We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful weekend in Charlotte, NC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Ranked #43 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful weekend in Charlotte, NC”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I spent a delightful weekend in Charlotte. I came on business but decided to stay the weekend to see what the city had to offer. The hotel was very trendy and hip. I felt like I was staying somewhere in NYC or LA. The vibe was electric and the XYZ lounge was very relaxing. The rooms were spacious and spreadout. The service was first in class and everyone was extremely helpful and nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to break out of the typical hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Hi there David R!

Thanks for deciding to extend your stay in Charlotte and stay with us!
We are very happy that you enjoyed the ambience and the service that the talent provide at the Aloft Ballantyne. We are ready to welcome you back anytime!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    105
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
107
59
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

There are no surprises at any Alofts I have stayed at. For the price it is a solid hotel chain with a good fitness center and room amenities that are good. Only issue I always have is that the ironing board is a "junior" & for a business traveler looking to press a suit/shirts it is a pain in the butt

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCALcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Good day SoCALcanuck,

Thanks for your review of our Aloft, we appreciate your feedback! Just a quick note - we do have full size ironing boards on request and would be happy to provide you with one. Unfortunately with the layout of the lofts we cannot fit them in the closet. We look to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

In town for a few nights and really enjoyed the hotel. They try a little too hard to be hip, but its better than being boring. Nice rooms, friendly staff. Would stay again when in town.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Well hello there Tarynpeter

Thanks for you review of our Aloft and appreciating that we are trying to shake up the staid select serve hotel market with our fresh approach to a hotel stay. I could not agree more, that is better, to try to be cool rather than boring! Hopefully you will stop by and stay with us again sometime

All the best

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I came into Charlotte for business and stayed at the Aloft Ballantyne. It was a great decision. The hotel provides all of the things you could want for a business stay: clean, comfortable, plenty of plugs/connections, late night snacks and drinks if needed.

I did not try room service, the gym, or restaurants, but the atmosphere upon arrival was really nice with a cool bar with a lot of people hanging around. The front-desk staff was also extremely friendly and helpful with anything we needed.

As a note, this is about a half an hour from downtown, so I would be aware of that if you want to be close. Even so, I would definitely stay here again if I have to come back to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houselightsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hi there houselightsdown

Thanks so much for your review of our Aloft. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I am also very happy that you liked the vibe of the hotel and service you received from our talent members. we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Charlotte area

Live Life Aloft!

Alastair jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I've never stayed in a nicer, hipper hotel than this. They had live music at night and it truly made my time away from home (on business) great! Thank you to the staff (especially the Bartender Matt) for taking great care of us!

Room Tip: I had a pool view and LOVED it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingoutofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hey there traveling out of NC

What an awesome review! I think it is great you enjoyed our live music at the wxyz lounge and that Matt and the rest of the talent took great care of you. we look forward to seeing you next time around.

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was my first time staying at an Aloft property and I was fairly impressed.

I really liked the fact that the room lights were operated by the key card when you entered the room. I also liked the unique open layout of the room and the fact it came with a refrigerator and Bliss amenities. The free wireless Internet and parking were also a huge bonus. The hotel is nearby many shopping and dining choices, which is great considering the property is not in downtown Charlotte.

A few suggestions: I wish there was more seating. Other than the desk chair, the only other place to sit was the bed. There was a nice seating area in front of the television, but it is not able to be used when watching the television. Rooms with bath tubs would also be nice. I also wish that the pool was larger at the property and that there were more dining choices within the hotel itself. The food sold there seems to be more of the grab-and-go variety.

The music in the common areas and elevators were also a bit too loud for my tastes.

Note that this hotel is especially geared to a particular group of people - the music and common areas suggest that the hotel is geared more toward the younger demographic of those in their 20s and early 30s. While I enjoyed my stay, someone used to more traditional properties may not enjoy the brand as much.

Room Tip: Depending on your phone service, you may have to request rooms in a certain section of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sluzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Hi there sluzby

Thanks for your review of our Aloft and trying us out for the first time!
You are correct in assuming that we have been introduced to shake up the select service hotel market with some fresh, modern and new ideas. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects and I appreciate your feedback on others. You won't find a tub at any Aloft and we are definitely geared to towards the younger demographic with our louder music and funky decor with the grab n go food options. We do have a complimentary shuttle that will take you to any of 40 dining options within a one mile radius and we also have an outside company that delivers room service in the evenings as well. Thanks again for giving us a try and hopefully you will try another Aloft soon!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pa.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was our first stay at the Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne but it won't be our last. Our room had a lovely view of the golf course and the Ballantyne Hotel and we were on the top floor ~ as requested ~ thanks to the wonderful manager. We really love that they are "green minded" ~ smart choices and is so appreciated by all of us. Very sleek and modern from the moment you walk in the door ~ the staff was very professional and polite and helpful. The location was perfect for us. Our one regret is that with our schedule, we couldn't take advantage of the great bar ~ maybe next time!! Keep up the good work Aloft!!!!

Room Tip: We always try to get a top floor because of overhead noise from other rooms but we don't know if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Hi Butterflyjo!

Thanks for your review! We really appreciate your feedback. Glad you like our green concept and that the talent took care of you. Next time you definitely have to stop by the wxyz bar and lounge! No issue at our hotel with noise between floors as we are a concrete building :)

See you next time you are in town

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte/Ballantyne
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
0.2 mi away
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#7 of 178 in Charlotte
795 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Property: Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Address: 13139 Ballantyne Corporate Pl, Charlotte, NC 28277-2840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel, set along the grassy greens of The Golf Club at Ballantyne in an upscale lifestyle community, and in the heart of Ballantyne Corporate Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing