We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Striking, unpretentious, modern art”

Bechtler Museum of Modern Art
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Charlotte Bike Tour
Ranked #35 of 178 things to do in Charlotte
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a brand-new art museum in center city Charlotte, N.C. I found the museum to be interesting, but with significant limitations for serious lovers of modern art.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Striking, unpretentious, modern art”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Visited with a group of English teenagers all fairly interested in art. The art was modern and very accessible even for those of their age. There were some pieces by famous artists, in particular Andy Warhol. We all liked the Lichtenstein tapestry in particular and the black spider. The building itself is striking and the sculpture outside made for a nice photo op. The cafe was pretty good too. It had a nice, pretty healthy selection. The kids enjoyed the gallery and the food and also had a browse in the shop which had some nice postcards an other arty things.

Helpful?
Thank 11all04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    42
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
427 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,982 helpful votes
“A surprise gem in the convention district”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you enjoy Mario Botta's work and you can't travel to Turkey, Italy, Israel or France to see his creations, this exhibit is a cheaper alternative. For a mere $8 you can see dozens of his detailed models along with photos of his work. Even if you don't know Botta you'll recognize something here (ever heard of the Shroud of Turin?) as well as in the other modern art in this compact but voluminous museum. Don't miss the Warhol on the ground floor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyFromAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ARCHITECTS' DELIGHT!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The focus of the exhibits at this time are on the Swiss architect Botta who designed the building and that was extremely interesting as I had no previous knowledge of his portfolio of work globally. Starting with the artists who inspired him during his lifetime and then by the mock-ups, drawings and photographs of his previous projects from cathedrals to libraries, to museums and even to Noah's Ark in the Jerusalem Zoo, I really appreciated this learning experience. No doubt, the modern art exhibits that will follow in time will be a wonderful complement to the art exhibits at the Mint Museum next door. There is a discount if you visit both. ENJOY BOTH!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“To be fair,”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This museum is really new. It takes a while. The installation outside and the commercial they were filming are the parts I remember now. The gift shop wasn't interesting.
This sounds mean, but the best part was that the admission badge qualifies for a discount at the Mint, next door.

There's a place to hang your coat.

The staff was very friendly. They are committed to contemporary art, and I'm sure that the museum will improve rapidly. I have my nerve - I'm from Ohio. It's better than what we generally offer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank havingmorefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

When I came here I was surprised by the diverse collection of art they had. Definitely the best attraction in Charlotte in my opinion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NMS845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bechtler Museum of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing