We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel but beware...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #18 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but beware...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have stayed at Ritz's all over the world and this is a very nice hotel. Terrific staff and a great location. The only real complaint we had was the noise. There are several restaurants across from the front of the hotel. We were on the 16th floor and didnt get any sleep until after 1:00am because of the noise. We talked to the front desk staff and they admitted it can be a problem. They did move us to the othe side of the hotel and it was very quiet; problem solved.

The rooms are very nice and large. The bathroom is terrific. Most of the staff is well trained and professional although there were a few exceptions. The workout facilities are fantastic. We would definately stay here next time we are in Charlotte.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden as the other side of the hotel is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    94
    36
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
204
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GlobalTraveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I travel most weeks (approx 100 hotel nights per year, mostly in Marriots and Westins). My client requested I use their preferred hotels with pre-negotiated rates. I have stayed at this Ritz a few times so was surprised when they turned me away at the desk - 7PM! They said they only honor the rate for actual employees, not consultants - even if they are on there on client business with verification.

I stayed at the Marriott 1/2 block away (also a nice property). Over the past 10 years and 1000+ hotel nights, I have only had a small handful of problems - most with Ritz Carltons. In my opinion, they have excellent service but are very inflexible if you have even a small issue.

NOTE - had it not been for the above experience, I give this property 4-stars based on prior stays at the same place. Nice, decent location for downtown, certainly Ritz standards for room quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Every dealing with the hotel from booking, to confirmation, throught my visit, lunch to checkout was exceptional. I stayed in the hotel on a girls weekend with my sister in law in march and was extremely pleased with the spa. Decided that my friends and I needed a little relaxation before turkey day- everything was exactly as I had hoped- clean, friendly and professional- I will be back from NJ soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Overall --- we can't wait to go back, but they had some big "boo boos" on our visit.

I want to give it a "6" in some areas and a "2" in others depending upon if I compare it to all hotels, or a higher standard of other Ritz properties. We've stayed at a few before on special occasions, and this was a 'date night' for us while the kids were with a babysitter.

[And for the record, I had some hotel vouchers that were going to expire, so this cost me a lot less than normal or we wouldn't have done it --- I'm too cheap!]

PRO
- love the location! Some reviews complained about it and the noise, but I would suggest to you that it's a super spot to be located, and with-in walking distance to "everything." We were only on the 3rd floor, and I agree that maybe it could have been loud had there been a major event at the Time-Warner Arena, but that's what you get in a big city!
- service rocks! The people were great, and I am going to go out of my way to thank them on the Ritz website too (thanks Mark, Ashley and Brooke, to name a few). I mentioned I was on the third floor, and when we called the valet for the car it was there before we could get down the elevator.
- food - Awesome as always. I so enjoy eating at a Ritz. Maybe it's my brain playing tricks on me, but everything just tastes better! Try the sweet potato fries appetizer in the bar, or the filet at BLT with the jalapeno mashed potatoes (didn't think we'd like it but we scraped the bowl). The popovers were interesting, too.
- you get what you pay for - I saw some reviews where people complained about the prices at a Ritz. We always know that going in, so just like going to the "best restautant in town" anywhere in the country --- don't expect to pay Burger King or Applebee's prices!

CON
- major no-no --- we opened the door and got a huge whiff of something nasty. It wasn't mold, and my wife thought maybe it was spilled (bad) perfume? In any event, we complained, they couldn't swap us to another room, so they offered an extra industrial cleaning. We were already heading down for dinner, so this wasn't a problem and we received some comps.
- not a huge deal, but they skipped our turn-down service, which is always nice to come back to after a night out. I called and they fixed it immediately.
- there were two significant errors on our bill at check out. Again, it was fixed immediately, but still!? I don't have that problem at the Courtyard Marriott or Doubletree, etc.


Again, overall we can't wait to go back, but they had some big "boo boos" on our visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berentski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with incredible staff I stayed with a large group and they could not have been any nicer. If in Charlotte come stay here. The highlight to me was to only its location but the gym. An incredible gym facility. Stay here when visiting Charlotte.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hugo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogunquit, Maine
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

We travel a lot and in our opinion this was our favorite place to stay of all time. We got a parlor suite, at around $600 a night, however you get what you pay for!! The rooms are a great size, master bath very nice. The bed, sheets, pillows first class all the way...best night sleep in a hotel ever. Will probably start using the Ritz for our hotel rooms now, because of this experience
Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelinaogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

While on business in the Charlotte area my husband and I stayed at this hotel, We took the advice of others on Trip Advisor and requested a room on a high floor and away from the street, as the Epi Center can be noisy. We were on the 12th floor in the back of the hotel ( Room 1210) and it was as quiet as can be. We used the couresy driver's service to take us to a breakfast spot (The Original Pancake House...YUM!!) This hotel is great. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The room was spotless, and the bathroom is spectacular in size!! I loved the soaking tub and the television hidden in the bathroom mirror. The cost to lodge here is pricey but as with aything else, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor and NOT in the front. The Epi Center is across the street and can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seascape500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Address: 201 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing