We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit "out of the way" but nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit "out of the way" but nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had to stay here instead of my usual place at the Westin Charlotte due to a convention being in town, and all the downtown hotels being sold out. This is a newer property, and while it is a bit out of the way ($55 cab ride from airport), it was a very pleasant experience. Rooms were a good size, and the furnishings and decorations are a bit eclectic, but not too over the top. Breakfast was self-service, but they had a decent variety. Service was very good - the front desk attendant even helped me staple some presentations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hegartnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Hi hegartnw

I wanted to thank you for your review of our Aloft. i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    103
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
102
58
31
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

While in Charlotte-South for a soccer tournament over the weekend, we stayed at the Ballantyne Aloft and were thoroughly impressed! Hugh offered us a warm and friendly greeting upon our arrival and made us feel excited about being there. He was also very helpful the second night when we were seeking restaurant recommendations. The rooms were clean and well-kept and offered all the amenities a familily of 2+2 were in need of (plenty outlets to charge electronics!)... the boys really enjoyed the fresh, contemporary design of the Aloft (even riding the elevators was fun!) Thanks to the whole staff for taking care of us, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hi there Tim B!

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on our Aloft.
I am very happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that Hugh stood out for you.
I will be sure to commend him on a job well done!
Hopefully you will be back for another soccer tournament or weekend getaway soon!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I just left the aloft in Ballantyne. I regularly stay here time and time again when I am travelling for work. The location is fantastic and the facility is always immaculate and stylish. What really makes this hotel is the people. They are that living manifestation of what every hotel regardless of size, price and brand strives for. Everyone is so willing to help and be involved that it appears they will do everything, roles don't define the people working at this hotel.

On my most recent trip, I forgot three expensive neck ties in my room and didn't discover this until arriving home many miles away. I called and the Manager Mina immediately sought to understand the situation and investigate. He was professional, thorough and detailed. Confirmed the plan and how to reach me. I received a call back very quickly and he individually identified each of the three tie to confirm that all had been found. He worked with me to understand my needs and priorities and had these shipped back to me appropriately. It's easy to see why he is the Manager.

Recovering these ties is a perfect example of the type of people and service that the hotel offers. I've had other hotels costing 5 times more a night in the biggest cities that were unable or unwilling to help. This really makes the aloft in Ballantyne world class.

Thank you aloft Ballantyne for reinforcing all my existing reasons for making this the only choice when I come to Charlotte.

Additionally, went swimming for the first time after many visits here and it's great that I can swim up to 1:00 a.m. after a long working day. I would stay here at this hotel and enjoy it even more if I weren't working. The Bartender is a great Guy, everyone likes him.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms I've stayed on different floors and in double and king bed rooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Richard W!

Thanks for the great comments. We appreciate you taking the time to commend our team!
I will be sure to pass your comments along to Mina and Matt the bartender!. We look forward to seeing you next time around.

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Aloft in Ballantyne over the Christmas holidays. We were accompanied by our little rescue dog, Bandit.

The hotel is spotless, the staff incredibly courteous and the amenities everything a person would want. Of special note were Mr. Mina Banoub, the guest services manager, and his assistant Emily, both extraordinarily attentive, caring and knowledgeable.

Access to the Aloft is as easy as it gets and there are a huge number of restaurants and shops all within a minute or two if the hotel. If you need to go into The city (Charlotte) it is a 10 minute drive on the interstate.

Whether or not you are in town for business or pleasure the Aloft at Ballentyne is the place to stay.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Hi Ron A

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our Aloft. I will definitely be passing on your comments to Mina and Emily. As the General Manager it makes me happy to hear that you were well taken care of in all facets of your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Aloft while visiting family over the Holidays. I was greeted warmly by staff and check-in was efficient and easy. The hotel decor is euro techno style with energy efficient lighting. The room was small but very clean and quiet. I liked the food offerings in the quick-to-go food court. Not your usual grocery store muffins. There was a wide variety of crafted muffins, Chobani yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. The heated pool was great and the bar service was excellent. I plan to try other Aloft locations in North Carolina.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hi there guv11

I hope you had a Merry Christmas with us, and enjoy a prosperous New Year!
I wanted to thank you for your review and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you visit with us again

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. The room was clean and efficiently organized and appointed. We did feel somewhat claustrophobic as the room was on the small side and there is a lot in it. It felt very cold (not temperature) and sort of clinical. The mattress was firm and pleasant. The bathroom was clean and the towels were nice and large. We did not like the shampoo/bath gel in large dispensers in the shower although we do understand the concept behind it. The hall noise woke us up 2x during the night so if you are a light sleeper and there are boisterous neighbors, that could be an issue for you. We did not eat there although there is food available (not a restaurant) for purchase.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopymaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hi snoopymaryland

Thanks for your review and comments, we appreciate your feedback about our Aloft. i would like to apologise about the hallway noise from our other guests. We unfortunately cannot control this but we are looking at ways to try and dampen any noise that comes from the hallways into the rooms. We hope you will come back and give us another try next time you are in town.

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

So, I visited Charlotte again and decided to stay at ALoft...the second visit was just as good as the first if not a little better. From check-in to check-out, I couldn't ask for a better hotel visit. The check-in ladies (Ms. Beard) were friendly, the room comfortable, the bartender, Matt, amazing, check-out was quick and simple...thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: Pick a HC room...it's HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingoutofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajones13, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Hi TravelingoutofNC,

Thanks for your second fantastic review of our Aloft!
i am glad that we have been able to stay consistent between your stays. Thanks for recognizing Alex and Matt, I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.
We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers

Alastair Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Property: Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Address: 13139 Ballantyne Corporate Pl, Charlotte, NC 28277-2840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel, set along the grassy greens of The Golf Club at Ballantyne in an upscale lifestyle community, and in the heart of Ballantyne Corporate Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing