We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Cafe Monte

Cafe Monte
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Monte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 2,376 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Allen Tate Building at Phillips Place
Description: Cafe Monte is known for offering affordable, high quality French fare exquisitely prepared to order.Our classic French-country favorites, served all day, include fresh pastries, salads, sandwiches, quiches, and crepes. We also have a full breakfast menu.In addition, please enjoy our bistro service that features mussels, steak and pommes frites, rotisserie chicken, and other specialties served in a casual and comfortable European setting.Daily chef specials include fresh seafood and regional specialties from around the world. Cafe Monte is committed to using only the highest quality ingredients served fresh at an exceptional value for our customers. We make quality French food accessible to all. Bon Apetit!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant several times. We are never disappointed. Their pomme frites are so good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinson5366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    86
    31
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a wonderful "find" in South Charlotte”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Who would ever guess there would be a predominately French restaurant with decent prices? That's exactly what Café Monte has to offer. There's a great menu of all sorts of items. I had the vegetable crepes and it was a super choice. My wife had seafood crepes and it too was great. We were seated quickly and the waiter was super attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great Brunch Place!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a wonderful lunch at café monte, we ordered the a pizza and split and the humus and olive dish and split a bottle of Riesling wine from Germany for a decent price. This is a great lunch place to enjoy a conversation and to catch up with people. Can't wait to our next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch at Cafe Monte”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Had a wonderful lunch at Cafe Monte this afternoon. The food was absolutely delicious!!
I had Shrimp and Artichoke crepes which I would recommend. Can't wait until my next
visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
517 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

It had been about 18 months since my last visit to Cafe Monte....sadly I more than likely will not go back.

Quiche was good - not great by any means, same with mixed green salad. The crab cake sandwich also 'ok' not remarkable in any way. The side of french fries with the sandwich - quite good - served hot and crispy yet tender. Dessert was definitely the biggest disappointment...chocolate ganache with berries was ordered...the dessert served was dry and tough crust....oh and no berries. I realized on the way out that the wrong dessert was delivered - it was an expresso torte and not the ganache. Our waiter did reduce the dessert cost by 50% as 'some had been eaten.' after I provided some very honest feedback. Seems that a French bakery should 'shine' in the quiche and dessert categories.

Two large tables totaling 24 adults and children were directly behind us making conversation very difficult. It will be a very, very long time before I return to Cafe Monte. Hopefully, my experience was the exception and not the rule.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Monte also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing