We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Ranked #42 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love the concept”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I'm becoming more and more of a fan of hotels like the Aloft. They focus on providing the necessities in an attractive, functional, yet comfortable way.

Besides the efficiency, we chose the Aloft because they allowed pets and we were in the middle of a road trip down with our dog. Due to weather and traffic, we arrived 3 hours later than expected. We called the hotel and the desk clerk was nice and helpful and let us know they would have a room ready for us.

We ended up arriving at 2am. The service couldn't have been better. They hey handled the check-in efficiently and got me to my room quickly.

Here is where my only complaint lies... we noticed the dog kept sniffing under the bed. We looked under the bed and found a half-eaten sandwich in a plastic container. Normally I would have complained, but we were too tired and the sandwich was in a container versus just tossed under the bed. Still, a let down and dark spot on an otherwise nice stay.

In the end, I'm happy with the stay. The people were great and the service was great. I am disappointed in the room cleanliness and that's what keeps them from the "5 dot" rating they would have otherwise deserved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldub1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear eldub1999,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your furry friend during your stay and that our staff met your needs. We greatly apologize for the cleanliness of your room as we take this extremely seriously and it does not meet our high cleanliness standards. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our refresh team is aware and working to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    105
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
107
59
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We found this hotel to be noisy with people yelling during the night and dogs barking day and night. Bedding was uncomfortable with a
stiff comforter and overstuffed pillows. Lighting in the room was weird.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Studioc,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay and thank you for the feedback regarding the bedding. While we are a pet friendly hotel, we will make a notation for your return stay to be placed on a pet free floor. We also have different pillow options so please contact us directly before your next stay so we can change them all to your preference. We hope that you will give Aloft another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The service I was given! the beautiful rooms! and the help was second to none! Karla Pietras is such an amazing Manager and helped with getting the group discount for our families coming in from WI, FL, & Dominican Republic, for the surprise proposal, the Bridal Shower providing us with the "tactical room" and then for the Wedding a few months later was so amazing!! We cannot thank her and her staff enough for the help and commitment to deliver what they promised!!!! Being with us, helping from day one makes us feel like she is part of the family! Karla we thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

Love Luis & Lindsey Perez!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Luis P,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are thrilled that we were a part of such a special occasion. Thank you for your feedback and it is great to know that the staff and Karla exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and have stayed at another Aloft property as well. The cool modern feeling is really different from your typical chains. The service was outstanding and the stay was very pleasant. It's extremely convenient - tons of places to eat nearby. The room was extra clean and I like their sustainability focus (you can trade housekeeping for a $5 food voucher per day).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear flynnc,

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are a delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for taking part in the Make A Green Choice program and helping us meet our “green” goals. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

First stay at a an Aloft and it was great. Clean, great atmosphere and located in an area with plenty to do. About a 15 minute drive from down town. Staff was very friendly and informative. Def will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Tara M,

It is always great to hear that a first time Aloft guest enjoyed their stay! We hope to see you again, not only at our property but at other Aloft Hotels around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights here while attending a conference. The service was very good and the room was very clean, however the King room was quite small and very bland. The walls were battleship gray and the wall behind the TV was charcoal. No pictures or wall designs. Very Furniture is very cheap; one plastic chair in the room to sit in. Everything is alacarte. there is a pantry that you can buy food items for breakfast. Not included with room.

Room Tip: While I really like Sheraton and Westin, I will not stay in the Aloft chain again.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great idea to have the key in energy slot by the door.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear cindy r,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to know that service and cleanliness met your needs. We understand that our design does not appeal to everyone and appreciate your feedback. We can only improve by receiving feedback from our guests! We do hope that you give Aloft another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Ballantyne Aloft is one of our favorite properties. The over-all area is great and it's located near a restaurant (Firebirds) that we always enjoy. Past visits to this property were always excellent. This trip we had a few issues: the room had a bit of a smell to it and the shades (they pull down) didn't fully cover the windows. We got some extra towels to put on the bottom of the windows for privacy but ended up moving to another room due to the smell. We've never experienced this at this Aloft in the past. The staff was very responsive and addressed all of our concerns and the manager followed-up after our stay but the property is clearly getting a bit of age to it and, we hope, doesn't got down hill. We will definitely stay here again (though we are starting to have serious problems with the brand as a whole). Again, we DO recommend this property and everything else was great.

Room Tip: We've not had issues anyplace in the hotel and have stayed on all three sides where rooms are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwhitmarsh01, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear UncleKeith,
Thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback. We apologize that your most recent stay was not on par with previous visits to our property. We have addressed the issues mentioned to ensure the Loft utilized during your visit is in full working order. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything we can do to assist with your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte/Ballantyne
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
0.2 mi away
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#7 of 178 in Charlotte
797 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Property: Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Address: 13139 Ballantyne Corporate Pl, Charlotte, NC 28277-2840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel, set along the grassy greens of The Golf Club at Ballantyne in an upscale lifestyle community, and in the heart of Ballantyne Corporate Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing