We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is quite amazing when you snatch an online deal! We were very happy with our room which was modern, clean, spacious and had a rather nice view of the city. The whole hotel was well kept and felt brand new. We were expecting a small continental breakfast and were surprised with a large selection + an omelet station in the morning. The staff was incredibly friendly from start to finish. We will stay here again and we will also seek out Hyatt House in other cities from here on out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachaelLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Good day, and thank you for your excellent review of our hotel! It is always great to hear when someone enjoys our property, and we would love to have you back the next time you are in Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here during my apartment search in Charlotte and we have already decided we will book a couple rooms for when I come up to move in. The hotel is brand new and very well kept. The staff at the front desk could not have been friendlier. Everyone, in fact, was incredibly nice and welcoming. Our room was very spacious and included a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker- a nice touch to make the room feel more welcoming! We were pleasantly surprised to find out that the breakfast buffet was included and wifi is free in all rooms! You don't find that much anymore! The staff was very accommodating- we decided to check out a day early since I found my apartment and didn't need an extra day so we called down to ask what the fee would be for not staying a second night. NO fee! They just dropped the second night. We will most definitely be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel, we appreciate all the feedback. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you back again. Please let us know if we can help with anything else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The lobby and rooms are just gorgeous--brand new, full kitchens, spotless, really well designed and decorated. Obviously recently redone. We had two incidents with the front desk staff that left us horrified--and that's what I'll remember about the hotel, sadly.
We live in Charlotte and went with some friends for a "getaway" from the kids, each couple getting their own room, but one person made and paid all the reservations--our friend who wasn't arriving until late in the evening. Hubby and I arrived at 5:30 pm and were told that, despite having the email with the confirmation numbers, we could not check in because our name was not on the reservation. We pointed out that she'd reserved three rooms--desk clerk shrugged and said "sorry." I called our friend, who talked to the clerk on my phone--she said the same thing "nothing I can do." Another guest checking in suggested that our friend fax her driver's license to the hotel: I asked the clerk if that would help, and she actually looked put out that we'd found a solution! So my friend faxed over her license, added our names to the reservation, and problem solved. Shouldn't the clerk have suggested that in the first place since she was talking to the owner of the reservation anyway? And we talked to her for several minutes before I called my friend, who she talked to for several minutes. She had plenty of time for the thought to occur to her.
The second incident was at 3 am. We were all eating pizza in our pajamas in my friend's suite when another friend went back to his room to get something and realized his room key-card wasn't working. He went straight downstairs to the front desk to get his key reactivated and the clerk asked to see his ID. Our friend pointed at his pajamas and bare feet and said "it's in my room!" The clerk insisted he had no way of knowing that he was really who he said he was. After he'd been missing from the pizza party for about 20 minutes he called up to our room and another husband went downstairs--with his wife's ID. He was sent back in shame because "there's a problem--you are not this person" so the wife had to go down with her ID. If he had been traveling alone, would they have made him sleep in the lobby? We've had key-cards not work before, in the US and other countries, and they usually just ask for your name and room number before reissuing a card. The front desk staff of course needs to be responsible for security, but surely this was a little overboard!
It's a shame because the property is beautiful. And EVERYONE at the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was SUPER helpful, friendly, and cheerful. The busboy in particular--maybe he can train the desk staff on how to HELP guests rather than act like a brick wall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I was very troubled that we were not able to meet your expectations for service at our hotel. I would like to take a moment to respond to your issues.
I do apologize that your check in did not go smoothly, we try to do everything we can to make this a very simple process, and sometimes that is not the case. It is for your safety and security that we cannot change names on the reservation without prior verification from the person who created the reservation. In most cases, we can get the information we need when we speak to them on the phone, but since this reservation was made through a third party reservation site, we do not always get the correct information into our computer from the reservation site (i.e. full addresses, full email, last 4 digits of your credit card, etc.) which makes it impossible for us to verify that the person on the phone is the person who made the reservation. It is against our policy to accept a faxed or emailed picture of a license as there is the potential for fraud for both you the guest, and the hotel. Since the reservation was made on a third party site, the only way we can accept a change is to call the reservation site and have them make the change. As much as we like our partnerships with our third party travel agencies, we do recommend that reservations come through Hyatt.com, or the 1-800 number as you will have much more control in any changes that you would need to make.
Guest security is always our #1 priority at our hotel, and I do apologize for the inconvenience that your friend had getting back into their room. In this instance, we should have added the additional names to the rooms that we had for you and your guests, and we did not. When your other guest came downstairs to get a new key, we could not give one to them since we only had the original name on all rooms. Typically in this situation, we should have made a new a key and escorted the guest upstairs to check the ID, and once again we failed on that end as well and disturbed your other guests to make them come downstairs.
It is very unfortunate that you experienced these issues, and again I do apologize as this is not our typical standard. We will make sure we use this as training for our staff so that it does not happen again. Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss this further.
We do hope you think of coming back to our hotel if you have another night out, we would love to be able to show the type of hospitality we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Found the hotel online, had great reviews on TA, and booked the nonrefundable rate for a king room at $144. TOTALLY AWESOME HOTEL!! Loved everything about it...well except maybe the valet parking fee @$22 a night. However you can park for $6-12 a night just across the street in an open lot.
Lobby is gorgeous and sleek, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the rooms....OMG amazing. Its a sexy, comfy and luxurious hotel accommodating romance with a huge walk in shower for 2 and a very yummy bed, or a business traveler with plugs everywhere, iron/ hairdryer, a fridge, and everything you need to cook in your room!!
The pool area is very cool, but if you are looking to get sun, it peaks behind the building by early afternoon and there arent any chaise lounges, but its a great place to hang in the evening and the FREEEE wifi rocks all over the hotel!!
Cant wait to go back and stay again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, you can get a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shannan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you so much for the great review you left us! Not everyone is able to see and pick up all the details that we put into the room to make it more comfortable, I am glad you were able to find everything, and see just how user friendly we can be.
Please keep in mind on Hyatt.com, we do offer parking inclusive rates as well that can save you up to $10 on your valet parking here at the hotel.
Please remember us the next time you are in Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Went to a concert at Time Warner Arena and wanted to stay near. This was right beside it, and on the edge of the nice downtown area. They let us check in early and were very accommodating. The hotel is new and nicely decorated and has a nice bar. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice LED TV. Had a great breakfast the next morning that was included with the room. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: High floor facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our property! We are very happy you enjoyed your experience, and I do hope you liked your concert next door at the Arena. Make sure to keep us in mind the next time you come back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have stayded at the Hyatt House on several occasions and I have been pleased with the accomodations,service and the bar. The rooms are modern and offer great space. The property is in a great location in Uptown and you are not far from places to eat and shop. The bed was very comfortable and the food in the "H-Bar" is really good as well. The staff has been very pleasant to work with. This hotel is really gem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jguiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we are very excited to hear that you like our property so much. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were in town recently for a concert at the Performing Arts Center and decided to make a long weekend out of it. We stayed here for three nights, and I really wanted to like the place-in fact it would have been easy to be blown away by the place except for one thing.
First of all, the good: Awesome location! Two blocks from the Epicenter (sp?) for food, music, entertainment, etc. Three blocks from Tryon, for even more things to see and do. Great view of the city-we were on the top (17th) floor and the skyline is impressive, marred only by the tacky video display on the side of the NASCAR HOF building (they never turned it off!) Fantastic breakfast buffet including the best omelette I've had anywhere. After breakfast there, we could skip lunch. A 42" flat screen tv in the room with all the common cable channels & HBO. High speed internet-remember to bring your ethernet cable for 100 mbps, twice wireless speed.
Now the bad: The place is noisey, very noisey. Anytime someone walked past our door, I could hear their conversation so clearly, I thought our door was open. And the vent fan in the bathroom ran 24/7-yes, I know, just keep the door closed. But the worst offender was the heating-venting-air conditioning (HVAC) system. It was so loud, even without the ac running, it kept me awake at night. It had a pulsing quality to it-like the heartbeat of the building. Never ending. If you can sleep thru city traffic or plane takeoffs near an airport you probably will not be bothered. Unfortunately for me, after three nights with little to no sleep, I felt like a zombie.
I had made the reservation online w/o finding out which hotel it was until after making the commitment, so we may not be coming back here the next time we come to Charlotte, but if we do wind up here again I would definitely bring ear plugs and hope for the best.

Room Tip: If given a choice, a room streetside will give you a great view of the city skyline w/o any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieDog43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,557 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £111 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing