We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View & A To-Die-For Bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #17 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My husband booked the Ritz for Valentine's Day in February 2011. We were welcomed with champagne and mini ice cream cones at check in. We stayed in standard deluxe room. It was very comfortable and the bathroom was to die for! Large tub, large separate shower gorgeous marble and a built into the mirror TV!

There is a large area in the lobby where we got drinks and apps -- all very good -- in a very comfortable setting.

And the view - WOW. Very nice view from our room of EpiCenter and Uptown Charlotte. I would stay again just to enjoy this view!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

As everyone else has indicated, the hotel is fantastic, easily the best in Charlotte. I only wish I had read the reviews and tips provided on this site by prior travelers. We had a weekend stay and problems with the throbbing base/noise from the nightclub across the street. The music finally stopped around 3 am. Ask for an even numbered room or an end room. Mine was directly across the street. The hotel staff acknowledged this was a frequent complaint and a noise cancellation system is apparently installed in the room, though we noticed no difference with it. Guest Services apologized but indicated they couldn't help us. I'm guessing the hotel was full.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an even numbered room or a room on either far end of the building, especially on w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My husband and I decided to get away last minute. We live in VA so we took the scenic drive to Charlotte and stayed at the Ritz. Upon arrival, our room was not ready, despite the 4:30 pm time. This and one other annoyance was my only reason for giving it four stars. While waiting for our room, we had a drink in the hotel bar. It's very modern, but at the same time cozy, thanks to the fire along the wall and nice seating. Finally making it to the room, I was disappointed to have an adjoining with some very loud (and having a seriously good time) ladies, which was my second reason for only four stars. However, it did not spoil the absolutely relaxing weekend that we had. We did not leave the hotel once during our three day stay. Dinner at BLT Steak is spectacular. The oysters were so good, I think of them often. The spa is superb; we each had two treatments divided by naps in our room, which was just lovely. Finally, the pool is not to be missed. It's enclosed rooftop and very luxurious with a fantastic view of the city. You can have delicious food and wine delivered to the pool anytime... it's just great. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbshellbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Although Pricey the lobby is nice and often has live music.Good drinks and nice staff. I have not stayed at the hotel overnight but Im sure its nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The wife and I stayed her for two nights just as a get-a-way for a couples retreat after some long work weeks to reconnect. I could not have chosen a better hotel and experience. We pulled up in hotel at 7pm and hotel bellmen greeted us. Hotel front desk staff a bit short handed only 1 rep on duty so we had to wait until he finished with check in ahead of us, about 5 min. They take care checking you in so we did not rush the other couple due because we wanted the same level of attention once we checked in.

The hotel lobby on a friday night is full due to a live jazz band we listened too and a very bizy social scene.

The room we were given was very well appointed, the king bid with a garden view "roof top garden only" no view at all. The bed was firm and comfortable, turn down service was good with guest name and treats on pillow.

Room was large enough for two, Bathroom was very nice, with built in TV inside of mirror, Large shower with great water pressure, but water takes a long time to heat up.

This is a Ritz Hotel, Rooms are not cheap. but you do feel pampered.

Pro: Location, Service, Location, Service, Bathroom, turn down service, Ice in room every night, Valet parking includes in/out all day, They have a recharge station in room that includes every type of adapter you need,

Cons: $$Valet Parking for Charlotte is a bit expensive, if you have a garden view you have no view, Bathroom toilet area has no fan,

Room Tip: Self parking directly across street for $10 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxavaaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed at the Charlotte Ritz-Carlton while in town for a concert at the Time-Warner Arena. The hotel is wonderful with all of the luxuries you would expect-first class linens and toiletries, excellent service, excellent food. Everyone from the doorman to the bartender was friendly and helpful. This property is relatively new and it shows. We had a Bose stereo system, a television hidden in the bathroom mirror, a huge soaking tub, espresso machine with pods, and complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries sent to our room on our last night.

My only complaint is the noise from the traffic and the dance clubs across the street. The throbbing sound of the music kept me awake until 1 a.m. The hotel sent a white noise machine to the room, but it wasn't much help. If you ask for a room off the street, your stay will be perfect.

Room Tip: Bs sure to ask for a room off the street. The noise is distruptive and worse on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mingo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I love this hotel! We go to Charlotte quite often and always stay here. Without fail we book through the Amex platinum and have not been disappointed yet on the wonderfully oustanding room upgrade. Just entering the lobby of the hotel lowers one's stress level however. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Often there is a little gelato bar or snack and drink bar set up right as you enter the lobby. The rooms, suites, bathrooms have every detail you could possibly want. I use the very well equipped gym each time i am at the hotel. It is never crowded. I usually follow the workout with a massage. The spa is quite small but so very peaceful and accomodating. The low lit but often busy bar area downstairs gives you a vibrant welcoming feeling, and if you want a good meal just walk right into BLT. I always enjoy coming home to the Ritz Carlton Charlotte!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beau9542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
157 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#8 of 180 in Charlotte
818 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#50 of 180 in Charlotte
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £346 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Expedia, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing