle. The driver drove me and was very kind. My next appointment was at the same time and at the same place. I go to the same driver and he informs me that he can't take me because he only goes "uptown" and he did me a favor. He would "lose business because of traffic."
I go to the front desk and she was very nice and called me a cab (after offering me the over priced town car) I informed her what was going on and she said she would have the manager call me. I never recived that phone call.

Overall the staff was very friendly and some what helpful but I wouldn't reccomend staying here. The food and beverages are over priced, they charge $10 a day for wifi and there is a lot of construstion going on.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was ALL about customer service. They are some of the nicest people I have encountered. This goes from maintenance and housekeeping to management.
The hotel is in the process of renovations but they are heading in the right direction.
The location is a little off the beaten path but you can still walk to downtown without too much trouble. I logged a few miles during my stay and was able to enjoy the Panthers stadium and some museums.
I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RandJAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette B, Director of Front Office Operations at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,


Yvette Bullock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Room 11119 Note: My husband would've given this hotel a lower review rating, he thinks I'm generous. Two Elevators were out of order but being worked on. Hallways are not AC so hot. King size room (preferred customer) was small and bathroom was small. No refrigerator in rooms, but they did have a hairdryer in the bathroom. Ice, drinks, snack room available. Outlets on desk are hard to find, but are on the edge of desk. Television worked fine. Air Temp was adjustable and good until around midnight, but it got hot after that until around 6am (woke up sweating at night). Beds are comfy and rooms clean though. Heard sirens all night (not hotel fault) but we were on the 11th floor, Our room was not finished (mirror against wall, unmounted), Shower has 1/2 plexiglass so the floor gets wet and had quite a step up to get into, slippery. Pool area nice, Exercise room OK and in progress. Note in room says "Don't have room service 1 day for your stay and get $5.00 off food" Damn, the one great thing about this place was the staff, very friendly, helpful and wanting you to have the best of everything that they can offer. The owners should capitalize on the service, it's the one thing about this hotel that makes it worth while. Food is expensive, $20.00 for breakfast in dining room (they did not have a buffet, just a menu) with tax and tip, but par for the course with a hotel with a restaurant. Most hotels in the area have a complimentary breakfast, but not this one. Did give water and lemonade in lobby. Rooms could use updating (pictures old and worn in rooms, new lobby drab grey and could use some color). Conference rooms were extremely cold. May be worth it to look around. My husband's conference was at this hotel and we didn't stay inside the room too much. Went out with our kids in the evenings. Charlotte is a great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look over the road I guess because you will be up all night with the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette B, Director of Front Office Operations at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I would love to have an opportunity to speak with you further about your experience. Can you please contact me at 704.626.3649 or through email at yvette.bullock@sheratoncharlottehotel.com. I look forward to connecting with you soon. Have an awesome day!


Best regards,



Yvette Bullock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is (or soon will be) two hotels. The Sheraton and the Le Meridian both of which were once the Brooke.

I stayed in what will be the LeMeridian tower and the rooms have all been completely redone and are very nice.

Check in was flawless with attentive front desk staff and a beautifully inviting lobby.

My only complaint was breakfast. Seating was fast, but the attention from the staff after taking your order was lax.

There seemed to be no "zones" and servers were working the entire room. I ran out of coffee three times with long waits before anyone came by to ask if I wanted a refill.

My tipping starts at 20% but it is difficult to justify this when the service is lacking. On the flip side if that, I cannot take it out in the server if the F and B manager has decided this is the way it should work.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Le Meridien Charlotte
Le Meridien Charlotte
#67 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Charlotte Hotel

Property: Sheraton Charlotte Hotel
Address: 555 S McDowell St, Charlotte, NC 28204-2605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Charlotte Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Charlotte Hotel is ideally located in uptown, near many dining, shopping, and entertainment options. Many attractions are within walking distance, such as the Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, the Panthers’ Bank of America Stadium, and the Bobcats’ Time Warner Arena. Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) can be reached in 15 minutes by car.Retreat to one of our 304 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, filled with everything you need for a comfortable home away from home. Stay connected with wireless High Speed Internet Access, and enjoy a blissful night’s rest in The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed.At the Link at Sheraton(SM) experienced with Microsoft® in our lobby, surf the web on our terminals or bring your laptop for complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access. Stay in shape at our Sheraton Fitness center, and relax in the outdoor pool, indoor pool, or hot tub.Start your day with a warm, hearty breakfast in our all-day dining restaurant. After a full day with family, friends, or colleagues, gather over a meal and refreshing drinks at Float, our poolside restaurant and bar.Whether you’re planning a convention, meeting, or social event, our team of professionals will be happy to help you tailor the perfect gathering. Our 35 function spaces, including five impressive ballrooms, offer state-of-the-art audiovisual technology and wireless High Speed Internet Access, making the Sheraton Charlotte Hotel the perfect place to bring everyone together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing