We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average for Downtown Charlotte”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #16 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My overall stay was very good. I was in Charlotte on a business trip, and the accommodations were great for both working and relaxing. The only negative was that arrived late in the day and the only room available was handicap accessible...not my favorite. However, the next day, they were able to move me and I thoroughly enjoyed the rest of my stay. The in-room desk was great, the king size bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on a higher floor. This is across from the Charlotte Epicenter and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariadnhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton on business several times now, and the hotel is excellent. The rooms are fantastic, with a television built into the mirror. The swimming pool and hot tub are to die for, with fantastic views of the city at night. My only negative is that the queen rooms are all adjoining. While I stay in a king room while I am there, when I traveled there with my family, the queen room was not laid out in the same efficient way as the king room. It seemed smaller, and crowded, and I kept the coffeemaker on the floor in order to make my coffee in the morning. In the King Room, there is a cabinet that the coffeemaker sits on, making it quite efficient and easy. In August when I traveled on business with my family, there were a few glitches. The room did not have a hair dryer in it, and partway through the day, the room lost power. In both cases, the issue was corrected as soon as possible, and it did not impact anything that my family wanted to do.
I still gave the Ritz-Carlton a 5 star rating, because even though in the queen room there are some slight inconveniences, the overall experience is still tremendous. And because I have stayed often on business, when I check in, they greet me as if I were "coming home" and that is a wonderful feeling when you are traveling and away from your family for a week.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upper floor so I can have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunMarathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on businesses twice this year and was able to take advantage of the corporate rate, so I cannot speak to the value of this hotel but I can say that my stay was wonderful and I didn't want to leave!
The room had a wonderful king bed with comfy sheets and pillows. There is plenty of storage for clothing with two big closets. The TV is large, my only suggestion is to have more channels available- no AMC on a Sunday night was disappointing! The bathroom is immaculate- a TV is embedded in the mirror and the large soaking tub is heaven. Asprey products are provided and are also available for purchase at the spa upstairs. The elevators are generously marked and there was easy access to Founders Hall. I don't recommend that wine bar the Urban Sip unless you are nearing retirement and independently wealthy. That seemed to be the crowd on a Thursday night. There's a lot happening uptown anyway.
Overall, great stay, wonderful attentive staff. Wish I had more business in Charlotte to justify another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cagiorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

As nice as the rooms, decor, and layout are, in my two recent stays it is the service attitude and execution that stands out! While some things (breakfast as an example) can be expensive you do get a world class experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88BA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel is excellent. clean, neat, trendy, new feel, excellent service, great internal restaurants, work out facility is tremendous with every workout equipment you can think of to include classes and an awesome 360 view of the city, spa is full service and best I have ever seen(according to wife) with dynamic facilities. Swimming pool and hot tube have an incredible view and is great place to go 24 hours a day, after a spa treatment, to have a meal that can be delivered, sun bath or simply relax. We stayed in a suite that had excellent bathroom shower and spa tub, double sinks, separate toilet stall closet space, large flat screen tv's and incredible 360 view. they provided a bottle of champagne and no ordinary anniversary cake to our room, which was a major surprise since we only vaguely mentioned that it was our anniversary weekend but out focus was dropping our daughter off at college. only downside was the noise from the street, bands and night life were in full swing each evening but eventually died down around 2am. Even the noise was not that significant but i would recommend getting a room to the back of the hotel. I definitely intend to stay in the future anytime I am in Charlotte or near a Ritz Hotel.

Room Tip: ask to stay towards back of hotel due to night life, I would definitely recommend a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnAH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Checked in this afternoon for a one night anniversary stay. Front desk staff upgraded us (gratis) to an Executive suite...1000 sq ft. Of loveliness. Room service accidentally knocked on our door mid afternoon looking to deliver a snack to another guest. After a gazillion apologies, they returned 30 minutes later with a bottle of wine and a cheese tray to further Mak amends. Again, on the house. The rates are not cheap, but the Ritz Charlotte is a wonderful example of you get what you pay for!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Ritz Carlton Does an amazing job with customer service and luxury. They truly get it and it is seen everywhere in this hotel. The service is impeccable. The staff greet you by your name and personalize your visit. The rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and clean. Luxury at its finest! The hotel is centrally located and very comfortable to walk around the city of Charlotte. You may pay extra but it's well worth the Cost. Can't wait to go back again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeffriesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
156 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#8 of 180 in Charlotte
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#50 of 180 in Charlotte
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £353 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing