We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay, the legend stands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #18 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, the legend stands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I can't say enough about the amenities staying here. Everything from the soaking tub to the Illy espresso machine, it was all excellent. The room was not the biggest room I've stayed in, but it was arranged in such a way that it had a large feeling. The desk was comfortable and the closets spacious. The best experience of all was the wall art. I took the opportunity to peruse the fine art hanging throughout the hotel. Even the room key had one of the wall hangings printed on the front; nice touch, by the way. The lobby is more lively than most hotels I've stayed at. However, since the hotel is connected to the space adjacent to Founder's Hall, one can find ample quiet places to sit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear mattpenna,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of our property. The artwork is one of my favorite experiences at the hotel and I am thrilled you enjoyed the over 750 pieces located throughout the property.

We strive to be your "home away from home" when travelling and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

David Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    92
    33
    24
    16
See reviews for
100
201
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The receptionist named Mark made us feel at home , he answer all the questions and suggested great places to dine and was extremely helpful , we did not need to get out of the hotel, the swiming por area and service were great as well , we had room service and the executive suite was perfect including the view of the city , will definitely be back to stay !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pacophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

In spite of a hair in the sink and thick dust on top of coffee machine, the services from the front desk and a pastry chef were superb and personal. I wanted to buy a cake for my brother, the pastry chef came up to explain the options of sweets which would survive hours of travel and suggested her favorite macarons before the opening hours of the store, Bar CoCoa.
They exceeded my expectation even further than I would ask for.
And illy espresso machine & cookies in the room and a table with full of complimentary pastries and coffee in the lobby in the morning were plus. If you drive a hybrid or an electric car, valet parking is free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Saturday night Jazz band playing in the bar area (5th and York) were outstanding. The decor of the bar and lounge area was just awesome. Even the restrooms are to die for. The couples dancing to the music was a very nice thing to see. The crowd seemed to really enjoy the bar, band, and boozes. It was a great time all around for our party of 4. We are looking forward to this experience again real soon. Cocoa, the dessert bar looked good. Its location is great right off the revolving door entrance. The low outdoor seating on the side of the building is a nice touch for people watching. The Epicentre is located right across the street. There's a lot to do in that area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We planned a long weekend for the Fourth in NYC, and when we arrived in Charlotte our flight to LaGuardia was cancelled. After long lines in baggage claim and the rental car agency at the airport, I was so exhausted and defeated, I just wanted to drive back 3 hours to our home in Charleston. My husband suggested we stay the night and relax. He found this Ritz online and we drove there to check it out. They offered a great rate considering the brand, so we jumped on it. From the moment we stepped out of the car, we felt totally taken care of. Every single employee we encountered was friendly and accomodating. We retired to our beautiful guest suite with his and hers closets and bathrooms, and after about 10 minutes, called down to keep the room through the weekend. This hotel is in a great location, has a genuinely friendly staff, beautiful rooms, a top floor large gym and indoor pool and hot tub, the list goes on and on. There is a great farm to table restaurant next door called Rooster you need to check out and the Cocoa Bar has the BEST cookies so snag one on your way back up to the hotel room after dinner. The room service breakfast was delicious too - try the house made granola and chicken apple sausage. From the concierge, to the front desk manager and staff, to the bellmen, to the bartender, to the housekeeper, to the in-room dining staff - I applaud the manager of this hotel. He's got a crew that appears to be enthusiatic about their career path, the hotel clientele, and each other. We are going back for a long weekend in the fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite, the hotel was dead b/c of the Holiday weekend. I will stay in this same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy29492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCCharlotte, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear stacy29492,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your travel plans did not go as expected but thrilled that we helped turn your "vacation disaster" into an unexpected escape.

We strive to be your "home away from home" when travelling and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the Fall!

Sincerely,

David Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience-- two families, staying one night. Our room was spacious and well appointed, and everything worked the way it was supposed to. Jesse and Marc at the concierge desk spent a great deal of time helping us figure out how to make the most of our stay in Charlotte, and their advice was perfect every time. The treats in the lobby were a nice plus, and everyone else who helped us, from housekeeping, parking, and the front desk, was professional and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel over the weekend with some friends. The rooms are well appointed, and the bathrooms are luxurious. We walked to dinner and went out for drinks after. The hotel is very close to a busy restaurant/bar area called The Epicenter. When we got back to the hotel, there was security at the door. It was nice to know they were monitoring who was entering the hotel that late at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Darci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Address: 201 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing