We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlotte's Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #12 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charlotte's Best Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Incredible. It's everything you expect from a Ritz Carlton property and then some. Top notch service, a macaroon bar, amazing spa and incredible food everywhere! The beds are wonderful and the robes swallow you up and beg you to stay a while. Hand's down the best hotel in the region.

Room Tip: Ask for a Queen's view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBaileyDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear JBaileyDesigns,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property with the TripAdvisor Community! I am thrilled you enjoyed the amenities and services. We strive to be your "home away from home" when traveling and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
David Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    103
    40
    28
    16
See reviews for
116
230
38
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived and they did not have my reservation but they did have rooms and quickly got me to a very nice quiet room. Rooms are well appointed, clean, and large. The bathroom very large with both a large tub and a separate walk in shower. Order room service and the dinner was just terrible. The crab cakes tasted like the crab was old and smelled fishy. The brussels spouts had juices that I could not identify but tasted fake. The onion soup tasted out of a box. The only good was the filet. Cooked perfectly and seasoned nicely. I did order breakfast and that was pretty standard. The room service was fast and the delivery folks were extremely nice. In fact all personnel were very service oriented. I would stay here again but not order room service for dinner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It just doesn't get any better than this in Charlotte. We were residents there until very recently and stayed a few times for special occasions and a couple of times when our power went out. It's a classic cosmopolitan Ritz yet when I brought my young children in wearing pjs and clutching stuffed animals the staff kicked it into high gear. They brought out the toy wagon and engaged so well with them that they forgot all about the scary storm that had knocked out the lights at home. MANY THANKS! In addition, they upgraded us to an enormous suite just as I was at my wits end with the kids - couldn't have come at a better time!! The valet and front desk staff are top notch and BLT serves a sinfully delicious filet. Also need to mention the spa which I utilized as part of a baby shower and girls day out - not doubt the best in town. Charlotte is lucky to have this hotel at it's city's center!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momtravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I stayed during a business trip last week. The Ritz is a lovely hotel located near the central business district of Charlotte. The king bed in our deluxe room was so comfortable. The large marble bath has separate bath and shower. Loved the TV in the mirror which was nice while I was getting ready. We did not dine in the hotel except for room service for breakfast. I have never had food delivered so promptly and the omelet was hot and delicious. The hotel does have BLT restaurant which I love, but our group had planned a dinner meeting at a local restaurant. We did have wine in the Urban Sip Wine and Scotch bar located on the 15th floor. Great wine by the glass while enjoying the view. The hotel staff is friendly and professional and they address you by name. Our baggage was delivered to our room promptly and our car was ready upon our departure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you want a special night out with your loved one or looking for top of the line stay at the Ritz . I booked for my fiancee's Birthday and upon on arrival they gave us champagne at the door which was nice. They upgraded me to the executive suite since i am a platinum member which was very spacious and great views on the 15th floor. Make sure you check out the pool with the nice views of charlotte skyline. As for noise there wasn't much noise that we heard but note this hotel is located in the City so there is a greater chance for it . It convient because its located in the heart of the city and plenty of places to eat within walking .

The concierge was nice and very helpful in making her birthday very special and sent up a bottle of Champange and a small cake for her birthday .

The bed was amazing and comfy.

Live music in the lounge on weekends first come first serve and Bar cocoa is a must try .

Room Tip: Executive room can sleep up to 4 because it has a couch with a pull out bed. Urban sip is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you don't mind blaring music, this is a good hotel. Otherwise look elsewhere. Extreme music across the street. Called the front desk and they said they would call someone about it. That was a bunch of blah blah blah. Also arrived with fingernail in the bed. Nasty. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stussy5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I stay here several times a year. Lovely hotel in the round, but this time my visit was less than great.

Problems included laundry going missing, then turning up damaged, and then being lost.

Breakfast here is very nice, but today I could not get anyone to give me some coffee, despite three staff standing chatting twenty feet from me. As I tried to get their attention, I noticed one of them repeatedly wiping her nose on her hand, then her hand on her shirt. Yeuch!

Rooms still lovely, and bathrooms spectacular, but there are some problems with customer service that I can't ignore.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
2,033 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,527 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing