We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find some time to relax”

UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens
Ranked #42 of 175 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Find some time to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I don't got to school at UNCC but discovered the gardens because I was looking for something outdoorsy, safe, and active to do while I was visiting the area for work and looking for some true beauty in the middle of strip mall-landia. What a find and worth the effort to find and take the time to relax and enjoy the beauty of a simple walk on a hidden path in a busy campus!

Although many plants were not in season (I visited in January, most plants were in hibernation), the botanical gardensare designed as series of walking paths that capture natures essence from various perspectives. The effect is calming, relaxing, and purifying, regardless if you're a traveler searching out something different, or a student seeking solace, refuge, or even just a moment of calm in the midst of a hectic class schedule.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whaltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
412 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A wonderful little surprise - orchids in December!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I read about UNCC's botanical gardens & greenhouse - and were very pleased to find out that the greenhouse would be open during our recent vacation getaway over the holidays. We figured out the directions and drove to it on 12/29/12. Free weekend parking was right beside the greenhouse.

What a nice little surprise the greenhouse turned out to be! We toured all eight greenhouse rooms - and loved every second of it. The physical buildings are aged - and there is absolutely no frills attached ... but the plants and flowers do all of the talking!

Beautiful orchids in December - what a wonderful little surprise! And there were loads of assorted cacti, ferns, palms, and other beautiful plants. The "dinosaur room" held a collection of ancient plants - as well as a cool metal dinosaur creation.

The 8 rooms were all small and crowded with plants, but room after room was packed with intriguing things. For example, we found the cocoa tree fascinating - we don't believe we've ever seen one before. And they also have a very interesting Venus Flytrap collection.

There were a few people scattered around visiting, but we felt comfortable, private, and had all the time in the world to mosey around. There was no fee... and although a couple of workers were in the office, no one rushed us or bothered us. We didn't buy anything, but were pleased to see that they had many small potted plants for sale. All in all, we highly recommend this quiet, cozy, quaint escape!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice but could be great - still... you should go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

My sister came to visit and we wanted something to do that was relaxing and outside. We found the overall experience a positive one but found that the first couple of greenhouses to be in need of attention.
The trails outside were nice. We took lots of pictures.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great hidden gem...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The UNC Botanical Gardens really are beautiful, and I hardly ever see anyone there. There is a steep downhill to get to the main portion of the garden, but worth it to see the Japanese garden. Their collection of hydrangeas is breathtaking in June.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Schternli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Plants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

it is a joy to walk and enjoy the great plantings and variety of flowers, bushes and tress in the gardens

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank watching4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing