We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a happy traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Ranked #48 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Randleman, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a happy traveler”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The staff at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Charlotte/Matthews are super! I have spent 4 weeks there over the last couple of months and have always enjoyed my stay. I requested the same room and on 3 of my weekly stays they were able to accomodate me. All of the staff deserve some kudos!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Cathy C,
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to here that you have consistently enjoyed your stay here with us. I will definitely pass along your kind words to our entire staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    88
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
150
49
9
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Was offered a room on the 2nd floor. When we opened the door you.could tell someone had smoked in it. They.gladly changed my room. The whole hotel is non smoking. Breakfast was continetial but will go to a hot breakfast in July 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfcengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of our property. I will certainly follow up with housekeeping as there are times in which guests decide to smoke in the room even though we are a non-smoking property and fees are applied to those who decide to do so. When this is the case, we need to ensure that we service those rooms until the smell is gone so I apologize about the initial room you were given. I am glad that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheraw, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stay at this Fairfield Inn and Suites all the time wihen in Charlotte. The people are super nice and make sure your needs are met. They have a guide book that their employees did and it is great. Helps you find whatever you are looking for.

Traffic can be a little hectic but, hey, it's the city.

Room Tip: I try and stay on an upper floor just because some people walk heavier than others. There is no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Linda,
Our goal is to provide consistently superior service and i am so glad our staff was able to convey that throughout your countless times in the area! Our ''Go-Book'' has been very popular with our guests and I am glad to hear you found it useful! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The room was very nice, it wasn't to over the top... Staff was very nice and helpful... The beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was very good as well... I will for sure stay at that facility again... I especially liked the fact that they had hardboiled eggs at the facility

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turbodork1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed our amenities! Our breakfast is going to get even better by summertime! We hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Lakes, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked 7 rooms for a state basketball tournament and unsure if we would stay overnight, I spoke with management and they were very accommodating in giving us a later cancellation time. Lucky for us we won and got to enjoy the great night at this hotel. Thanks for placing the customer ahead of sometimes written in stone company policies. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Rob S,
Thank you so much for allowing us to host your basketball team at our hotel! It was great to have your group here with us and we are even that more excited that you won! Congrats! Customer service is our number one policy within our company and our staff strives to provide the best service around! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Wow, quite surprised! Left a Fairfield in Weirton WV which we rated a 5 and came here and was expecting same level and was VERY disappointed. Where to start. Staff seemed very nice, person who checked us in was very freindly. Disappointment started with breakfast. The Fairfield in Weirton was a really nice Hot breakfast with a lot of choices. Here in Matthews it was almost a continental breakfast... they said they ran out of bananas??? Had to ask for the fruit cups as there were none in the refrigerator and there was only two containers of yogurt in the refrigerator? Nothing hot other than the customary waffles. They also said they ran out of vanilla creamer for the coffee? How do you simply run out of these things that everyone always keeps in stock?
We then went to the pool area which had not been cleaned! Empty soda can on floor, dirty towels everywhere on the floor, hair barrets on a table, and NO CLEAN TOWELS.
Then went to workout room, again NO CLEAN TOWELS!!! There also was no free headphones to use on the nice workout equiptment.
AGAIN, I stay in Marriotts ALL THE TIME so I am not simply complaining... I was just in another Fairfield the three nights prior and experienced none of these issues.
Again, to be fair, the place looked amazing. During summer it has a great back deck with fireplace and built in grille. Very new and seemed to be clean.
Challenges would seem to be a result of poor management who does not keep the staff and hotel up to Marriott standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Sean F,

Let me start by saying that this is not a typical stay here with our hotel. As you can see from our numerous 5 star reviews and current rating for the city of Charlotte, this was certainly a hiccup on our end that I can assure you has been fixed. I take full responsibility as we were not prepared for a large group that ''popped up'' due to conditions in the area but there is no excuse for your disappointing stay. i will say that we do have the standard Fairfield Inn & Suites breakfast package and all Fairfield Inn's are changing to a hot breakfast in the summer of 2013. I truly hope that we get to prove to you that we are one of the Top 5 hotels in Charlotte and welcome you back at any time. Please contact me directly and I will ensure that we will take care of you the next time you are in Charlotte. I was pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and we gope to regain your trust. Thank you for your feedback as it has only made us better and we gope to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My son and I came in town for a concert. We had a wonderful stay from the time we checked in till the time we left. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was wonderful, and all staff we encountered was extremely nice. Loved and would definately recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdgreear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
hdgreear,

We hope that you and your son had a great time at the concert! I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that our staff was great. We look forward to seeing you here again soon! Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
East Forest
Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Address: 8540 E Independence Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28227-7783
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > East Forest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#27 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fairfield Inn & Suites is located 10 minutes from the heart of Charlotte! Come visit us and enjoy our spacious rooms, contemporary design and friendly staff. Our hotel features complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi, a unique outside patio equipped with a fireplace and grill, indoor pool and fitness center. We also have a 1000 sq. ft. meeting room that can cater to your next event or business meeting. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews Hotel Charlotte
Fairfield Inn And Suites Charlotte Matthews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing