We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, but otherwise a First Class experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #17 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed at the Charlotte Ritz-Carlton while in town for a concert at the Time-Warner Arena. The hotel is wonderful with all of the luxuries you would expect-first class linens and toiletries, excellent service, excellent food. Everyone from the doorman to the bartender was friendly and helpful. This property is relatively new and it shows. We had a Bose stereo system, a television hidden in the bathroom mirror, a huge soaking tub, espresso machine with pods, and complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries sent to our room on our last night.

My only complaint is the noise from the traffic and the dance clubs across the street. The throbbing sound of the music kept me awake until 1 a.m. The hotel sent a white noise machine to the room, but it wasn't much help. If you ask for a room off the street, your stay will be perfect.

Room Tip: Bs sure to ask for a room off the street. The noise is distruptive and worse on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mingo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

I love this hotel! We go to Charlotte quite often and always stay here. Without fail we book through the Amex platinum and have not been disappointed yet on the wonderfully oustanding room upgrade. Just entering the lobby of the hotel lowers one's stress level however. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Often there is a little gelato bar or snack and drink bar set up right as you enter the lobby. The rooms, suites, bathrooms have every detail you could possibly want. I use the very well equipped gym each time i am at the hotel. It is never crowded. I usually follow the workout with a massage. The spa is quite small but so very peaceful and accomodating. The low lit but often busy bar area downstairs gives you a vibrant welcoming feeling, and if you want a good meal just walk right into BLT. I always enjoy coming home to the Ritz Carlton Charlotte!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beau9542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Loved everything from the amazing artwork in the hotel to the service, rooms, and restaurants.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My wife and I stayed there recently on vacation. Absolutely beautiful hotel, with great amenities--I'd never seen a flat panel television built into the bathroom mirror before. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for nightlife (5 clubs are right across the street from the front door), and if you have business in the morning, the back side of the hotel is quiet---either way, the view is spectacular.

I must mention the staff; they were great, especially Christian Jacquier. Also, the restaurant downstairs, "BLT Steak," has really really good food--you'll be served warm popovers instead of bread, and you'll be glad you were. Finally, I've stayed a a fair number of Four Seasons and Ritz-Carltons, and this hotel has one of the best workout facilities I've used (it and the pool are on one of the upper floors).

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Getting an upgrade (AMEX Platinum) was my first surprise, and when I opened the door to see my (2) room suite.....ZOMG! Everything looked new and was pristine. First, there was the foyer with my tea and european coffee machine with an adjacent powder room with amazing hi-tech lighting. My living room area was full size with all the bells and whistle electronics, then the bedroom with Frette linens and more bells and whistle electronics. The bathroom was the size of a small bedroom, with giant soaking tub, and separate rain shower, and Bulgari bath amenities.

The hotel was amazingly modern with a wonderful restaurant, a great tapas/wine bar, fabulous spa and fitness center, pool area, and lovely lounge areas throughout. Customer service was outstanding as well, and I really liked the convenience of the Valet services. An extra surprise was the home-made ice cream served in the lobby each afternoon.

Overall, a perfect stay at this amazing hotel! I am looking forward to planning another trip in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask to see if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Without a doubt, a great hotel in the middle of downtown-probably the best in the city. Walk across the street to the epicenter for a late movie. Great service. Green hotel. Rooms very clean and well appointed. Can't go wrong here. Hotel less than 2 yrs old.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wetravelthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

No doubt this is one of the best hotels in Charlotte Uptown. Courteous staff; well-appointed and generously-sized rooms. Oversized work desk with power/ethernet/USB outlets and stationary items. I am extremely impressed with the in-room internet service - it's the fastest I've ever seen in a hotel, for a very reasonable $9.99 daily charge (for hotels this class).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xGaryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
181 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#9 of 180 in Charlotte
829 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 180 in Charlotte
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#52 of 180 in Charlotte
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £328 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing