We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for NASCAR fans”

NASCAR Hall of Fame
Ranked #3 of 180 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The NASCAR Hall of Fame is where legends live on. Where fun lives on. Where the race lives on. Enjoy amazing artifacts, interactive exhibits, simulator rides and special events at the High Octane Theater. Plus, you can grab a bite to eat in the NASCAR Hall of Fame Café or at the Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant. You also can take home a souvenir at the gift shop to help you remember it all.
Franklin, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great place for NASCAR fans”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Found this place amazing. So much information in one place. Would reccomend to anyone who is a NASCAR fan. This Hall of Fame will only get better and better in the future. Charlotte is the perfect location for the Hall of Fame. Beautiful building, so well done. Sparkles with cleanliness. Food court is good; and very nice location to sit, enjoy a bite to eat; and look at downtown Charlotte.
Be sure to allocate plenty of time to see it all. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank JackieFranklinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    542
    144
    31
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of empty floor space being unused. Too sterile.”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We went on Bank of America free museum weekend (first weekend of every month). I would not have paid $20.00 per person for my wife and I otherwise had it not been a free day (using your BoA debit/check card as ID).

At first I noticed thousands of square feet of "empty space" on the 1st floor. It struck me as sterile. I'm a car buff but not a nascar fan - still I was willing to learn (which is the point of his museum).

The collections grow as you walk up the ramp to the 2nd floor. Then there's a 3 and 4th floor. From the 4th floor we felt trapped as there was only 2 exits: Stairs or elevator (elevator was too slow) so we hoofed it by walking the stairs back down to the 1st level.

I was hoping the "rules" of current stock car design would be explained to me. Since no stock car is actually used even though NASCAR stands for "National Assoc of Stock Car Racing".

Try as hard as I could - I could not find what the chassis/body/ car design rules are. These cars are built to "look like" a Chevy or Ford but there's not one ounce of Chevy or Ford inside them. Everything is modified.

I liked the older cars from the 50's and 60's and 70'sz when they were actual production autos that were modified. But I did not understand how they arrived at today's hi-tech custom built vehicles. Not once was that evolution explained (sort of brushed over if anything).

Is it worth $20? Not in my opinion and I love cars. The neatest exhibit wsa the demo track but that cost $5.00 extra ( to sit in a replica car and play a video race) and not much better than any Computer game.

This should be a free museum like the museum's in New York with only a "suggested donation". If they handled it that way - they'd actually have people there on a Sunday afternoon (on a free admission day no less) instead of it being empty.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“speed car simulator rides, cranking of jack, and everything in between!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Fall, 2011 (September)

it was a sunday afternoon and a couple of friends decided to rent a car and drop by charlotte for the day. it rained heavily, and by the time we got to charlotte, it was 3pm - which left us with almost no time to do anything since most of charlotte's attractions closed at 5pm on sundays.

Nascar Hall of Fame came in tops on the list as it closed at 6pm, which left us with a good 3 hours to tour the entire area and participate in all the activities there were! For a party of 4, they had a package which included 4 entrance tickets, 4 simulator rides, and a choice of either 4 lanyards or 4 meal vouchers for only $99.80.

the pitstop cafe in the NASCAR hall of fame was a small one, but you are able to redeem your meal voucher for a choice of either a BBQ burger, hot dog or sausage, with chips and a drink thrown in! a good deal if i must say so.

the entire NASCAR hall of fame had plenty for everyone, there were previously driven cars on showcase, medals and trophies, racing suits, videos recordings and other memoirs of some of the best NASCAR racers in the world! I went in knowing nothing about NASCAR racing, and came out feeling a deep appreciation for the passion that these NACAR racers have!

activities are a plenty for all - you would get a plastic hard card in which you would be able to complete certain stations, participate in quizzes and even interact with the actual car parts to collect points which would eventually add up. the main highlight is definitely the simulator card ride. for those who do not purchase the package, it is $5 for the simulator ride, or $14 for unlimited rides. (: at the end of the race, you would get a certificate for all your achievements!

definitely a place worth dropping by for families. an educational trip indeed.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank candiceye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“History, fun, and Interaction”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

As a lifelong Nascar fan, I had to make a stop. I walked into a beautiful building to a friendly staff. I was ushered to a photo stand, and then into a theatre for an into movie. The movie is pretty much a history lesson, which I can take or leave, but newer fans might find necessary. Either way it was still neat to watch, and the theatre is very nice and film is interesting. You are then allowed to wander at your leisure, and there are so many places to stop, take pictures, read, listen, and interact. There are also many places to sit and take it all in, relax, or just rest up before moving on. Staff is extremely friendly and are quick to give info or just chat about racing. Many exhibits encourage you to pick up items or go in for a closer look. This is great for kids, newer fans, or just people who want to see what it might be like to be part of things. It is also a good way to link the past to the present.
Bottom line, it's a Nascar fan's place. Very interesting, and does a good job covering the past, present, and inside view of the sport. Had a good time!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank bxb4784f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit for any Nascar fan”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My grandson is a HUGE Nascar fan,so when we had the oppertunity to visit the Hall of Fame,we did.He loved it!!! It is not only informative there are also lots of interactive attractions.All around great fun for the whole family! would highly recommend it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank chi-momm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NASCAR Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to NASCAR Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing