We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff that goes above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Ranked #68 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely staff that goes above and beyond”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend with my boyfriend and could not have been more pleased. I am a hotel snob and had never heard of SpringHill Suites...I was pleasantly surprised! The space was clean and modern with more than enough room for two (very tall) people. Loved the "separate" living room and kitchen area, and was pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast - lots of choices!
I thought I would miss having an in house restaurant but honestly I didn't and was grateful not to have the insane room service bill at the end of our stay.

But the best thing about this hotel is the staff. I was hosting a surprise birthday dinner for the boyfriend and needed a place to put together the party favors that I had shipped down to Charlotte...all without him finding out. Bianca at the front desk was so helpful - when i asked if there was a private business center she generously offered use of the hotel office to coordinate the favors (and make a big mess - sorry Bianca!). She even found a local Party City so I could grab some balloons on the way to the restaurant. Both she and her colleagues were so friendly and accommodating, they made the entire stay feel very personal. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Stephanie D,

Thank you for your review via the TripAdvisor website. I will pass your kind words along to Bianca and also let her know how much you appreciated her help. If you are ever in the area again please don't hesitate to call us for your future lodging needs. We really appreciate your patronage.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    84
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
91
19
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed overnight here and was very pleased. The staff was very pleasant and upbeat from the front desk to the maintenance staff. They actually make eye contact with you and speak - even when just passing in the hallway. What a refreshing change. The room was comfortable and had plenty of space. I found the concept of the separate toilet area from the bath novel and well thought out. I greatly enjoyed being able to sit in the bar area and relax with a cocktail while waiting for colleagues to arrive.

The location is wonderful. It's convenient to everything and the freeway is "right there" so you can quickly get into downtown Charlotte or where ever else you might need to go. The staff is also very knowledgeable about dining in the area and has great recommendations if you are at a loss of where to go for a meal.

Aside from a somewhat disappointing breakfast (I found the egg discs and turkey sausage rubbery and inedible - thank goodness they also had cereal and yogurt), my only other comment would be an improvement on the room design. I was travelling with another person and while she was showering, I was trying to dry my hair in the toilet room. The mirrors were not large enough to be useful - one of the two mirrors needs to have about another 12 inches and it would be perfect. I should think that a second 12" mirror panel could be easily hung.

I would recommend this place to anybody. The rates are very reasonable, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the service is top notch. Just remember that you can always get breakfast somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WGSnaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear WGSnaffles,

Thank you for your feedback via the Tripadvisor website. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We always try to ensure that each guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us here at the SpringHill Suites Ballantyne. We thrive on great customer service and I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. On your next trip to the Charlotte area please consider the SpringHill Suites Ballantyne for your lodging needs.

Kindest Regards

Tyrekus Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked this hotel while wife and I attended the SES Christian Apologetics conference. Three days stay. Booked a king bed, but got a double queen. Did not complain, as we were tired after long driving trip. Hotel is away from the maddening crowd, quiet and near several restaurants. Room was large, nice desk, and sitting room. Clean and well kept. WIFI work well, although I had some issues establishing VPN connections. Toilet is separate room from shower, which was nice. Breakfast was adequate, hot and plenty to eat. They had a bar on site, but did not partake. Seemed friendly. Did not use fitness room or pool. Parking is good, off street and large. Access is a bit odd, but blame NCDOT not Marriott. No problems, loud guests, or the like. Not much interaction with staff, since all went swimmingly. Recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Hobnail,

I would like to take this oppourtunity to first thank you for your feedback via the Tripadvisor Website. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our property to all. We all know that word of mouth is all ways the best marketing for any business and I really appreciate your efforts when speaking with other potential guests. If you are ever in the Charlotte area again please let us accomodate your lodging needs.

Kindest Regards

Tyrekus Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

So, It was My First Visit to Charlotte, NC and we stayed here. It was quite a worthy choice for a hotel. It was a Very Modern Hotel in My Opinion. I noticed that there was a couch in the room and as well as a good Mini-Office area. It was strange to say the least that the room had two bathrooms. One had the toilet and small sink along with a sliding door that was Foggy Glass. The second bathroom had another sliding door with Foggy Glass and inside was the shower (again, a Glass Shower) and a larger sink.. The location of the television was a little weird to me because it was not in front of the bed, but off to the side between the "Mini-Office" and the beds. The only negative thing that I noticed was that there was no place to put the used towels to conserve them except one towel ring and there were 3 of us that went.
Other than that, the beds were Very Comfortable and even had a reading light off to the side. The Pool was really cool and the patio outside really helped. By The Way, thank the guy at the front desk, Kareem because he was very nice and understanding as well as his pizza place recommendation.

Room Tip: Best Rooms in the Top Floors, Floor 4 or 5. Facing toward The Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTLSTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Good Afternoon PTLSTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to render your feedback via the TripAdvisor Website. All feedback is welcomed and we use this feedback to help find ways to make our property better. I have thanked Karriem for his outstanding recommendations on your behalf and if you are ever in the area again I hope you will choose our location for your lodging needs.

Kindest Regards

Tyrekus Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would give this at least a 4 except for the way the bathroom is laid out in the room. The toilet and a small sink are behind one sliding door and the shower and vanity are behind another sliding door. Initially I thought this was neat. However, the sliding doors had no locks and the doors had opaque glass so when the light was turned on, it lit up the room. Not good in the middle of the night, especially when you have three kids who are light sleepers. AND the doors to the toilet and shower were right in front of the beds.

I would stay here alone, but I won't stay here with another person or my family again because of that set up. If you are okay with that, then the rest of the stay was good, but I personally won't be staying there again with anyone else along.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor away from elevators. Didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Tara H.

First let me take this oppourtunity to thank you for your feedback rendered on the TripAdvisor web-site. I appreciate your feedback and it will be used when addressing our team in any future projects. Once again, thank you for your feedback

Kindest Regards

Tyrekus Williams
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for a soccer tournament and had a great experience! Clean, comfortable and the staff were super nice. It was BUSY - and filled with kids, but staff never seemed to lose patience and were always smiling. In particular I would like to thank Ms. Bridgett - she helped us find space to host team dinner and her recommendation on restaurant was PERFECT!! I want to come back to this area for a getaway and this will definitely be our hotel of choice. There is an Earthfare right across the street for quick food options (lunch, etc) and other great shopping very close by!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSBinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear JSBinNC

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us during our busy soccer weekend. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was and enjoyable one. We look forward to serving you in the future and anytime you are in the area please feel free to contact us for your lodging accomodations. I really appreciate it when former guest mention specific employees because it gives us a chance to acknowledge them in our team meetings. Once again Thank you!!!

Kindest regards

Tyrekus Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent 2 nights during our recent trip to Charlotte. Our experience was mixed. The decor and setup was contemporary, which was very nice. Needless to say, being close to the Ballantyne area, location cannot be beat. Check-in/check-out did not take more than a few minutes. The separate shower stall and toilet was a good idea, but the tinted glass doors are a little awkward. I am not sure if it's the hotel's eco-friendly program or the fact that the housekeeping staff was very busy - they did not show up till 4 PM - when we'd just returned and needed to get some rest. The continental breakfast setup is just average. With a little more attention to details, this could be an excellent place to stay for the price range.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank History4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrekusWilliams, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear History4fun,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to render your feedback of your stay with us. I welcome all feedback. I will use your feedback when approaching our corporate staff as to changes to the decor of the shower doors. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and if we can be of any service to you in the near future please don't hesitate to call on us. Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Ballantyne Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte/Ballantyne
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
0.9 mi away
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area

Property: SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Address: 12325 Johnston Rd, Charlotte, NC 28277-3689
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#56 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing